We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fish Restaurant Proto

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Siroka no. 1 | Old City, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
+385 20 323 234
Website
Thursday
Closed
Hours:
Mon 01:00 - 01:01
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 945: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice restaurant. Nothing special. Little pricey for the standard of food.staff very pleasant however.

Helpful?
Thank johb333
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great restaurant in old town My options were vegetarian The starter was nice but i dont like cucumber...so, I didn't appreciate The risotto and the spaghetti very good I drink water, no opinion regarding local wines and no opinion regarding prices (should be a little expensive) But all things with very quality Recommend

Helpful?
Thank Julio F
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They have some amazing seafood dishes on the menu here, the Squid and Lobster is really good balance with some simple but delicious sauces, really good and extensive wine list. Loved the beautiful old maps and Oak paneling.

Helpful?
Thank Abbyelizabethgreen
Proto D, Manager at Fish Restaurant Proto, responded to this review

Dear Guests, It warms our heart that you have chosen to dine at our Fish Restaurant Proto. We enjoyed having you as guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our fine dining Mediterranean-style cuisine, service, décor and wine selection. Your review is praise which... More 

UK
Level Contributor
258 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed lunch at Proto. In fact enjoyed it so much we went back for dinner. Had the pasta with prawns and truffle shavings. Very generous on the truffle. Delicious. Although there is supposed to be a dress code, for lunch it did not really seem to matter as we were in shorts and t-shirts. Beautiful surroundings, lovely food, good... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichardVUK
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice sea bass baked in salt. Service is welcoming and efficient Nice place Oysters were tasty, soups are perfect for the weather of November !

Helpful?
Thank T S
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can't put in words how amazing this restaurant is. I was recommended by a local. Everything on the menu is perfect. I love the black risotto (see image). Also the seabream is great. They have the best Oysters in old town. The waiters are very humble and they make you feel very special. Waitress 'Amra' served me and she... More 

Helpful?
Thank TerryAtif
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having a fantastic location is blessing, but it may be a curse as well, as owners get easily spoiled with guests jumping to a restaurant like fish into the net. Proto is among very few restaurants that put quAlity on top of priorities list, and not the profit. Have tried fish soup and local pasta with scampi and mushrooms -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Han_Solo_1976
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We sat upstairs on the terrace, it was cool and quaint. The crockery and cutlery is modern. The glass wear is colourful. The service was impeccable. I had the crab soup for starters- I think the best I have had so far. Tagliatelle with shrimp and truffles- to die for. The fisherman's soup is also excellent. It's central, great decor,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana A
Proto D, Manager at Fish Restaurant Proto, responded to this review

Dear Guests, It warms our heart that you have chosen to dine at our Fish Restaurant Proto. We were very much pleased to have you as guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our fine dining Mediterranean-style cuisine, service, décor and private atmosphere of... More 

Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Dont miss Fregola pasta with shrimp and mushroms, simply fantastic, to start octopus fresh salad and a good white wine!!!

Helpful?
Thank elcatalandefortaleza
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

Thanks to Misa for amazing service, charm and full knowledge of fish and wine! A super evening! The children thoroughly enjoyed it too!

Helpful?
Thank SophieClark81

Travellers who viewed Fish Restaurant Proto also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Fish Restaurant Proto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, Croatian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
01:00 - 01:01
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Siroka no. 1 | Old City, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
  • Location: Europe  >  Croatia  >  Dalmatia  >  Dubrovnik-Neretva County  >  Dubrovnik
  • Phone Number: +385 20 323 234

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fish Restaurant Proto and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fish Restaurant Proto staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?