We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

#18 of 380 Restaurants in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
+60 5-210 7777
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The menu is not very big but all options are delicious and good quality! the Nasi is amazing (local food).

Helpful?
Thank danaalsaifi
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed the breakfast but hope more variety on the menu. The juices are refreshing. Tried the salmon for dinner, it was a small portion but excellent taste.

Helpful?
Thank bbsiqinsr
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear bbsiqinsr, Thank you for your feed back and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We are glad that you had enjoyed your dining experience and we will also be revising our menu very soon. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch on the day we checked in - nice salad with pear and blue cheese. Portions were small. Breakfast spread mediocre - there were yoghurt and breads and other breakfast items that you self serve and dishes such as eggs and nasi lemak which can be ordered from the menu. Taste was good but portions were small. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoeCool_KL
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear JoeCool_KL, Thank you for dining in our Pomelo Restaurant. We will be revising our menu very soon and we had taken note on the food portions that you had mentioned. We appreciate that you had taken your valuable time to feed back to us. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have tried breakfast and dinner at that restaurant. I'd say the view for sure was great,the set up was very simple but the variety and quality of food were below expectations and so it is overpriced. It really needs improvement...even if it's following a healthy and eco-friendly system still it can be delicious with a good variety of choices..Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManarY98
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear ManarY98, Thank you for your review and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We had taken note on your comments, which we had shared with our Head Chef and Outlet Manager. Rest assured remedial actions are in progress. We look forward to serving you better during your visit to Ipoh. Thank you. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had breakfast here while staying at Banjaran. The staff are lovely and very attentive and the breakfast is a la carte. I had an amazing muesli made by Chef Boon, the best I have ever had. There is something for everyone to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank KBFExpat
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear KBFExpat, Thank you for your review and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We are glad to hear you had enjoyed Chef Boon's tasty muesli. We will be looking forward to serve you again. Thank you. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

Had their fried rice (Nasi Goreng) and fried vermicelli (Fried Meehoon), simple dish it may sound but the chef did a great job by making it exceptionally delicious if compared with many other hotels.

Helpful?
Thank Irene H
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Irene H, Thank you for your review and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We are glad that you had enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Had breakfast here, served with quality and delicious food. A unique out-of-the-world Dining Experience

Helpful?
Thank Gayathri R
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Gayathri R, Thank you for your patronage. We are glad to hear about your positive comments and we look forward to see you again in the near future. Thank you. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Called to reserve a table for two and was assured that it was done by the front desk of the resort. Arrived at the restaurant and was visibly surprised to hear that the reservation was was not registered at all. To make matters worst, we were celebrating a birthday here. Ordered the angus beef and the cod which was as... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephanosewe
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear stephanosewe, Thank you for your review and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We were disappointed to hear about your experience and we would like to apologize for the unpleasant encounter. Rest assured the matter will be reviewed further and proper action plans will be in place to prevent similar incidents occurring again. We appreciate that you had highlight this... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

I stayed here last year for my birthday celebration.The view of the surrounding of the hotel is spectacular for those who love the nature. Each of the resort has private pool, you can either choose the view facing the banjaran or the lake.But please take note that this hotel is very strict in limiting the guest up to 2 person... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank atiqahaimy
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear atiqahaimy, Thank you for your review and staying in our Retreat. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016

Had breakfast here every day of my stay and was delighted with the choices and quality of the cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank charlesperth
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear charlesperth, Thank you for your visit and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We are glad that you had enjoyed your daily breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations More 

Travellers who viewed The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Asian, Malaysian, International, Healthy
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
  • Location: Asia  >  Malaysia  >  Perak  >  Kinta District  >  Ipoh
  • Phone Number: +60 5-210 7777
  • This restaurant is at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Description
Acquiring its name from the fruit that Tambun, Ipoh, is famous for, THE POMELO lies within The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat. One of the important components of this concept is spa cuisine – light, healthy and nutritious dishes. The POMELO innovatively incorporates the pomelo fruitinto refreshing spa cuisine for an awakening of the senses. THE POMELO’s spa cuisine menu explodes with flavours of organic fruits, vegetables, fresh seafood and premium poultry. No artificial seasoning or flavorings will be used in the cooking or preparation of food but lots of local fresh spices and ingredients are used instead.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Ipoh, Malaysia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?