We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ruined Garden


Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner

Location and contact

Set in the ruins of a courtyard house in Old Fez. We serve Tapas at lunch, street foods, also cakes and pastries, fresh juices (eg watermelon or cucumber & mint or date and orange blossom milk) and Modern Moroccan dinners (*7 hour lamb 'Mechwi' or Pigeon B'Stella order in advance*) When it is hot there is shade and sun hats, when cold or wet there is a salon with a log fire. When wet or during high season (Christmas, Easter, May & October) reservations essential. We are situated 5 minutes from Talaa Seghira & the same distance from Batha, there are some painted signs. *No alcohol I am sorry to say* We offer an escort service to & from your accommodation within the medina, call in advance to
US$3 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
African, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Street Food
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (1,577)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews onion tart tapas tagine sardines soups meatballs bread cake lamb salad riad idrissy orange blossom an oasis beautiful setting the hustle and bustle no alcohol delicious food
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

The setting is very nice, the food was not the best that we had in Fez but was alright. I had a macchiatto which was quite strong and tasty.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank vbinCBR
Reviewed 3 days ago

A smiling face welcomed us from behind the bar. We could pick a table ourselves and 've got served a good food even though we were beetween the lunch and the dinner times. Good value for the money, quiet and relaxed! Kids friendly!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank TripGorfi
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stop by and reserve if you want to sit in the sun as it is cool off season in the shade. Food and service were both good and not too over priced.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Charlotte C
Reviewed 1 week ago

i took my mother and my sister there so we can get relaxed , have a nice dinner and enjoy our time before heading back home , but unfortunetly the ppl who work there , especially the manager was rude to us in a disgusting...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tthecunningham
autmanr, General Manager at The Ruined Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear tthecunningham, Thank you very much for taking the time to write, I am really disheartened and rather puzzled looking at your feedback, I am very sorry if you have had encountered such thing here, I am saying puzzled because I am the manager and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Apart from the perfect environment, the food was so good! Sardine tajin and kefte tajin rock! Make sure you have a reservation and you have a GPS to show up the way.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Manos1710
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed an evening relaxing and eating good quality and typical Moroccan food. The starters are worth selecting to get a good mix of flavours.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Richard J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up with no reservation and was seated in the garden as inside was full. They sorted a fire heater for us as well. Starters were around 40-60dh and mains 100-120 Dh. Everybody enjoyed their tagine. Mine was particularly tender and juicy, the meat literally...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Lydia V
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic culinary experience in the heart of the old Medina. The bread served with olive oil, cumin and fresh green chilli was a refreshing appetiser. The fried potato balls, lentil stew and white bean stew were particularly outstanding. We were able to stay warm in...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Gurhia2018
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Despite it being January we ate outside at The Ruined Garden, plenty of heaters and blankets to keep us warm. Lovely garden. Good menu, although some dishes had huge portions and some small - very attentive and friendly staff. On request they will send someone...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Nevis
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fun place and they do have heaters at night. It was still a bit cold but really nice ambiance. We found the appetizers to be more interesting than the entrees.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JH3traveler
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 107 nearby hotels
Dar Hafsa
1,137 reviews
.02 miles away
Algila Fes
425 reviews
.08 miles away
Le Jardin des Biehn
228 reviews
.08 miles away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
1,349 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 278 nearby restaurants
Restaurant Ouliya
211 reviews
.19 miles away
Riad Rcif
1,071 reviews
.12 miles away
Restaurant Dar Tajine Fes
880 reviews
.20 miles away
Maison Moi Anan
254 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 565 nearby attractions
Moulay Abdellah Quarter
686 reviews
.18 miles away
Break In The Desert Morocco
41 reviews
.22 miles away
Nejjarine Museum of Wood Arts and Crafts
927 reviews
.20 miles away
Fontaine Nejjarine
301 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
2 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ANTHONY H | Reviewed this property |
For 13 people I would phone to make a reservation as they do not have many big tables
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing