We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricklewood

) #3 of 9 Restaurants in Bothwell ££ - £££ Bar, British, Pub
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
+44 845166004
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (12 reviews)
“mother's day” (9 reviews)
Opens in 13 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pretty good selection of gins, helpful bar manager and polite staff. Thank you for a pleasant experience far superior bar than a disappointing camphill vaults. Highly recommended.

Thank Stephen P
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a great relaxing evening. We look forward to seeing you in The Cricklewood again soon. Kind regards Cricklewood Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister booked a table for 6 adults and a 2yr old child, so high chair requested. We were put into a booth that didn't allow the high chair. After complaining we were moved to two tables put together. We had been in for 40...More

Thank cazhutch
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear Cazhutch, Thank you for your feedback. Its disappointing to hear and we will use this feedback to improve. Sunday night was very busy with no empty tables and its pleasing to know that things were moved around to accommodate your table. I'm sorry the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a nice welcome we received from Christy and the rest of the staff.seated promptly, didn't wait long at all for our food to arrive and was absolutely delicious,the prices were very reasonable and we will definitely be back for another go. Thanks again folks.

Thank aggie62
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear Aggie62, Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted that the food service and welcome you received was of the high standard we expect. We look forward to seeing you in the Cricklewood again. Kind Regards Cricklewood Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely nothing sticks in my mind from our visit, everything was was just so middle of the road, service and decor was OK, not a bad atmosphere, but uninspiring and bland food, better to be had in BothwellMore

Thank Nilfheilm
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear Niffheilm, Thank you for your feedback. We will use your feedback to improve the service that we offer. I can assure you we will work hard to inspire and stand out in Bothwell. We hope you choose to dine with us again in the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a meal last night. The eating area was rather quiet which was good for myself and my guest. starter was haggis bon bons, very yummy as was the salmon. we both decided on the steak which came with chunky chips,cherry tomatoes and...More

Thank oaksey1
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear Oaksey1, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We will take your feedback on board and look to improve on the little things you have mentioned. We look forward to you returning. Thanks again. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My son got us a voucher to eat here phoned to book eventually got an answer tried to book for 6pm computer wouldn't let her so booked 5.45 fine Turned up about 5.40 got a table right away impressive then waited till 6pm to get...More

1  Thank davidreviel
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your feedback. We will look at where this went wrong and look to improve. We apologise for your wait and assure you this is something that we are working hard to make sure doesn't happen again. We hope you dine...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Cricklewood yesterday and once again found it short of the mark. The decor in the restaurant is outstanding, the waitress pleasant and quite efficient but the food was disappointing. The Cricklewood is very good at producing food which is not bad enough...More

Thank 400karenm
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear 400karenm, Thank you for your feedback. We will look at the points you addressed and make improvements. The better deals for designated drivers is a good idea and something we will definitely look at. We hope you return to the Cricklewood to see the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely weekend lunch with friends. Table allocated in conservatory extension which was lovely with plenty space between tables. staff are very polite and attentive. Would recommend as goof is delightful.

Thank sunshine212016
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear Sunshine, Thank you for your positive feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Cricklewood. We look forward to seeing you agian soon. Kind regards Cricklewood Management

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Had a meal here yesterday with friends and bit disappointed. The food and presentation, service etc was fine but overly priced for what we got. Felt the helpings were very poor for what we paid for. We left still hungry. Decided against a starter as...More

Thank aileen m
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear Aileen, Thank you for your feedback. We will take your feedback and look to improve. Portion size is something that we will be looking at. We hope you to you dine with us again where you can see for yourself the improvements we are...More

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Ate here with friends, the food was really nice. Service was good, but our mains came out almost straight after the starters - could have done with some time to let those go down first. At about 9pm a singer with a guitar came on...More

Thank the1978
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this review

Dear 1978, Thank you for your feedback. We will take this feedback on board to improve the service and atmosphere. We vary our music regularly and will look at where this can be improved also. Thank you gain and we hope you decide to dine...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Indian Manor At Silverwells
219 reviews
.02 miles away
Riva
336 reviews
.16 miles away
Rosso
127 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bothwell Castle Golf Club
29 reviews
.60 miles away
The David Livingstone Centre
141 reviews
.78 miles away
M & D's Scotland Theme Park
620 reviews
.99 miles away
Hamilton Park Racecourse
89 reviews
.99 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
gordon m
Hi im going to book a table for two for Monday night 8pm.12/12/16.hopefully.. My partner birthday.may I ask if you could organise a small cake .ps we are 57 .so one candle thanks 😊 Gordon.Muircroft.
7 December 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Diane and Bill H | Reviewed this property |
Hi I agree it is usual to take a cake to the venue earlier in the day and give them the nod when you want it brought out to surprise your partner. It is a lovely venue with great staff and service they wont let you down... More
0
Votes
717customer
Where do I book table
9 November 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Elspeth C | Reviewed this property |
I see others have given you the number. Ask for Jamie's tables. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$22
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  South Lanarkshire  >  Bothwell
  • Phone Number: +44 845166004
  • E-mail
Description
Family-friendly Scottish restaurant in BothwellCricklewood is a family-friendly restaurant in the heart of leafy Bothwell and provides a welcoming atmosphere and quality home-cooked food. Under 18s are welcome in the bar and restaurant areas until 20:00 each evening, and wheelchair access is available in the main bar and a small area of the restaurant.Simple ingredients, quality foodThe restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday roast, and fans of the classics will be pleased to hear that items such as the homemade steak pie, fish & chips, and firm favourite macaroni cheese are amongst Cricklewood's offerings.Accessibility to BothwellCricklewood is on Hamilton Road in Bothwell and has limited on-site parking, although some street parking is available nearby. Visitors can also find several bus stops close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.