We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butcher Block

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
+27 31 566 3547
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I love this place, it's a really good steakhouse and has decent seafood options too. Nice fresh design and atmosphere, not your typical hotel restaurant at all. Always had a nice group of people without being crowded.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Savanah S, Marketing ManagerT at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Finally got a table without reservation. We really cant complain about anything except keep improving the standards that you have set. Our food was good and service really good thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Linda_Madlala
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband and I recently visited the Butcher Block for dinner based on raving reviews from our friends. We arrived at 9:00 pm and we were rushed through the menu, told that the kitchen is closing although the restaurant closes at 10:30 pm and asked to place the order as we sat down. Not having looked through the menu properly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathysheo
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Dear Desly (Manageress on duty, 12 January 2017 @ 21:00) Your "quick, brush it off" attitude stinks. Your menu states that you serve baked cheese cake. However, after a piece of tasteless fridges cheese cake landed on my table & questioned the waitress, your response was "We never served baked cheese cake! ". Update your menu!!!! This was my fifth... More 

Helpful?
Thank R M
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

For the restaurant to be at capacity and still provide fantastic food and perfect service; Butcher Block has proven that they have the capabilities of always providing great service. The food as amazing, perfectly cooked, well seasoned and the portion was nothing short of ideal. I highly recommend the blue cheese snails! Thanks for the good time.

Helpful?
Thank Tamish B
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My group of 31 had lunch, great service and food, the staff went the extra mile was almost flawless last 4 guests had a short wait but all turned out good in the end. Food is good can handle from big to small, most of my group having dinner here tonight which is a good sign worth a try

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, thank you for your review! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had to grab a quick takeout as we were rushed for time. The staff assisted us in a quick and efficient manner. We enjoyed the meals we ordered.

Helpful?
Thank T J
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here with the family. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has a great ambience. The staff was friendly and the service was quick. The meal offering appealed to both young and old alike and it tasted simply delicious. It may not be the cheapest option but it is well worth it if you want to treat yourself.

Helpful?
Thank Sane G
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We had heard good things about this restaurant. We found it to be overrated. Food quality is poor, portions are small, their "flatties" are probably local mynahs because it sure didn't taste like chicken! But you still pay for chicken...The service is even worse. Priority is given to closing long before the advertised closing time so ordered items are conveniently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev S
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Hi Sanjeev, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This restaurant has become one of our regulars for lunches and suppers. A regular stop because it was good food combined with great value. However, lunch today has meant we will rethink going back and while we realize it is a busy time with Christmas Parties we were disappointed from various perspectives. The menu had been changed and was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nichewiche
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review. More 

Travellers who viewed Butcher Block also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Steakhouse
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Umhlanga Rocks
  • Phone Number: +27 31 566 3547

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Butcher Block and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Butcher Block staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?