We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cat & Fiddle Inn

Is this your business?
Exmouth Road, Clyst St Mary, Exeter EX5 1DP, England
+44 1392 873317
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (4 reviews)
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Exmouth Road, Clyst St Mary, Exeter EX5 1DP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tonight, My wife , son and myself visited the Cat and Fiddle for a meal. I had the curry with chips, my wife , Scampi and my son , the chicken nuggets. The scampi were overcooked, the curry, looked like it had been sat around...More

Thank mondeoboxerblue
Cat F, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for your review. I'm sorry your visit was not up to standard and you were not satisfied with the food, if possible I would like you to contact me on CatandFiddle@staustellbrewery.co.uk to discuss this further. Kind regards, Cyd

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

16 of us went for our family Christmas meal on Boxing day. We had prebooked and ordered our food to eat at 1pm. It was empty...apart from us there was a table of 6. We were all bundled into one corner together and put on...More

Thank R0adtripper87
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

firms do. Christmas dinner. The food was over cooked. The parsnips were to hard to eat. the rest was only just hot. veg look over cooked and i think it had been standing under lights to keep hot. the chees and bisects. the blue was...More

Thank pauld154
Cat F, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I was so sorry to hear about the experience you had at the Cat and Fiddle, I do believe we are in contact with your group and will be welcoming you back towards the end of January. We look forward to welcoming you then.

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

My family normally choose the cat and fiddle for our meals out as it caters for all age groups, you got a baby play area, children’s ball pit, an outside kids play area and a football goal,in the bar area/ function room they got darts,...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for leaving the review. Hope to see you back very soon!

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Just had a very good and resonable meal highly recommended it .staff all very friendly and a lovely old pub

Thank justin h
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Many thanks for the review. We hope to see you back here again!

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

You can have a small or large serve of whatever you order. The lasagna was delicious. Other food going past my table looked good too. There are locals here so you know it is good food. I really liked the staff. Very friendly. I came...More

Thank faithcharity
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Many thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave us this review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We held a skittles evening at the Cat and Fiddle for our small hamlet. It was a huge success. We had a buffet half way through the evening which was excellent, plenty to eat and a good choice on the buffet menu. A very big...More

Thank Susan S
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for the kind comments you have left us about your recent skittles night. We look forward to seeing you on the next skittle night.

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Fabulous, friendly place. The food was all home cooked so none of this 'chain' rubbish with really big portions too. But oh my goodness those desserts!!!!!! WOW!!!! Well done Cat & Fiddle - it's very hard to find a decent restaurant nowadays!

Thank gaius999mccann
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for this review. We are really pleased you enjoyed our portions sizes and hope to see you back here soon!

Reviewed 1 October 2017

As a family party of 6 adults we made an impromptu evening dinner stop here. Although fairly local we hadn't been here for many years so weren't exactly sure what to expect. Well it was the best choice we could have made for friendly service...More

Thank SolarPanelHead
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Cat & Fiddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time to leave us this review. We really appreciate the kind comments you have left us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent the service was first class this is definately somewhere to consider if your looking to eat out

Thank Johncosbourne
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Clyst St Mary Hotels
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
1,227 reviews
1.55 miles away
Travelodge Exeter M5
551 reviews
1.95 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1,212 reviews
2.50 miles away
Gipsy Hill Hotel
534 reviews
2.50 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Dodies diner
8 reviews
1.46 miles away
Half Moon Inn
247 reviews
1.56 miles away
Saint George and Dragon Inn
302 reviews
1.92 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Raceworld Ltd
256 reviews
1.54 miles away
Make at Monteray
24 reviews
2.33 miles away
Topsham Museum
127 reviews
2.77 miles away
Woodbury Park Golf Club
53 reviews
2.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Terry J
24 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Michael Y | Property representative |
Dear Terry J, I am very sorry for the delay in replying your question. We do indeed allow friendly dogs in our Public Bar section of the pub. Yours Sincerely, Mike Yates General Manager
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Exmouth Road, Clyst St Mary, Exeter EX5 1DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter  >  Clyst St Mary
  • Phone Number: +44 1392 873317
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing