We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wreck Restaurant

1 Stint street | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
+264 64 414 528
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“creme brulee” (4 reviews)
“oysters” (13 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Stint street | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Wreck is cute. It’s shaped like a ship and the windows are portholes. It’s right at the beach with a terrific view. We had King clip fish which is very good and steak and some so-so “chips” (as they call their French fries). Although...More

Thank Carolyn B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A VERY SPECIAL RESTAURANG !!!! You must go there ! Good food Lovely staff always very helpfull and serviceminded. What a view !! It is a place to put on your list We will always remember this place....

Thank berikaSweden
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the great review! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant. Regards, Andre

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner here one night with our group. The restaurant is housed in a fun ship shaped building (which looks nothing like a wreck), right on the beach. Upstairs dining room - with white tablecloth, comfortable padded chairs - has big windows facing west -...More

Thank paxa
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner experience at The Wreck Restaurant. Your comment has been passed on to the Chef. Regards, Andre

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Predominantly a seafood place, located on the ocean shore, with large windows to soak in the view while you are dining. Locals recommended this place for seafood, and the seafood was indeed good. There are also other dishes for those who prefer other food. Call...More

Thank N0mad_by_Ch0ice
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant! Regards, Andre

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is set on the first floor right of the building which on the beach. It has a reasonably up market feeling and the food was really good.

Thank gfilen
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Is difficult to say something about a poor place...when we went for dinner the menu is just a simple international menu good for all and nobody at the same time...we asked for bred and they told us they finished...so nothing special at all.....

Thank FabioBonini
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had a business dinner here with a client and it was perfect. We had a great view and the food and wine was very good.

Thank Chris S
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The Wreck is a little bit out of town but easy to get to, we drove and parked in a large vacant land area across the road, as we went at night we paid NAD10 to someone for looking after our vehicle - always best...More

Thank yzat181
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant! Regards, Andre

Reviewed 6 September 2017

This was the best dinner we had in Namibia and it was fully packed with locals at night so you should definitely not miss it!

Thank biaci
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Had dinner- nice setting but found the food average. Was looking forward to something special- maybe ordered the wrong dish? I had the sole calamari combo. It was fine but I was a bit disappointed. The seafood pasta that my partner had seemed a better...More

Thank Ilse43
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
BlueGrass Restaurant
44 reviews
.75 miles away
Aviary Coffee Shop
8 reviews
.80 miles away
Jiating Sushi
6 reviews
.84 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Swakopmund Museum
414 reviews
2.91 miles away
German Evangelical Lutheran Church
28 reviews
2.99 miles away
Hohenzollernhaus
13 reviews
2.87 miles away
Tommy's Tours and Safaris
172 reviews
1.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GaboroneKenneth
28 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Andre v | Property representative |
Hi , Tahnk you very much for the interest shown in our restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant had been temporarily closed due to an interdict obtained by a neighbour after a lengthy legal battle. We are however convinced... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Stint street | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
  • Location: Africa  >  Namibia  >  Erongo Region  >  Swakopmund
  • Phone Number: +264 64 414 528
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on the second floor of the Beach Lodge, with uninterrupted sea-views, beautifully presented delicious food with attentive service in an elegant environment, the Wreck Restaurant offers one of the best restaurant venues in Swakopmund.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing