We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant

Salmack Road, | Milkwood Manor, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 5520
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“salmon pasta” (9 reviews)
“sole” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salmack Road, | Milkwood Manor, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 597 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We enjoyed the evening at Lemon Grass a lot! The place has a great setting and friendly staff that gave good recommendations. We had a lovely gin cocktail and good wine with our perfect grilled ostrich/beef/kudu platter. And then the cheesecake.... :-)

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TheMimoux
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We had no reservation and just chanced it. As the inside was fully booked we sat outside on the deck; probably the best place to sit with a great view of the coastline and the people fishing. We had the seafood platter with fish, prawn...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank pieterh313
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten out many times in many places in Plett. Going in season is always risky business. Lemon Grass last night as busy at it was managed to produce delicious food with unique fresh taste that was served in equaled high standard. We choose...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank johnN7556ZA
lemongrassplett, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear John Wow.. Wow .. Wow.. Thank you for your review, You compliments regarding our restaurant are indeed well received by management and the staff, The dishes you mention are some of our best sellers and we are beyond thrilled that you found them evenly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Although expensive it is a great place for a great meal. We book well in advance and always ask to be seated outside (weather permitting). The waiters are super friendly and service is promp. Wine is not that expensive depending on your choice. Food is...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Elna B
lemongrassplett, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elna Thank you for your delightful review and recommendations. We can not wait to welcome you back on your next summer holiday in December. Regards The Lemon Grass Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited two days in a row. Simply superb. Friendly and efficient staff. Delicious food. Good wine list. Excellent service. And a beautiful setting. Highly recommended. Their prawn and chicken curry is superb, but all dishes were great.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cachoc
lemongrassplett, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cachoc We thank you for reviewing us and taking the time to do so... Your comments about our delicious food and good wine list are greatly appreciated. You mentioned that you enjoyed the fish & prawn curry, that is indeed one of our most...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely meal and our waiter was excellent! However the owner was incredibly rude when one of his employees got our reservation wrong. The restaurant wasn’t full and there were many tables for us to be seated at when our reservation was found to be wrong,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Georgie B
lemongrassplett, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Georgie Thank you for your review, its indeed sad that you say that you will not visit our restaurant again, as you have done so for many years. Lets quickly clarify things, at no point was the owner ever rude to you or any...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great meal we had . We ate most dishes on the menu , from starters to mains to desert. Every dish was absolutely delicious . The service was friendly and prompt . Wine was very reasonable with lots of choice We would highly...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Phillip B
lemongrassplett, Guest Relations Manager at The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Philip Wow what a review.... We thank you, for taking the time to review us, reviews like yours makes all the long hours worth it. We cant wait to welcome you back soonest.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of favorite restaurants with our go to meal the Singapore prawn noodles! Excellent. Vanilla pod creme brulee a winner.,

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank BruceHun
lemongrassplett, Public Relations Manager at The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bruce Thank you for your review and your recommendation for the singapore noodles, on your next visit we hope that you will try one of our other signature dishes , Auvior

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting. Service was good and the food exceptional. Kingclip and lamb curry particularly good. One of the pricier options in plett but worth it.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank joetripreviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First found this restaurant 17 years ago when we first visited the area. Still owned by the same owner. Lovely food and great service. Very friendly staff and good value for money. Sat out on the deck , very quiet and relaxing. Hopefully might come...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ilkleygirl
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
405 reviews
.25 miles away
Bayview Hotel
166 reviews
.29 miles away
The Plettenberg Hotel
669 reviews
.29 miles away
The Old Rectory
55 reviews
.44 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Monkey Cafe
31 reviews
.27 miles away
Nguni
759 reviews
.41 miles away
SeaFood at The Plettenberg
238 reviews
.28 miles away
Clare's Cakes & Deli
200 reviews
.42 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
2,139 reviews
.51 miles away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
9 reviews
.57 miles away
Birds of Eden
219 reviews
.63 miles away
Plettenberg Beach
210 reviews
.53 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salmack Road, | Milkwood Manor, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 5520
  • E-mail
Description
Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant is beautifully situated at the water’s edge in Plettenberg Bay, with uninterrupted views of lagoon, mountain and ocean. The restaurant’s open, warm atmosphere is coupled with an exceptional location making it one of Plettenberg Bay’s top restaurants. Visual feasting aside, the award-winning dishes at Lemon Grass are equally delicious. From the freshest dish and seafood to mouth-watering meats and game, all drawing influence from international and traditional local cuisine. Each dish is carefully prepared from the freshest ingredients by our chefs to ensure that you are smiling from the first bite to the last!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing