We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Penny Black Victorian London Pub

££ - £££
Neighbourhood:
The Quays
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
27 Boat Quay 26, Singapore 049817, Singapore
+65 6538 2300
Website
Today
11:30 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 00:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 01:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at The Penny Black for lunch. It has outside seating so you can sit right next to the river and watch the world go by. We opted for a drink and a light lunch and it was served quickly and the food was good pub food. There are lots of restaurants along this part of the river bank... More 

Helpful?
Thank moliere19
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review of The Penny Black. We are delighted to hear that you had a good lunch at our pub and will be sure to pass on your compliments to our chefs. We love our river side seating too! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here on a Friday evening from the office. It was busy at that time but it took ages to get served. Was also difficult to find anyone when we wanted another round. And when we did they took ages and got the order wrong. Range of drinks was good. Probably a lot better when it's not so busy.

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi Roger, Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We sincerely apologise that you had to experience slow service while you were at the pub on Friday. We are trying to improve our services and hopefully would be much better the next time we see you again. More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a bite to eat, a few beers, and as it turned out, to watch my football team getting humiliated on the large screen. Service was good, as the waitress was very attentive, food was good ( Fish & Chips for me, Lamb Chops for my wife), Tiger Beer was chilled and tasty (though expensive at S$13 a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TankerBear
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our pub. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and chefs. We look forward to seeing you again with another pint of Tiger in your hands and let’s cheer on your team together! More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Reasonably priced drinks. Friendly staff. Great sport coverage. Really good to start a Saturday night off at.

Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
MuddyMurphyH, Marketing Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi Shelley, Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We are utmost delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the pub. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
234 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Getting more runned down since last time we were there. And service is slower too.. But ok to have a beer and watch some sports.

Helpful?
Thank Didi M
MuddyMurphyH, Marketing Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi Didi, Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We sincerely apologise that you had to experience slow service during your time at the pub however we are trying our best to improve and hopefully the next time you're here, we are better :) More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Had Fish n Chips for lunch with a lemon lime bitters and a pint of Guinness on St.Patrick's Day. Great location, food, drinks and service. Very relaxing. Was a busy day, so staff was a bit lost. Only one little issue. One of the staff members dropped a fork on the very dirty floor, picked it up quickly, gave it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Swissmimi
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We love hearing from our customers and we are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your visit. We're glad you joined us on St Patrick's Day! We deeply apologize that you have to see that and will pass on your comments to our staff members.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

It's a beautiful place to enjoy your beer in the evening with lovely breeze and good view. The place is usually booked so better to make pre-arrangements or arrive early. Food is good and especially the spicy chicken wings are good snacks but the service is extremely slow. In fact after waiting for 30 min for our snacks when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tushar K
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and food at our pub. We will definitely pass on your compliments to our Chefs! We deeply apologise that you had to experience that. Your feedback will be passed on to our manager over at The Penny... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
341 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It looks a bit run down inside. They do play the english football games but they don't have many televisions. It's not really a comfortable place to hang out.

Helpful?
Thank StationToStation
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We are deeply sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your time at the pub. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our management in hope to improve our facilities. We do hope you visit us again! Many thanks, Lizzie P. More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Like any regular visitor to Singapore I am familiar with the Penny Black as a reliable venue for food, drink and people watching. On this occasion I attended a 60th birthday party in the upstairs function room. The upstairs is just as authentically decorated as downstairs. It was a great party made even better by well served food and drink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SensiDave
MuddyMurphyH, Public Relations Manager at The Penny Black Victorian London Pub, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review The Penny Black. We love hearing from all our customers and we delighted to hear you had a wonderful time at The Penny Black and your friends function. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff! Do come back and visit us again soon. Many thanks,... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Good pub grub at reasonable prices. Good selection of beers and well made cocktails, Nice atmosphere and a great place to catch up on sport on the TV

Helpful?
Thank scranster

Travellers who viewed The Penny Black Victorian London Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Black Victorian London Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 00:00
Monday
11:30 - 01:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 01:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 01:00
Thursday
11:30 - 01:00
Friday
11:30 - 02:00
Saturday
11:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Boat Quay 26, Singapore 049817, Singapore
  • Location: Asia  >  Singapore  >  Singapore>  > The Quays
  • Neighbourhood: The Quays
  • Phone Number: +65 6538 2300
Description
Located at the Raffles Place entrance to Boat Quay, one of Singapore's most colourful and vibrant river-front entertainment zones. The Penny Black Victorian London Pub is without doubt your quintessential Victorian Public House.

All food is freshly cooked everyday. You will find hearty London Pub favourite meals and a mix of enticing local and western barfood on offer from 3pm. Most popular meals include Fish n' Chips with Mushy Peas, Traditional Roast, and the mouth-watering home-made Beef Burger.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Penny Black Victorian London Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in The Quays

Neighbourhood Profile
The Quays
From Marina Bay, a walk along Singapore River will take you through the three Quays of the city, each offering a very different atmosphere. Boat Quay features historical sites and a buzzing riverfront vibe. Clarke Quay caters to the party crowd, while Robertson Quay appeals to the leisurely wanderer. Weekends at Robertson Quay and Martin Road also give a peek into the lives of expats in Singapore, as the riverfront teems with joggers, dog walkers, and those getting their caffeine fix over brunch or enjoying a burger and a beer. No matter what you’re up for, the three Quays have something to keep you happy, day or night.
Explore this neighbourhood