We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricklewood

££ - £££, British,
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
+44 845166004
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
“burger” (29 reviews)
“fish and chips” (16 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 633 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Was nice to have a little walk and find a local restaurant which I found warm and welcoming. Order placed and starter was out in no time , found the service very good, the traditional steak and ale pie was a bowl with meat in...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank BMorriss
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went here on Tuesday 8th Jan with my wife for a quiet birthday dinner. We both had a starter, a main course and shared a desert. The best way to describe the whole place is a gastro pub. There are great choices for food and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Andrewbreckenridge86
Cricklewood2, Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Andrewbreckenridge86 Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so happy that both of you had such a lovely time and enjoyed our amazing food. We pride ourselves in the delivery of excellent customer service and amazing food, and I am glad...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Looks like a lovely pub and some of the staff are excellent but the food is tasteless. Drinks are fine but zero atmosphere and most people we saw walked in then turned and walked out. Feel sorry for the good staff but the manager is...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank shelleyb15
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Shelleyb15 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback positive and negative and encourage our customers to feedback at the time of their visit so we can rectify any issues they may have. Yesterday was a busy...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We have dined here several times previousy so we pre booked a table for 18:30 to take advantage of the 40% off offer for A La Cate menu items - were promptly given menus and drinks order taken. We both ordered steaks, no starters, which...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 614gordonw
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear 614gordonw Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback and use this as part of our training to improve our already great customer service. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal on Wednesday...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

10/10 would recommend was in on Friday and got cheese burger with bacon, was delicious. Excellent service from the young girl jade highly recommendMore

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Foodforthought27
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Foodforthought27 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback and were so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. The Burgers are delicious and im glad you agree. My favorite is the southern fried chicken burger...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in early evening with-our 4 year old nice table quick service on the drinks and attentive waitress Order steak both medium to well done on arrival found they were only medium pointed this out very quick service offered fresh food chef apologised, steaks arrived...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank valhalla4901
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valhalla4901 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so glad you brought your steaks to our attention and were so lovely and understanding as we encourage feedback and try our very best to rectify any issues a customer may...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a very disappointing experience in Cut we went to the Cricklewood who were extremely accomodating, found us a table on an extremely busy night. The service and staff were exceptional with particular thanks to Ola who is a real asset to the Cricklewood. Had...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank AnneMarie12362
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AnneMarie12362 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Were over the moon that we could make your Hogmanay one to remember and Ola said it was a pleasure to serve you. Hope you come back and visit us again soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely place for lunch I found the waitress very nice and friendly. The meal was nice and there was a good selection on the menu. A wee drink after the meal and then a walk home.More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank robertmZ5504AR
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear robertmZ5504AR Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Hope your walk wasn't to long and we can't wait for you to come visit us again. Kind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So before I start I want to point out this is my local pub which we love ! I come here a lot for food and drinks and we love the quiz on a Thursday, however on Thursday we received the worst service I have...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Darreng18
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Darreng18 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback positive and negative and use this as a training tool. Im sorry to hear that your evening wasn't as good as your day with us (i was serving...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not been for a while and was looking forward to a catch-up with friends at the Crix. Service was dreadfully slow, sent the charburnt burger back and then home for snacks as the portions were tiny. Management needs to put on more staff as they...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Beangirl70
Cricklewood2, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Beangirl70 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback positive and negative and use this as a training tool. Im sorry to hear that our customer service wasnt up to our usual standard on this day. When...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
727 reviews
.34 miles away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
253 reviews
.54 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
432 reviews
.58 miles away
The Alona Hotel
518 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Plato
166 reviews
.22 miles away
Riva
406 reviews
.16 miles away
Rosso
158 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The David Livingstone Centre
151 reviews
.75 miles away
Bothwell Castle Golf Club
35 reviews
1.08 miles away
Bothwell Castle
134 reviews
1.41 miles away
Strathclyde Country Park
362 reviews
2.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
thefinnster
17 October 2018|
Answer
Response from TravelsWorksGoesHome | Reviewed this property |
That should be OK.
0
Votes
Leo I
21 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Karen F | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is a car park on premises
1
Vote
Margaret L
22 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jim C | Reviewed this property |
Not sure - menus are Brunch , Lunch and Dinner
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  South Lanarkshire  >  Bothwell
  • Phone Number: +44 845166004
  • E-mail
Description
Family-friendly Scottish restaurant in BothwellCricklewood is a family-friendly restaurant in the heart of leafy Bothwell and provides a welcoming atmosphere and quality home-cooked food. Under 18s are welcome in the bar and restaurant areas until 20:00 each evening, and wheelchair access is available in the main bar and a small area of the restaurant.Simple ingredients, quality foodThe restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday roast, and fans of the classics will be pleased to hear that items such as the homemade steak pie, fish & chips, and firm favourite macaroni cheese are amongst Cricklewood's offerings.Accessibility to BothwellCricklewood is on Hamilton Road in Bothwell and has limited on-site parking, although some street parking is available nearby. Visitors can also find several bus stops close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing