We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricklewood

) #3 of 10 Restaurants in Bothwell ££ - £££ , British,
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
+44 845166004
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (9 reviews)
“mother's day” (9 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Clearly the incompetent chef rules the roost in this place. Quite soon we realised that the laughable number of dishes on the menu that weren't available due to " stock problems" was a blessing . When the food came out it was no better than...More

Thank Boyle1
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Boyle1, I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was lacking. We will look at the issues within our control and improve on this. Unfortunately the issues with stock were not something we could rectify, especially with it being a Sunday. We pride...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are here for dinner on world gin day (and also the day of the England v Scotland match). Upon being seated we were immediately asked to order drinks, without being provided with a drinks menu. A drinks menu was provided and less than a...More

Thank Catriona29
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Catriona, I apologise for your experience. It makes for poor reading and i'll be sure to look at the issues you've addressed. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and that the waitress was accommodating in moving you to a more comfortable...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch with my partner and we both had a starter each and a main course . It started off well with my starter of haggis balls but my partners starter of blue cheese and beetroot salad with pistachio didn't appear to have any...More

Thank Greedyfoal
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Greedyfoal, I can apologise for the poor experience you received. I can assure you this is not the standards i expect or the quality that we strive for. We are in the process of reviewing our food and drinks menus and will take your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food with friendly staff. Location is good and it popular with the local community. Good place for lunch as well.

Thank Robert P
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you had a good experience. We look forward to seeing you in the cricklewood again soon. Kind regards cricklewood management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thanks for looking after us yesterday. Great setting and lovely food. We were in a rush and you got the food order seen to promptly. Everyone really enjoyed their meal. Thanks again

Thank lynnedouglas1207
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure and we're glad you had a good time We look forward to seeing you in the cricklewood again soon. Kind regards The Cricklewood

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So I've been and review this local pub before, last time the food was bad but this time it was totally disgusting. I was eating my prawn cocktail and half way through I put a forkfull in my mouth only to realise there was a...More

1  Thank Eileen37
CricklewoodTeam, Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Eileen37, I apologise for your experience and would like to get a bit more information on the matter. Could you email me on iainsneddon@g1group.co.uk to discuss the matter. Kind regards Cricklewood Management

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Pretty good selection of gins, helpful bar manager and polite staff. Thank you for a pleasant experience far superior bar than a disappointing camphill vaults. Highly recommended.

Thank Stephen P
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a great relaxing evening. We look forward to seeing you in The Cricklewood again soon. Kind regards Cricklewood Management

Reviewed 7 May 2017

My sister booked a table for 6 adults and a 2yr old child, so high chair requested. We were put into a booth that didn't allow the high chair. After complaining we were moved to two tables put together. We had been in for 40...More

1  Thank cazhutch
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Cazhutch, Thank you for your feedback. Its disappointing to hear and we will use this feedback to improve. Sunday night was very busy with no empty tables and its pleasing to know that things were moved around to accommodate your table. I'm sorry the...More

Reviewed 7 May 2017

What a nice welcome we received from Christy and the rest of the staff.seated promptly, didn't wait long at all for our food to arrive and was absolutely delicious,the prices were very reasonable and we will definitely be back for another go. Thanks again folks.

Thank aggie62
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Aggie62, Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted that the food service and welcome you received was of the high standard we expect. We look forward to seeing you in the Cricklewood again. Kind Regards Cricklewood Management

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Absolutely nothing sticks in my mind from our visit, everything was was just so middle of the road, service and decor was OK, not a bad atmosphere, but uninspiring and bland food, better to be had in BothwellMore

Thank Nilfheilm
CricklewoodTeam, General Manager at The Cricklewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Niffheilm, Thank you for your feedback. We will use your feedback to improve the service that we offer. I can assure you we will work hard to inspire and stand out in Bothwell. We hope you choose to dine with us again in the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Indian Manor At Silverwells
233 reviews
.02 miles away
Riva
340 reviews
.16 miles away
Rosso
129 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bothwell Castle Golf Club
31 reviews
.60 miles away
The David Livingstone Centre
143 reviews
.78 miles away
M & D's Scotland Theme Park
625 reviews
.99 miles away
Hamilton Park Racecourse
91 reviews
.99 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
gordon m
Hi im going to book a table for two for Monday night 8pm.12/12/16.hopefully.. My partner birthday.may I ask if you could organise a small cake .ps we are 57 .so one candle thanks 😊 Gordon.Muircroft.
7 December 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Diane and Bill H | Reviewed this property |
Hi I agree it is usual to take a cake to the venue earlier in the day and give them the nod when you want it brought out to surprise your partner. It is a lovely venue with great staff and service they wont let you down... More
0
Votes
717customer
Where do I book table
9 November 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Elspeth C | Reviewed this property |
I see others have given you the number. Ask for Jamie's tables. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$21
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Hamilton Road | Bothwell, Bothwell, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  South Lanarkshire  >  Bothwell
  • Phone Number: +44 845166004
  • E-mail
Description
Family-friendly Scottish restaurant in BothwellCricklewood is a family-friendly restaurant in the heart of leafy Bothwell and provides a welcoming atmosphere and quality home-cooked food. Under 18s are welcome in the bar and restaurant areas until 20:00 each evening, and wheelchair access is available in the main bar and a small area of the restaurant.Simple ingredients, quality foodThe restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday roast, and fans of the classics will be pleased to hear that items such as the homemade steak pie, fish & chips, and firm favourite macaroni cheese are amongst Cricklewood's offerings.Accessibility to BothwellCricklewood is on Hamilton Road in Bothwell and has limited on-site parking, although some street parking is available nearby. Visitors can also find several bus stops close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing