We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse and Jockey

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene

Location and contact

About
The Horse and Jockey is an award winning privately owned freehouse located in the idyllic village of Manton on the south shore of Rutland Water. The Horse and Jockey offers all the charm and character of a traditional country inn.The open fires, stone floors and low beams along with good wholesome home cooked food and a wide choice of wines and real ales will ensure that your visit will be a memorable occasion just waiting to be recaptured.
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$15
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
270
174
47
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
270
174
47
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie baguette scampi mash chicken sunday roast salad curry rutland water the pub cycle route cycling round pit stop lunch stop specials board sit outside visiting rutland
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Cycling around Rutland water with the family Ona day that started sunny and ended wet and windy we came across the horse and jockey- what a welcome sight- friendly staff and a roaring fire welcomed 4 wet cyclists! The homemade soup was delicious and we...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Howsiefam
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the really positive review! Glad that you made the most of our fire! Hope to welcome you all again soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Out for a family walk around Rutland water. After hearing good things we decided to go to for lunch and wasn't disappointed. Very friendly and attentive staff. Food was excellent and very tasty with plenty to choose from. Overall excellent. Thank you and will be...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Peter322
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the lovely review! I shall pass on your kind comments to the team! Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived for dinner at 5pm Saturday afternoon (there was only 3 of us) and we had in fact booked at table and explained we had limited time. The restaurant was almost empty and it was hardly a busy period. When we arrived, there were...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Melanie B
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon, I'm very sorry that your recent experience wasn't up to our normal high standards. We are normally very good at dealing with busy periods as in the summer we can do an excess of 300 covers on a busy lunchtime, so apologies that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for lunch during a bike ride. I had a brie and cranberry baguette. I think it turned out to be a cranberry baguette as the amount of Brie served was miserly. We also had a carrot and coriander soup... not hot enough......More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Dogface123
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening, I'm really sorry to hear that your recent experience wasn't up to scratch. Our baguettes and soup are normally some of the most popular items on our menu so apologies that they were disappointing on that particular day. We hope that we get...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for somewhere, near Rutland Water for lunch after a dog walk, on a Monday. A lot of places seemed to be closed either all day or at least for lunch, but this was open. On checking the website it did say that...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank SurreyBondGirl
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your really kind review, as you've probably seen from other reviews our pie is extremely popular and I'm thrilled to see that it went down well! Myself and the team hope to welcome you back again in the not too...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really friendly welcome . Excellent food for a pub. Specials board is excellent with outstanding dishes. Their steak pies are renowned throughout Rutland, rightly so. We were last people still eating but felt no pressure to hurry up.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cockneykipper
Jason A, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review, and especially the endorsement of our Pie!! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!!

Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Service good and the food was perfect for a Friday lunch treat. A perfect location if cycling around Rutland Water.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank mcculloughrea
Jason A, General Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

We are delighted to hear that your food was 'perfect' and the service good. We hope we get to welcome you back in the very near future.

Reviewed 24 December 2018 via mobile

One of the nicest, friendliest and sweetest pubs in the area. We had our Christmas meal here. It was delicious and there was lots of it for an astoundingly cheap price. Not only that but one of our party couldn’t make it due to illness...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lexie1974
Jason A, General Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that you all had a lovely Christmas. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Reviewed 11 December 2018

Although the service and atmosphere was great unfortunately the food didn’t measure up to it. Three of our party had the roast beef lunch and the other the ham. Overall the meat was very disappointing, the beef being overlooked, dry and gristly. The ham was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank chrisbA5563NT
Jason A, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As a team we always discuss all reviews and ensure that constructive comments are taken on board. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, which came as a big...More

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here today and although service was a little slow, the food was very good, waitress and bar staff very attentive, friendly and welcoming. Plenty to do around the local area including Rutland Water and Bugtopia. Would not hesitate in recommending this...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 36gillians
Jason A, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hambleton Hall
693 reviews
2.28 miles away
Wisteria Hotel
324 reviews
2.67 miles away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
636 reviews
2.79 miles away
The Admiral Hornblower
204 reviews
2.85 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Kings Arms
343 reviews
1.33 miles away
Hambleton Hall
471 reviews
2.28 miles away
The Finch's Arms
469 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Sir John Moore Foundation
6 reviews
1.32 miles away
Goldmark Gallery
17 reviews
3.14 miles away
The Fox and Hounds
13 reviews
3.51 miles away
Aqua Park Rutland
327 reviews
3.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sanwat
1 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Jason A | Property representative |
You can walk from the pub to Egleton, using the Rutland Water cycle track, which is your most direct route. However you must note there is no lighting and this will take you through narrow paths of shrubs and trees along... More
0
Votes
Crumplestiltskin
2 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Mark V | Reviewed this property |
I disagree strongly, and take every restaurant as I find it myself. The food my family and guests had here was second to none. You must have gone at a very busy time and therfore should make small allowances for that fact... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing