We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#119 of 2,515 Asian in Hong Kong
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£39 - £79
CUISINES
Asian, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (426)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
149
101
34
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
149
101
34
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dim sum ice cream soup dinner buffet noodle bar sushi and sashimi star hotel hk
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Mother’s Day, the buffet has less food (no Indian curries at all!) There were no cold lobsters, and the steamed ones were overcooked and soggy. Salads were minimal and the desserts were also tasteless. I used to love coming here, now I think not.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

It's been my preferred buffet restaurant for many years but I think I may try others from now on. Tables were set up very close with each others. Coffee and tea was served by cups and when complained the tea is too dark, the waitress...came back and said she had thrown away half of it and diluted it with water. Only came back with individual pot of tea upon our request.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Bannon, Other at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Dear AWFUK Thank you very much for visiting Cafe TOO recently and for your time to share your comments with us. I am regret to hear that not everything was up to our service standards. Please rest assured that we will address the shortcomings with...More

Reviewed 10 April 2023 via mobile

We came here for lunch buffet. As always, the service and food selections were excellent. Unlike the previous visits, we came early at 12pm when lunch buffet began instead of at 1pm. Not sure if this was the reason, but the dim sum were not...hot enough and some of the sushi rolls were a little too cold. It felt like the food had not had sufficient time on the steamer and display tray respectively. The sushi and sashimi were fresh. There were also chilled seafood. The noodle bar and Indian corner plus the hot honest soup station were as good as pre-pandemic. The dessert table offered a wide variety of cakes, and pastries, ice-cream by the scoop, chocolates bars, etc.. A drink was also included. The restaurant was very spacious compared to some other 5-star hotel cafes. So it did not feel crowded at all. It was an overall good experience.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Bannon, General Manager at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Dear ToroFarm Thank you very much for visiting Cafe TOO recently and for your time to share your comments with us. I am excited to read that you thoroughly enjoyed dining with us. However, we regret to hear that not everything was up to our...More

Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

The restaurant is promoting food from old HK - No Mui Kee Congee at night - Deep fried flour without sweet potatoes from the Japanese Counter - Staff giving you long face if you ask for goose leg - Egg Tarts are available after 8:30...pm only Much better dinning experience in enjoying buffet at Hotel IconMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

Dear tas2022 Thank you very much for visiting Cafe TOO and for your time to share your comments with us. We regret to hear that not everything was up to our service standards. Please rest assured that we will address the shortcomings with our team...More

Reviewed 25 August 2022

我們在這裡食自助晚餐和早餐。 坦白說,我在眾多五星級酒店裡沒有試過這麼差的自助晚餐︰Cafe Too選擇非常少,價錢每位七百多加一,沒有熱龍蝦、鮑魚、鵝肝、生蠔等任何一款較貴價的食材,味道也不好,而員工不單沒有笑容,更是黑面的。 早餐相對比較好,但是粥品是鹹到要洗腎的程度,我要加同一份量的白粥入生滾粥來,才是正常味道。 We have dinner and breakfast at Cafe Too in both days. The food is not tasty, maybe the worst dinner buffet I had in 5-stars even 4-stars hotels. I will not recommend Cafe Too to my friends.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

Dear Mr Hilson Ng Thank you very much for visiting cafe TOO and for your time to share your comments with us as such feedback gives us the opportunity to review and improve our quality service standards to ensure all our guests are experiencing a...More

Reviewed 25 October 2021

We had breakfast buffet in the hotel as part of the room package. Numerous of choices from different cuisine, the iced coffee is nice. However, the time limit for hotel guest of 1 hr is a bit rush.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Dear Mr Ng Thank you very much for staying with us at Island Shangri-La recently and for your time to share your comments with us. I am excited to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast with us. However, we regret to hear that the...More

Reviewed 6 October 2021 via mobile

Me,family and friends often visit this because it’s normally the food and services is impressive but then our last visit there we had terrible experience with the service I arrived late with my niece which is two years old and the server immediately inform us...that if my niece eat some food they will charge us for adult price for 2 years.. she didn’t even let us settle first before she inform us .. And when I was eating she ask if if she can take my plate that I’m still eating .. She can’t read her customer if the customer still eating.. she absolutely ruined my experience in this restaurant I normally recommend this restaurant to my friends and associates as I’m also working in this industry but I’m not sure now if will come back in this restaurant.. and they don’t refill their seafood area like before no one is in the sushi section as well you need to find chef to ask you sashimi.. I’m sorry to write this review but I was really disappointed.. I think charging the 2 years old kid as adult price is absolutely ripped off..More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Ms Isabella Thank you very much for visiting cafe TOO recently and for your time to share your comments with us as such feedback gives us the opportunity to review and improve our quality service standards to ensure all our guests are experiencing a...More

Reviewed 9 August 2021

A great birthday dinner buffet at Cafe Too, with complimentary birthday cake, a nice gesture, service is attentive and helpful, delicious varieties of food, busy outlet but efficient, amazing stay, we will be back again for sure to enjoy again, hotel is fabulous and truly...beautiful , breakfast buffet needed to wait but its worth to wait!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Dear MTravellerHK Thank you for the great review. As we believe that personalized gestures can make a world of difference, we are glad to hear that our colleagues contribute to making experience a memorable one. We are truly grateful for your commendations, which will be...More

Reviewed 25 July 2021

Food is generally ok with a wide range of selection. But not much high quality ingredients are used with the price of $720+10% per pax. No oysters, no Foie Gras, not a lot of sashimi.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Dear Ontingc Thank you very much for visiting cafe TOO recently and for your time to share your comments with us. I am glad to read that your overall experience was enjoyable. However, we regret to hear that not everything was up to our service...More

Reviewed 23 July 2021

We have Chinese food, sushi, noodle bar, egg station, Western food and everything.No matter who you say, you won't be in trouble.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Island Shangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – F&B (HK) at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Dear Ohno2018 Thank you for joining us for breakfast at cafe TOO and taking the time to share your experience with us and the online community. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the experience. It was our pleasure having you and we look...More

Reviewed 23 March 2021

Services were one of the highlight points. The staffs were friendly and helpful. They took dirty plates quickly. The environment was comfortable and not crowned. The seafood was fresh. Besides, the desserts and ice-cream were delicious even the variety of desserts was less than our...anticipation. Highly recommend for this lunch buffet.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

The Service was good! We had a great buffet lunch on My Birthday. The food, amazing too! That is why We keep coming back.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2020 via mobile

One of the best buffet in.hongkong..seafood and dessert is the highlight of the experience..only one problem staff cant speak english..its will be more helpful if one of them can speak english..maybe we just ask the person there on that day but over all experience is...great.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

Having had our last four meals here (two buffet dinners and two buffet breakfasts) after booking a special ‘staycation package’, I feel a bit disloyal leaving such a middling review because the service was truly excellent and some of the food on offer is incredible...(the endless lobster and wagyu beef especially) but there are some problems nonetheless. 1) For HK$700 a head for dinner before tax, to not include any soft drinks in the price seems grasping and mean. 2) The decor is not in keeping with the rest of the hotel at all. It looks tired and a bit tacky, especially when compared to similar spaces at other luxury hotels in Admiralty. 3) For a place which is listed on here at ‘Vegetarian Friendly’, the options were limited. In most ways, this is very much a 5* place but for how much they are charging, the things I identified above should not be issues.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2020

Service was excellent, very attentive. There was a variety of food however the selection could have been wider. People are queuing for certain foods (see food and Japanese beef for example) so more staff should be deployed there and more of that food should be...cooked. In total a very good experience! I highly recommend it!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Island Shangri-la, Hong Kong
4,479 reviews
.03 miles away
Conrad Hong Kong
4,634 reviews
.06 miles away
Pacific Place Apartments
53 reviews
.07 miles away
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
3,098 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Petrus
367 reviews
.06 miles away
Lobster Bar and Grill
346 reviews
.06 miles away
Nicholini's, Conrad Hong Kong
330 reviews
.05 miles away
Flint
293 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hong Kong Park
3,145 reviews
.17 miles away
Edward Youde Aviary
207 reviews
.23 miles away
Pacific Place
346 reviews
.10 miles away
Flagstaff House Museum of Tea Ware
200 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DestonWong
25 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Margaret Mo E | Reviewed this property |
The buffet was brunch, hk$485 and I believe it's hk$300 for kids.
0
Votes
kellyCalifornia_10
3 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Pekka N | Reviewed this property |
U certainly mean Hotel Shangrila Kowloon and it was double.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CAFE TOO, Hong Kong - Tai Fat Hau - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about cafe TOO

cafe TOO is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4