We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerfields River Cafe

R40, Hazyview, South Africa
+27 87 231 0112
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (23 reviews)
“salmon” (5 reviews)
“brownie” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
R40, Hazyview, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Had a quick lunch at the restaurant. Wonderful setting on the river with food to match. The Lamb Caprese burger is recommended - really special.

Thank GvanWyngaardt
Reviewed 4 days ago

Has a quick lunch at the River Cafe - an excellent location with a wonderful view of the river. Food of the highest quality - can really recommend the Lamb Caprese burger

Thank Dentes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked online which was quick, easy and painless. I booked for 11:00 wanting brunch but were not allowed to order lunch at 12:00 which was disappointing. So we had to order from the breakfast menu. It was delicious as usual, just wished they had...More

Thank SueHsieh
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We had a marvelous Sunday lunch in the gorgeous location of the River Cafe. The menu was very small but our choice was easy and we had the seafood tapas which was superb. The salmon was cooked to perfection and the tomato risotto simply delicious....More

Thank Camilla L
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Camilla L Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review of you time and experience at Summerfields Rose Cafe. It was a pleasure hosting you and the staff are delighted by your kinds words. We look forward to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We had a very good lunch on the terrace overlooking the river. The service was slow and the staff somewhat untrained. The menu was limited but the food excellently prepared. We would certainly return

Thank Margaret S
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had sued the spa, which is great and studied to stay for lunch. Menu is quite small but everything was very well cooked and the presentation very different. 2 of us shared one of the meat plata's which was delicious with chicken and pork...More

Thank Stephen K
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Stephen K, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review of your time and experience at the Summerfields River Cafe. The staff are delighted by your kind words and we look forward to host you again soon.

Reviewed 8 March 2017

We were recommended to Summerfields for a romantic valentine's dinner. The setting and welcome were very good but unfortunately it was a set menu that evening which was not really to our taste. Whilst they did their best to find alternatives, it was not as...More

Thank Tim T
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Tim T, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of you time and experience at the Summerfields Kitchen. We do appreciate your review and feedback.

Reviewed 5 March 2017

Went there for husband's birthday. Because of recent rain we actually ate in Summerfields Kitchen but it did not spoil the experience. The food was well cooked and beautifully presented and the portion sizes were not dauntingly huge, as was the case in many other...More

Thank cardaft200
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear cardaft200, Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review of your time and experience at Summerfields. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to have made your husband birthday a splendid one. We look forward to welcome you...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We had a Saturday lunch with family the setting under the trees with the Sabie river full to its brim. The food is platter style made for two and was AMAZING! We opted for the seafood options and received an amazing white fish on risotto,...More

Thank HSdP
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We randomly visited River Café for lunch during our holiday. What a pleasant surprise when we found a beautiful restaurant on a Macadamia farm,nestled between lush trees next to the river. Reasonably priced for such a dining experience. Would recommend to anyone.

Thank Leana P
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Leana P, Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review of your time and experience at the Summerfields River Cafe. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pioneer's Grill
784 reviews
3.08 miles away
Kuka Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge
924 reviews
2.55 miles away
Tanks Bush Pub
84 reviews
1.07 miles away
Topolino's Italian Restaurant
440 reviews
2.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Elephant Whispers
700 reviews
2.46 miles away
Elephant Sanctuary
346 reviews
1.24 miles away
Perry's Bridge Reptile Park
132 reviews
2.59 miles away
Private Kruger Safaris
143 reviews
2.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
793Catherine
10 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AndrevanHeerden | Property representative |
yes, absolutely! please contact reservations to make a booking.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R40, Hazyview, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  Hazyview
  • Phone Number: +27 87 231 0112
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing