We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricklewood

££ - £££, British,
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
+44 845166004
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“burgers” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We came to celebrate my birthday, as having been there before; we knew the quality of the food was great. Yes, the food did not disappoint. Amazing starters, pate & crispy haggis, well worth a try. Seabass & Salmon mains, again, excellent. The coffee &...More

Thank Stephen M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with friends for Saturday brunch. Food was lovely but the service and attitude of stafff left a lot to be desired! Ordered black coffee with milk on the side but received white coffee, which was only lukewarm. When challenged was advised there were no...More

Thank Patsyd23
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Patsyd23. I am really sorry to hear about your experience with us on Saturday morning. I have spoken to the team on duty and will be using your visit as a key training tool at our next team meeting as what i am reading...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had such a lovely meal in September pate and fish and chips. Fish golden brown, moist and crispy chips. Went again on Friday 2nd December same group of people and two of us had the same as previously what a disappointment, fish was overcooked, dry...More

Thank Moragenviro
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Moragenviro, I am sorry to hear that on this visit we failed to deliver our usual high standard of food & service. I have contacted you direct in the hope that we may resolve this matter and you might give us a chance to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As pensioners we find the portions excessive, we asked on a previous visit and were told smaller portions were available, on asking for a smaller portion of "haggis neeps and tatties" were told this was no longer available - portions are already made up? -...More

Thank Jim C
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Jim C, I am sorry that you were given mixed responses to such a simple request of smaller portions. Of course this is something we could of done for you as everything is cooked to order so i am not sure why you were...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dropped in for dinner, nice but a little on the pricy side I thought and quite a narrow menu but the food was excellent and the service goodMore

Thank RubadubHub
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Rubadubhub, Thank you for you nice review, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit. We are in the middle of writing new menus which we believe will be much better value than our current offer and also bring the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a family mid-week gathering, the atmosphere was decidedly flat. The old restaurant had been modernised mainly into booths and had lost some of its old-world charm, although the new decor was fairly smart. There were not many people there that evening and the November...More

Thank George S
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear George S, Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. The Cricklewood is in a small period of Transition right now so all feedback is welcome and will be used constructively. We have a new team both front of house and in the...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I visited this Cricklewood with family for a Sunday lunch. Firstly, the interiors are welcoming and give a cosy feel. We were seated quickly and handed two menus, the a la carte menu and the Sunday lunch. Three of us opted for the Sunday lunch...More

2  Thank Rvsn
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Took 30 mins to get a simple starter in a not busy restaurant. Arrived with top of filo burnt and so sent back. We decided we did not have time to wait for another 30 mins so cancelled order and then went to pay for...More

Thank Lynda A
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

After searching multi venues for our sons christening we picked the cricklewood. The buffet menu was great and reasonably priced and several of our guests commented on how excellent the food was. We hired both of the function suites upstairs which was plenty room for...More

Thank holidayhunter111
Reviewed 31 October 2017

As a table of 4, we had all two courses and all food was outstanding, the presentation superb and nothing but praise from our table about the quality and the portion sizes. The waitress was friendly and attentive but not too much. Will definitely be...More

Thank GTBellQ88
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Indian Manor At Silverwells
280 reviews
.02 miles away
Riva
363 reviews
.16 miles away
The Chapterhouse Cafe
75 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The David Livingstone Centre
148 reviews
.78 miles away
Bothwell Castle Golf Club
32 reviews
1.08 miles away
Bothwell Castle
119 reviews
1.33 miles away
Strathclyde Country Park
318 reviews
2.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gordon m
7 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Diane and Bill H | Reviewed this property |
Hi I agree it is usual to take a cake to the venue earlier in the day and give them the nod when you want it brought out to surprise your partner. It is a lovely venue with great staff and service they wont let you down... More
0
Votes
717customer
9 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Elspeth C | Reviewed this property |
I see others have given you the number. Ask for Jamie's tables. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  South Lanarkshire  >  Bothwell
  • Phone Number: +44 845166004
  • E-mail
Description
Family-friendly Scottish restaurant in BothwellCricklewood is a family-friendly restaurant in the heart of leafy Bothwell and provides a welcoming atmosphere and quality home-cooked food. Under 18s are welcome in the bar and restaurant areas until 20:00 each evening, and wheelchair access is available in the main bar and a small area of the restaurant.Simple ingredients, quality foodThe restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday roast, and fans of the classics will be pleased to hear that items such as the homemade steak pie, fish & chips, and firm favourite macaroni cheese are amongst Cricklewood's offerings.Accessibility to BothwellCricklewood is on Hamilton Road in Bothwell and has limited on-site parking, although some street parking is available nearby. Visitors can also find several bus stops close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing