We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

moyo Zoo Lake

1 Prince of Wales Drive | Zoo Lake Park, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 646 0058
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tagine” (10 reviews)
“lamb” (9 reviews)
“bread” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, African, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Prince of Wales Drive | Zoo Lake Park, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Reasonable food at reasonable prices. Staff friendly however could be more efficient. Good setting for the restaurant however the park does have too much litter. If you are outside, you may get irritated by the flies.

Thank 340akashs
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank-you for your valuable review, we will ensure your feedback is used to improve the experience we provide our guests. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came to moyos for lunch as part of the Jhb city tour and what a horrible experience. To List a few THINGS. Terrible service, very long wait for food to arrive. Raw chicken in one meal, incorrect food given vs what was ordered. Would...More

Thank Ian H
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, Thank-you for your valuable review, we are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to the expected moyo standard. Please could you email our management team at zoolake@moyo.co.za so that your feedback can be addressed directly with you. We look forward...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Turned up on a Saturday night with no reservation and we were shown straight to a table. Food was delicious and the steak was moist and well cooked (I don't like rare meat) We had our faces painted and there was a singer to entertain...More

Thank Karen885jc
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for highlighting the great food your enjoyed at moyo! We hope you visit us again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Scenic, peaceful, safe, accessible. Very busy on weekend, public holidays. Dog walking on leads, cycling on around perimeter, not on paths.

Thank Grantrexcycling
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for the 5 star review! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

It was my first time going to Moyo , went here for a year end lunch for work. The atmosphere was great and our waiter was very friendly and efficient. We had the buffet lunch , variety of food accommodating everyone! From meat to seafood...More

Thank M Theresho C
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for the lovely review, we look forward to hosting you again soon! Warm regards,The moyo team

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Moyo Zoo Lake is amazingly decorated bt I believe this to be more of a tourist trap than anything else. Didn't care much for the food at all.More

Thank Jose A
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear guest, thank-you for highlighting our amazing decor in your valauble review. If there is anything else that you feel can improve the quality of the experience we offer, we would really appreciate an email to zoolake@moyo.com and our management team will gladly get In...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Moyo is known for offering food with an African twist. The vibe is soulful, earthy and rhythmic - like Africa herself. Went there for lunch recently and was reminded what a great restaurant it is. The buffet lunch offered loads of salads and starters, plus...More

2  Thank john_mehliss
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank-you for the positive review, we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

The service is good but a bit slow. The athmosfere is relaxed and P an-African.You can enjoj the view at the lake or coose a table in deep shade. Great place

1  Thank Kabrzi
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time. Warm regards, The moyo team.

Reviewed 19 November 2017

As we live in Australia, we planned our engagement party via email. Star and Thando were excellent, so professional, nothing was ever too much trouble and they replied quickly to my emails despite the 9 hour time difference. On the day the room was set...More

1  Thank Jodie F
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time. Warm regards, The moyo team.

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Our one night in town and friends who live here recommended this place for dinner. It's in a quiet neighborhood, set back from the street in a small compound surrounded by trees. There is free parking although by Joburg or ZA custom you still have...More

1  Thank paxa
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time! Warm regards, The moyo team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Johannesburg
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
650 reviews
.94 miles away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
710 reviews
1.06 miles away
54 on Bath
641 reviews
1.07 miles away
Clico Boutique Hotel
206 reviews
1.14 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Croft & Co
39 reviews
.26 miles away
Franco's Pizzeria and Trattoria
118 reviews
.28 miles away
La Boqueria
86 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
South African National Museum of Military History
334 reviews
.87 miles away
Zoo Lake
106 reviews
.08 miles away
Goodman Gallery
15 reviews
.63 miles away
Kim Sacks Gallery
10 reviews
.53 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ann W
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin A | Reviewed this property |
The walk isn't long and if the weather is kind, it will be a very pleasant and scenic walk.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$34
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Prince of Wales Drive | Zoo Lake Park, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 646 0058
  • E-mail
Description
moyo Zoo Lake is a tranquil retreat from the urban hustle and bustle of Joburg. By day moyo offers a relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere; as the African sun sets, cocktails on the deck and fabulous live music set the tone for an extraordinary evening of fine-dining and soulful vibes. moyo Magic gives new meaning to birthday parties and workshops.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing