We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Coconut

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street | Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
+506 2653 0086
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Service was prompt and friendly. Food was reasonably priced and tasty. Shrimp with avocado appetizer very tasty. Owner was attentive to her guests All in all a good experience

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was good. We felt a little rushed but on the other hand the service was prompt. The owner is a very nice lady. Spent some time with us at the end of the meal and shared some great info about Costa Rica.

Helpful?
Thank Walter M
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What a fantastic place for our final supper in Tamarindo! From the service, to the food, to the location... everything was top shelf!! I cannot say enough about the tuna steak! One of the best meals of the entire trip, without a doubt. Pura Vida

Helpful?
Thank Aloha_No_Ka_Oi
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tropical food with a norwegian twist... or at least with a passionate Norwegian owner. Our family enjoyed a variety of dishes and drinks at El Coconut on our last Costa Rican vacation. Owner and Hostess Katharina oversaw our service and made sure we were enjoying ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank DebTevlin
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

It was a true pleasure to serve you :) Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. More 

Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was great, the food was great, the atmosphere was awesome. We went with our two kids and they liked it too. It is a little on the pricey side but then again, so are most restaurants in Tamarindo. I'd definitely go back. I had the filet and it was obviously fresh. My wife had the pasta primavera and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matchew A
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this nice review :) I have to admit that it is extra special for me when families with children are content. I so wish to give the parents a good and relaxing experience while in El Coconut and your review shows me that we are on the right track. Thank you again :) More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here a couple nights ago. Overall we weren't impressed. We both had the Pasta Del Mar. It was just okay....not worth the high price tag. Everything was super expensive. The service wasn't the best either. It felt like they dropped us after they delivered entrees. There are way better restaurants out there. Don't waste your time or... More 

Helpful?
Thank beyag16
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. This gives me the energy to try to do better! Our service should be prompte and attentive during the whole meal ofcourse and no client should ever feel "dropped" during their dining experience with us. On the pasta del mar side I do not completely understand; We usually receive great... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This food was very underwhelming and overpriced. The ceviche was a genuine ripoff. Don't eat here unless you want a subpar dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience at El Coconut was not more positive. I have to admit that I am surprised that you did not enjoy the ceviche... This is a favorite amongst locals. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Our large group was thrilled with the service and wonderful food at El Coconut. The atmosphere was very relaxing after a long day of shopping. The owner was very involved in making sure we had everything we needed and she was very gracious. I say try it, you'll love it!

Helpful?
Thank Michele D
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this delightfull review :) Hoping you will be back soon again! More 

Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I am currently staying at Witch´s rock surf camp AKA home away from home. We ate at El Coconut 2 years ago for Christmas as a family, and my daughter was begging us to go again. To be fair, we all looked forward to going back the food was excellent the first few times in 2014. Well El Coconut did... More 

Helpful?
Thank John A
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this so positive feed-back. It was a delight to receive you and your family not only once but several times during yous stay here in Tamarind :) Till next time. Katharina More 

Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

While in Tamarindo we walked past El Coconut every day on our way into town and it never looked like there was anyone ever in the restaurant. I honestly don't know how and if they make any money. We did decide to give it a try one night and don't get me wrong the food was pretty good but it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank TMcKenna137
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the restaurant despite your not so great experience. I am truely sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. This review does give me the "punch" to try to do better and I honestly thank you for your sincerity :) More 

Travellers who viewed El Coconut also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Guanacaste  >  Tamarindo
  • Phone Number: +506 2653 0086
Description
This setting could just as well be in LA or Paris; beautiful teak terracing, all handmade wood furnishing and the shining cobber from the bar and the lamps give that warmth and good feeling we all enjoy. The wait staff takes pride in being members of Team Coconut for years. It is their personalized attention that permits them to remember each client and their likings. Nowhere else will you feel as Welcome and Well attended as here. Every day the same words are repeated "The Client is the King". At El Coconut you will also find a truly professional kitchen where the main ingredients are "Heart & Soul". Who could be able to resist an Avocado filled with sauteed Shrimps, A Tropical Lobster prepared with fresh pineapple, raisins and ginger or not to forget the Surf & Turf even big enough to satisfy the hungriest surfer. Where else in Costa Rica would you find a temperate wine cellar of almost 1000 bottles? Nowhere that we know of. Our wine selection goes from the easy drinking Latin American table wines to finer selections such as Chateau Neuf du Pape, Penfold 389 and many more. Our seating capacity is more than 100. We are used to and truly enjoy arranging your special events; be that "The President's Club", incentive dinners, rehearsal dinners or weddings. Let us make your night that special night.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Coconut staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?