We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Sponsored by: Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Love the @@blinis@@!
1. Love the @@blinis@@!
" there are the best blinis in the whole Tallinn (maybe anywhere)."
Laura K
See reviews that mention blinis
2. terrace
2. terrace
"Exellent service and cozy big terrace. Really tasty "pliinid"."
Martin K
See reviews that mention terrace
3. Lunch in the Restauran
3. Lunch in the Restauran
"Cozy place matching to the historic site of the Old Town. Enjoyed!"
Semionok
See reviews that mention interior
About
Babulja is a new cafe-cocktail bar located in Tallinn Old Town. With one of a kind atmosphere, Babulja offers the best blinis and fresh homemade pastries. House infused vodkas & original cocktails available. The place is open for late breakfast and evenings. On the second floor we have a restaurant as well. Babulja means grandmother in Russian.
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$17
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe, European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
96
25
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
96
25
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blinis pelmeni minced lamb pavlova duck leg pancakes caviar steak borscht soup ribs homemade bread potatoes chef rene special thanks traditional russian food quick snack old town
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There are two sections, and this only relates to the café part downstairs. There’s a good variety of local dishes, all at very reasonable prices - especially for the Old Town, which can be a tourist trap. And very tasty it is too. There’s also...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank CptVonTripp
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 22 July 2018

There are really 2 parts to this restaurant - an inside and an outside. I’m not sure they have the same menu, but the food comes from the same kitchen. We sat inside, and had great service. They serve a bunch of different Russian foods,...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank stevemM3330CN
Babulja, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Steve! Wow, we're truly thankful for Your review! It's heartwarming to hear, that You loved the food, You chose and would like to come back and try some other toppings for blinis, as well! Our Pavlova is the most delicious thing You've ever eaten...More

Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Fast and friendly service, nice food, reasonable prices with warm athmosphere. Located near to the old town main entry and easy to access. Will go back there!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank teparock
Babulja, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Teparock! Thank You for Your review! We're so glad to hear, that You enjoyed Your visit and plan to visit us again. Looking forward to see You back here again soon! With kind regards, Babulja family

Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here, and try the dumpling, the mushroom sause are so tasty. Also the duck leg, finally was the 5cm pancake with ice cream . The pancake was great , must try .More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank dorisl786
Babulja, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2018

Dear Dorisl786! Thank You for Your kind words and such a strong recommendation! We're so glad to hear, that You enjoyed Your visit and loved our food! This means a lot to us! Thank You again for Your feedback and for recommending us to others,...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We had two drinks and a blini here. Both were really good. What a shame that they seemed to have a sewage problem - the bad smell really lessened the experience...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Inspire668822
Babulja K, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Inspire668822! Thank You for Your review. We're glad to hear, that You enjoyed Your staying here and liked our food and drinks. Yes, we have to agree, as this is very very old building and we just had first cold days, the building sometimes...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

False advertising - offer of low-price steak meals and free desserts, but one has to order everything separately (e.g. the price marked literally only includes steak; you pay extra for fries or veg and even sauces!); the 'free dessert' is one scoop of vanilla ice...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Katgibsontravel
Babulja, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Kat G! Thank You for Your feedback! We're glad to hear, that You enjoyed the food and find our steak excellent! Nevertheless we are sorry, that You found our menu a little bit confusing. We'll do our best to make the menu easier to...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Went there with my boyfriend and had a superb service from guy named Indrek and a girl Marie. They were so nice that because of them we wanted to stay there more. Deffinetly will go back there! Good job Indrek and Marie :)More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank laurahenry18
Babulja, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Laura B! Thank You for Your review and such a strong recommendation! We're glad to hear, that You enjoyed Your staying and our service. We'll make sure to notice Indrek and Marie about Your kind words and we're truly looking forward to see You...More

Reviewed 5 July 2018

Good service and super tasty food at a reasonable price. Impressed by the choice and quality of the vegetarian options; Not something we found in many of the other Tallinn restaurants. Although near the main road and a parking area, sitting in the outside covered...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tipishca
Babulja, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Tipishca! Thank You for Your review! We're glad to hear, that You liked our menu and enjoyed our dishes! Our summer terrace is, indeed, pretty big when compared with other terraces, yet cozy and we're glad to hear, that You liked it. Thank You...More

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Place is old-fashion style, but humble and looks awsome. Unfortunately i cant say the same to food or drinks. Ordered cocktails what didn’t look nothing same as ther cocktails card. Also menu was very short and as I remembered almost everything was pliin.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 64sigrids
Babulja K, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Sigrid! Thank You for Your review. We're glad to hear, that You liked our atmosphere. We're sorry, that You didn't like our cocktails. If they don't look the same, there's always an opportunity to send it back. We truly hope, that You did it...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

The food was really good. And for a fairly lower price than you can find for the same (or lower) quality in most of the Tallin's restaurants. I think it might be because it's slightly out of the very city old town, but still it's...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jaimen478
Babulja K, Public Relations Manager at Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Jaime! Thank You for Your review! We're glad to hear, that You enjoyed Your visit and would recommend us to others, as well. We're looking forward to see You back here again soon. With kind regards, Babulja family

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 87 nearby hotels
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
506 reviews
.07 miles away
Hotel CRU
384 reviews
.09 miles away
Hestia Hotel Barons
450 reviews
.11 miles away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
1,626 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,173 nearby restaurants
Rukis
593 reviews
.07 miles away
Goodwin The Steak House
802 reviews
.05 miles away
FRANK
170 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 603 nearby attractions
Viru Gates
642 reviews
.05 miles away
Viru Square
455 reviews
.06 miles away
Helios Hall
40 reviews
.06 miles away
Estonian Drama Theatre
12 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Babulja Kohvik-Kokteilibaar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing