We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Lunar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
51 Gandhi Road | Near Club Side Taxi Stand, Darjeeling 734101, India
+91 90832 99921
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food makes your holiday a fantastic one. Thats what visit to lunar did to us. Dining and stay at Hotel lunar was superb. Awesome food. Perfect ambience. Superb stafff A great package overall. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank sujata81
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Sujata81, Thank you for your review :) We look forward to serving you again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and me visited this restaurant in the last week of February and we ended up having all our subsequent meals here only. The food is very tasty and the South Indian food is beyond compare. The food served is authentic and fresh. We tried a variety of dishes from dosa to dal, Sabzi and roti and even noodles... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lokesh K
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Lokesh K, Thank you for your review :) We look forward to serving you again. More 

Capriva del Friuli, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Darjeeling town doesn't offer too much quality restaurants (read none) and Lunar is an example: knewn as best in town, tbe food served is very low quality, botb indian or continental, prepared with no care and with the goal of maximizing profits. Almost every dish is precooked (too many options in the menu) and taste is artificial. Like an hard-discount.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ziacristy2014
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear ziacristy2014, We are really concerned that you had a below par experience at our restaurant and would be grateful if you could share further details with us like date and time of visit and items ordered at swatichoudhary.87@gmail.com so that we could look into the matter and ensure that the same is not repeated again. We do hope you... More 

India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best eateries in Darjeeling. very strategically placed right at the entrance of the Mall road on the first floor serving just the right food for the Indian pallete. This nicely decorated restaurant might seem to be a little expensive at the beginning, but the quality and quantity of food is worth the price.Try their assorted pakoda with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sanchita S
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Sanchita, Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again. Do like our page on Facebook :) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017

One of the best Pure Vegetarian Restaurant I had ever visited in Darjeeling. I ordered for Malai Kofta & Kashmiri Nun and I was surprised to get it on our table within 12 minutes, the quality of the food was excellent and it worth the amount they charged. My friend Tenzing had Masala Dhosa and as per him it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aniruddha B
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review :) We hope to serve you again. More 

Siliguri, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This place is so expensive! The rates are those of a fine dining and the ambience & service isn't fine at all. Most of the things we wanted from the menu wasn't available! And the staff also isn't really trained properly. They know nothing regarding the food items on the menu. We had south indian (dosa to be precise) which... More 

Helpful?
Thank priyankakandoi
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Ma'am, We are sorry that you had a below par experience. However, we do hope that you will give us a second chance and visit again. Thank you for your time and review. More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Poor quality paneer rice and dal fry... Too expensive and food quality or taste is not satisfactory... No tv also..

Helpful?
Thank Madhukriti S
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Ma'am, We are sorry that you had a below par experience. However, we do hope that you will give us a second chance and visit again. Thank you for your time and review. More 

Kolkata
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This will be one of the trip which will always be remembered. We a group of 10 people went for the trip. Firstly this hotel is located in the most central place of Darjeeling city from where you can access to any part. It is just bang opposite to Keventers & Jeep Stand. The rooms have nice view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MayukhDutta
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Mayukh, Thank you for your review :) We understand that the stairs are pretty steep to climb and in view of the same the hotel is currently partly under renovation and I am confident that the stairs will not be an issue anymore. Do visit us again :) More 

UK
Level Contributor
561 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We usually stay at the Dekeling hotel on the 6th floor of the building that houses the Lunar restaurant and tend to eat here a few times each holiday because this place is so dependable. In six years of going there, they've never had pizzas and still not taken them off the menu but by now we know not to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Koshkha
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Koshkha, Thank you for review :) We will take up the issue about the pizzas not being available and either make them available or take them off the menu. We hope to see you again :) More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This is one of the few places in Darjeeling which serves only vegetarian fare! We tried the south Indian fare. The dosa and chutney were good, but the sambaar was really unauthentic! We tried the chomien too - and that was reasonably good. Ambience is ok, and the waiter on our table was a kindly old man who was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kartik P
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review

Dear Kartik P, Thank you for your review. We hope to serve you again in the future. More 

Travellers who viewed Hotel Lunar also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Hotel Lunar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Indian, Fast food, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 51 Gandhi Road | Near Club Side Taxi Stand, Darjeeling 734101, India
  • Location: Asia  >  India  >  West Bengal  >  Darjeeling
  • Phone Number: +91 90832 99921
Description
Located in a prime location in the very heart of the city from where everyone can enjoy the real charm and natural beauty of Mt. Kanchenjunga. Well maintained rooms with attached baths, Plasma TV, Telephone and STD facility, laundry & dry cleaning, on call doctor, taxi/car arrangements for sight seeing and pickup/drop, credit cards facility (VISA, MASTER) and all these along with 24 hrs personalized room service.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Lunar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?