We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Braided Rivers Restaurant & Bar

££ - £££
Bar, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
246 Burnett Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
+64 3-307 2540
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to this restaurant for an evening dinner. A smaller restaurant but also has a large bar area with entertainment. The restaurant is well supported by local people. The menu leans towards sea foods but includes most of the meat based usuals. Service was ok but was let down by some small delivery errors. We enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank retep42
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for my 10yrs birthday, group of eight, first visit since new owners. We all ordered starters of prawns yum! those of use who shared wished we had ordered our own, chilly and garlic infused the prawns perfectly, topped of with great presentation in its own cast iron pan. Mains ordered were Tacos chefs special 3 designer Tacos each were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only been for lunch a couple of times but both times the food has been really nice and a little bit different. The same young woman has been there and she is friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank wattys4
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

Haven't had a meal at Braided since the new owners took over and it was absolutely well worth the visit. Food was delicious. The venison was cooked with respect and plated beautifully. The bar was full but the service was surperb. Did ring in advance asking if GF was available on dishes and was told yes. However, the waitress gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darryl-Jo
Management response:

Thank you for your balanced review .the gluten free points you mentioned are very valid and we will address them accordingly. Regards, Staff and management Braided Rivers. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Came here for dinner with a group of friends, wish we had chosen somewhere else! Ordered a bottle of wine when we ordered meals. 15 minutes later it finally turned up. There were only 2 other tables occupied in the entire restaurant. Entrees turned up and the waitress spilt one of the oysters off the plate and on to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robson21
Management response:

Regarding this review, we will not waste time or effort giving this review any credence just to say we reviewed c.c.t.v footage, talked to the staff and also spoke to an adjoining table regarding their opinion of this table .As they are regular locals. We all concluded that the aforementioned review was not intended to be honest or meaningful in... More 

Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Looking at trip advisor searching for a place to eat I was not confident we were going to get a good meal tonight, the reviews on most places were mixed with nothing standing out as a must go try. We decided to go try a well known establishment and to avoid disappointment lowered our expectation. Walking past Braided river on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glentc
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The description sounded great but the delivery was appalling! $34 for low quality pub grub! Tasty but very over priced. Waitress was very good though.

Helpful?
Thank darcy1971
Management response:

Regarding "pub grub", Yes when you order a BBQ Pork Belly of a menu in a pub that clearly states I Quote "BBQ Pork Belly served with slaw, seasonal greens & hand cut fries finished with a side of jus" Isn't that what you expect to get? That is what you ordered and this was what you got, but weren't... More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing meal here a few nights ago. They had a group of thirty seven in and a few other tables eating too, so were busy. The oysters were fantastic and the lamb shanks were the best we have had anywhere. The panna cotta was ridiculously good. We couldn't fault the food or the service and will be back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KJChapman
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

The seafood trio was awful. The fish was cold, dry and seemed overcooked. The prawns were obviously frozen from the texture, and they had been cooked in such a way that they tasted of that awful brown goo in the heads. The 'crispy' potatoes weren't, the 'carrot jelly' appeared to just be diced carrots, and probably frozen as well. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary_T_NZ
Management response:

In response to your review which was Sunday night 24-07-2016, we have had a staff meeting regarding the issues mentioned. We have spoken to the waitress Michelle who served your table, during the evening the 3 of you had a good conversation and a good rapport about your travels as Michelle is from Prague. We have also reviewed CCTV footage... More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016

meal was very poor Fish was extremely dry and certainly not fresh. very dim and dark Service not good and once we had eaten it got very cold so guess it must of been time to leave.

Helpful?
Thank Jude312

Travellers who viewed Braided Rivers Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Braided Rivers Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 246 Burnett Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Ashburton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-307 2540

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Braided Rivers Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?