We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$22
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
267
89
31
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
267
89
31
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck steak pudding sunday roast ham prawns salad the pub roaring fire wonderful pub lovely meal beer garden off the beaten track gary dog landlord countryside
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 July 2020 via mobile

Recently visited with a couple of friends had a very good meal and the roast beef was excellent thank you very much!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
NikkiK864, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2020

Cheers folks - Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 27 July 2020 via mobile

Ageless views of the downs, Peerless service, Priceless local food. Try home made fish cakes as a starter, the duck breast , or Vegetarian Wellington as mains & a decent range of local beer and wines from across the world. Its really very good

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
NikkiK864, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2020

Many thanks - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 March 2020

The Black Duck has an outstanding Chef and Team and today even in difficult circumstances they absolutely smashed it with their take away Sunday lunch. Well done - keep supporting The Black Duck! We certainly will ... Peter, Claire, Lauren & Matt

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch with the my family and dog and it was fantastic. Food, beer and open fire - what more do you need?

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
theblackduck, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Thank you Mark - nice to be appreciated! Hope we see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 March 2020

We have been to the pub many times and never had a problem but unfortunately yesterday we went for my mothers birthday and found it a rather unpleasant experience. I had taken my two year old along who after eating lunch I asked to have...More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?4  
theblackduck, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Hello Lisa123 Unfortunately I was not made aware of this incident at the time, so my apologies for not having addressed the issue myself; however the waitress who served you had reported the incident to the bar manager and believed that you found the apology...More

Reviewed 16 February 2020

We visited for Burns night what a fantastic evening the staff and the food were great could not have asked for anything more will be going back for dinner soon

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 10 February 2020

We booked for a Saturday night, and arrived in good time. We were offered a choice of tables, even though they said that they were going to be very busy. The service was friendly and helpful, and the food was good. They did get very...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

Quite shocking as if it was not for what we overheard would have been a much higher rating. Unfriendly owner - if your not part of the local setup - not nice to overhear a landlady talking about other customers in that fashion with her...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?4  
theblackduck, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

I’ve tried to contact you in person but you have chosen not to reply. Obviously you don’t play ball! We are a far cry from cliquey in here. We have some great locals who are part of the attraction, charm & character of The Black...More

Reviewed 19 January 2020

Boring menu to start with and neither of us found anything we really wanted. Food poorly heated up and tepid. Game pie and mash virtually cold and beef like bullets. If we had each ordered a starter, main and pud with a cheapish bottle of...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
NikkiK864, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

We offer a diverse & extensive menu, it certainly couldn’t be described as limited - Game pie does not contain beef & if any of our meat was bullet like I imagine those customers who communicate through the art of speech would soon draw our...More

Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch. Such a lovely old English pub with a cosy, friendly atmosphere. The staff were excellent, we couldn't of asked for better service. The food was well presented and delicious. We had a lovely enjoyable time and were made to feel...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
theblackduck, Owner at The Black Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Thank you so much. We all love what we do here and it makes it very worth while when we receive warm responses and reviews such as yours. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Stone House
37 reviews
2.08 miles away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
405 reviews
4.95 miles away
The Boship Lions Hotel
685 reviews
5.02 miles away
The Forge
198 reviews
6.71 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lakeside Cafe Bistro Bar
116 reviews
2.21 miles away
Pilio
347 reviews
2.66 miles away
Two Sisters Deli
15 reviews
2.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hidden Spring Vineyard
38 reviews
1.60 miles away
Urban Jump Trampoline Park
359 reviews
2.27 miles away
Sussex Falconry
38 reviews
3.86 miles away
Escape Room Sussex
30 reviews
4.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
thj3138
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from theblackduck | Property representative |
No - sorry, we do have a couple of high chairs & prefer families with young children to book for lunch times. We are more of a grown-ups venue - great for a night out when you've got a baby-sitter!
1
Vote
My_Friend_Robert
13 April 2017|
Answer
Response from theblackduck | Property representative |
We take most credit cards. Not American Express though.
2
Votes
simonheather1977
1 March 2017|
Answer
Response from theblackduck | Property representative |
Hi Simon Yes we will be showing the rugby. It isn't huge in here and you haven't said how many are in your group. If you look at our website video you will see the upper bar area (where the barrel is) is where the TV is... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Duck
    How is The Black Duck rated?
    The Black Duck is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4.5