We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship & Anchor

) #7 of 30 Restaurants in Orewa ££ - £££ , European,
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-426 1539
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

Great service and awesome food at a great price. I had the seafood platter they called an entree, it was awesome I didn't order a main as I was too full. My husband had pork belly for entree and fish pan fried for mains, he...More

1  Thank kiwichicky40
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Only come here due to a friends persuasion for tap beer Carlsburg with a plate of F&Chips should make a good summer lunch. Portions are generous, but quality poor. Especially off putting was the waitress strong unpleasant perfume, overwhelming our table each time she approached,...More

Thank sheryl joy b
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had our evening meal here and were pleasantly served by the staff who were obliging in explaining the menu etc. The drinks were not expensive and the meal delicious.

1  Thank jazzy65Brisbane
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Went for in for lunch and should have noticed that there was only one other small table of 3 dinning. We ordered the lamb shank and chicken caesar salad. The lamb shank was ROCK hard and uneatable. Despite being only the 2nd table in the...More

Thank outandabout162
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

We are really sorry to hear about your bad experience at Ship and Anchor. I would personally apologies to you as this is really not our standards and we work hard to ensure we serve quality food and best customer service. As you can see...More

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Had to wait quite a long time for our meal even though they weren't that busy in fact they only had one other table to attend to.Our Garlic Bread did come very quickly.When we finally got our meals the Fish and Chips was excellent, our...More

Thank Robert M
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and drinks. We would like to apologies for the wait as its usually steak meals that takes around 20-25 minutes to cook. Also would request you to let the wait staff know if anything...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice food especially the butterscotch desert! The service was very friendly and delivery was prompt

1  Thank SimonKerry
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback.

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely fresh food and fantastic service. Highly recommend. We had the lamb shanks, catch of the day and chicken wrap. All meals were good size portions and fresh ingredients. Great atmosphere and even a peek of the sea.

Thank Sharonzand
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for dining at Ship and Anchor and for the wonderful feedback. Hope to see you sometime soon!!

Reviewed 2 January 2017

Six friends meeting for lunch. We had well presented meals with good variety on offer and at reasonable prices. Staff were very attentive but even though we were the only diners, service was slow. The meals arrived two by two each about 8 minutes apart....More

Thank NZScouse
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for dining at Ship and Anchor. We really appreciate your feedback. Generally we ensure that food is served together on the table but I would like to apologies for the delay. We will ensure that such things are not repeated in future. Thanks...More

Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stopped in here on a Saturday for an unplanned lunch, and we were not disappointed. The decor is a little dated, and the tables are a little close to each other, however, when the food arrived, these little niggles are completely forgotten!. The food...More

Thank sussan59
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for dining at Ship and Anchor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our food. Hope to see you again soon!!

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A few friends and I went for a meal to celebrate the return of a friend back from overseas. Several different meals were had between us and everyone was very happy with their meal. Staff friendly, helpful and (most importantly) courteous! I can especially loved...More

Thank Ian B
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. Hope to see you soon!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar
350 reviews
.04 miles away
Oliver's Cafe
111 reviews
.04 miles away
Kuzina Mediterranean Cafe & Bar
49 reviews
.08 miles away
Micks
129 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Orewa Beach
227 reviews
.12 miles away
Red Beach
8 reviews
1.74 miles away
Wenderholm Regional Park
41 reviews
3.69 miles away
Snowplanet
173 reviews
3.76 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil D
26 May 2016|
Answer
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
Hi, Unfortunately we are not a BYO restaurant.
0
Votes
ngatirehia8
3 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
hi , sorry we don't do any live entertainment on a regular basis and our dress code is casual, Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Moana Avenue, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Orewa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-426 1539
  • E-mail
Description
Situated at the heart of Orewa Beach, We have a great variety of Food & Beverages, all cooked in our own unique style we specialize in fresh seafood and steak. Bring the family along and enjoy our hospitality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing