We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fortaleza

Number 9 Church Cross Street | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 233415
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good39%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Number 9 Church Cross Street | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We had breakfast twice and it was good. They have a good variety of fresh fruits, juice, cornflakes and bacon and eggs etc..

Thank manique-fernando
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We ate dinner here one evening and had a good experience. The food was well cooked and the service was sharp. Overall an enjoyable night was had by all.

Thank colinlisamatthews
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Our group of six just walked in off the street while looking for lunch and we were not disappointed. The waiter told us that restaurant is in a 400 year old former spice warehouse, and the aged patina of the walls has been preserved as...More

Thank 341claire
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Went there today for dinner with my hubby and the food was delicious. The waiter was really kind and helpful. On the menu it said they had shrimps spaghetti and I don't eat sea food so I told him I don't eat sea food so...More

Thank Jessica O
Reviewed 8 June 2017

I went here for dinner with my friends.The atmosphere was nice and cozy.The menu lacks variety!I ordered chicken burger,it was pricey and I thought it's not worth the money.Dessert was no exception,the cheese cake was definitely the worst cheese cake I've had in my life.But...More

Thank Rusiru R
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I m very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, unfortunately we are left with little option other than to apologize. If we were made aware at the time it would have been very easily...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017

We ate here a few weeks ago, and found the setting really beautiful. The food was good, but a little pricey, for what you got. Though it is in Galle Fort with tourist prices, and is probably what to expect. I would recommend , as...More

Thank Bernadette D
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We visited here late afternoon for a quiet evening meal. We were greeted by a cat at reception which was a great way to start! The staff wee not the friendliest, but the setting, with a lovely tree filled courtyard was beautiful and even more...More

Thank 2wreckless
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We visited Fortaleza again after two years or so hoping to have the same pleasant experience we had before. Sadly, it was nothing special this time around. We had the pesto prawn pasta, tuna crudo and passion fruit soda (supposedly homemade). The tuna was nice...More

Thank CMBTraveller_85
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We had an evening meal here and ate fish special and pasta. Both were excellent and the service great. The courtyard is nice and they have fans to cool it down. The service is friendly and it was one of the best meals we had...More

Thank LondonHDL
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this fantastic review, it gives us a great sense of achievement and i shall pass it along to the team. We hope to see you back again. Warm regards Ethan

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

After a week of curry we needed a western meal. Had a chicken burger which was okay and beef burger which wasn't great. The outdoor is really nice though. 2 burgers and 2 soft drinks for 4000 not really value for money.

Thank James T
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chambers Restaurant
545 reviews
.10 miles away
Lucky Fort Restaurant
1,362 reviews
.07 miles away
Spoon's
245 reviews
.10 miles away
Pedlar's Inn Cafe
991 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Galle Fort
2,294 reviews
.16 miles away
Dutch Reformed Church
337 reviews
.08 miles away
Clock Tower
168 reviews
.14 miles away
Maritime Archeology Museum
183 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Suzanne S
5 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Ethan S | Property representative |
Hi Suzanne Thank you for your inquiry. We will be offering our regular A La Carte menu plus a few Xmas specials on the board which are yet to be confirmed. Please get back to us next week via email to... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Number 9 Church Cross Street | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Galle District  >  Galle
  • Phone Number: +94 91 2 233415
  • E-mail
Description
Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing