We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rod and Reel Restaurant and Pub - CLOSED

Castleton Resort | Piesang Valley road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 0165
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good37%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible13%
2 Mar 2017
“Now renamed Pot Luck”
4 Jan 2017
“The View is Great but.....”
Restaurant Hours Closed
Seafood, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Castleton Resort | Piesang Valley road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We were staying at Castleton with some friends and family over Easter and were quite exhausted after our long drive out of Cape Town. It was lovely to sit down in this pub at the resort and have some ice cold beers and watch the...More

Thank Candice N
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The restaurant is stuated on top of the hill with a view of Keurbooms Lagoon and Lookout Beach. Our food was fantastic (we all had fish dishes). But, most remarkable, was the excellent service and hospitality we received from Jamie, our waiter. I can't remember...More

1  Thank JonathanWelgedacht
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Wonderful warm welcome Chicken schnitzel delicious . Service really friendly and what a special touch with cupcakes for 2 ladies without valentines . Would highly recommend

Thank Toni D
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Thank you to Rod and Reel for a warm and friendly service. Great food which was made with love. Happy staff. Jammy you were a great help the whole evening. Will come again

Thank louisewK4867YW
RodandReelPlett, Owner at The Rod and Reel Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you so much fornyour lovely review! !! It always a pleasure having wonderful guest such as yourselves visiting us. I will definitely commend Jamie. Hope we see you soon again..

Reviewed 5 February 2016

25 minute wait for first drinks, my boyfriends beer was off and he had to wait another 20 mins for a replacement. Food came after 70 minutes. Waiter asked if we wanted cutlery...was I meant to eat sole with my hands? Waited five mins and...More

1  Thank Tilly H
RodandReelPlett, Owner at The Rod and Reel Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Good day, i am sorry that you were not happy with your experience at our restaurant, however after lookingthrough previous reviews which you have given it seems that you may want to avoid eating out as a majority of your reviews are extremely negative which...More

Reviewed 31 January 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for the past 16 years. Seen many change of owners. Hope they will inprove

Thank Sanet V
RodandReelPlett, Owner at The Rod and Reel Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Could i please ask what you were disappointed with as you do not specify and therefore we do not know what we are meant to try improve on? Awaiting your response..

Reviewed 18 January 2016

I have a relative who has a place on Casrleton, whilst visiting him one day, we decided to take lunch with my wife and daughter. The lunch was well cooked, the childrens menu excellent value and choice. The restaurant was very good indeed, so good...More

Thank Mark D
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

1hr 45min wait for below average meal. Thai curry in particular was inedible as way too hot. Burger and chips were cold. Service was largely non-existent! Restaurants need to limit their capacity in season to what they can cope with. Unhappy customers = bad business.

Thank Robert C
Reviewed 3 January 2016

A really great place to go have a great meal and sundowners . I highly recommend the restaurant ! Its family friendly and great for kids to .

Thank sammy773
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time here with our family from the UK. The prawns, fish and chicken schnitzel were Excellent; all so tasty. The service from Chantelle and her staff was friendly and efficient, even though they were quite full. They allowed us to bring...More

Thank VanillaGoddess
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Bayview Hotel
137 reviews
1.15 miles away
Grand Africa Rooms
396 reviews
1.18 miles away
Lodge On The Bay
26 reviews
1.30 miles away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
828 reviews
1.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Off the Hook
279 reviews
.96 miles away
The Burnt Orange
84 reviews
.57 miles away
Surf Cafe
115 reviews
.96 miles away
Courtyard Cafe
42 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Water World Wild Waters Fun Park
11 reviews
.57 miles away
Plettenberg Bay Country Club
48 reviews
.07 miles away
GO James Airport & Local Transfers
19 reviews
.14 miles away
Plett Wine Tours
19 reviews
.90 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$3 - US$17
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
08:00 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Castleton Resort | Piesang Valley road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 0165
  • E-mail
The Restaurant that has become a way of life, where quality, service and value are of utmost importance. Our dishes are prepared on order. So sit back, relax and enjoy your meal with us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing