We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Blue

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 3, The Promenade, Victoria Road, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 438 9839
Website
Today
09:30 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 485: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We did not book but managed to get a table, in the high season I suggest booking. Shared a seafood platter which was delicious. Staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our experience here was a little disappointing.We came out for a nice evening in Camps Bay and it was not what we had expected. Service : The service is really good which. We had a lively waiter who was really attentive and made the experience as good as he could. No problems there! Drinks : We tried a variety of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Girl_Reviews
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hi there, We are concerned that you have reviewed the wrong restaurant as we do not serve a seafood stew and we also do not take 2 hours to serve meals. One of our strengths is our efficient service. I have spoken to the managers and team and no one is aware of this happening. There are also 3 restaurants... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited four times and had great food with service to match. The menu had sufficient choice and it is on the average price range.on one occasion we unexpected met some friends and in no time at all the tables were merged and our food orders were delivered with ease and friendly smiles from our server. The Serbian manager was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole s
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice dinner at this restaurant and the food was good. Again like in some of the other restaurants here, we thought the service could have been a little more efficient and friendlier.

Helpful?
Thank Redeye38
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in here as it looked lively and busy. Overall the menu seemed pricey but the pizzas were a good price. They turned out to be very tasty and a good size. the service was friendly and unhurried even though they were busy. A good location to watch the world pass by.

Helpful?
Thank Robbie B
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed our pizzas, we love them too! More 

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on recommendation. Food was ok, but over cooked prawns and fish. One of the most expensive meals we had on our trip but probably the worst as the food everywhere else excellent!

Helpful?
Thank KezraB
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. Sorry that you were not satisfied and I hope that you discussed this with the manager on duty so that we could try to assist? We do pride ourselves on excellent value, especially compared to the other Camps Bay restaurants so we are surprised to hear that you felt this way. Kind regards, Dina More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I popped in a yesterday for a relaxed lunch at Ocean Blue and it was exactly what we were hoping for - tasty wholesome food, great service and a lovely view of the beach! Our waiter Mike was fantastic - it takes great skill to be attentive but discreet and he made our whole experience there that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna P
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review Jenna! We appreciate the feedback and will pass on your compliments to Mike. Please may you like our Facebook page and share with friends who may be in the area. Take care, Dina More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been recommended by friends to choose Ocean Blue, we weren't disappointed. Good food. I had the giant tiger prawns, my wife the King Klip. Both were really tasty. The servers were efficient and friendly too. Sitting street side you get great beach & street views; but it can great windy!

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hi Alan, thanks for your review. The Tiger Giants and Baby Kingklip are so delicious, excellent choice. The wind in Cape Town this time of year can get bad thats for sure. Glad you didn't blow away! More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here based on TripAdvisor recommendations and the food was delicious. Service continues to be a let down with having to wave down someone to even get a waiter to order water. The calamari in this area continues to impress me and it was delicious fried and grilled. The personal plates seem the better deal and allowed us to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mackythorn
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hello, thanks so much for your review. We are glad to hear this and hope you had a lovely NY. Apologies though that you did not get the attention you required as this is not acceptable. Kind regards, Dina More 

Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the restaurant was busy, the staff were buzzing about servicing customers needs. The lay out could have crammed more in but it was set out to optimise custom but allow space and good atmosphere. We had fish platter for two which was fresh and delicious. Our service by Igor was beyond first class.

Helpful?
1 Thank billypenn2
OBlue_Manager, Manager at Ocean Blue, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your positive feedback to us the TripAdvisor community. Will pass on your compliments to Igor. Please do visit again soon, Dina More 

Travellers who viewed Ocean Blue also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 22:30
Monday
09:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 22:30
Thursday
09:30 - 22:30
Friday
09:30 - 22:30
Saturday
09:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 3, The Promenade, Victoria Road, Camps Bay, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 9839
Description
Set in the heart of Camps Bay, Ocean Blue is the locals' and travellers' favourite since 1998! Our recent renovations have made your visit more comfortable and with an even better view of the ocean. Superb quality meals, value for money and our friendly team is what keeps people coming back for more. Our selection of fresh seafood, steaks and pizzas, as well our compliment of excellent South African wines will keep the whole family smiling. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 9.30- 11pm. Please call to enquire about specials or find us on Facebook. See you soon, the Ocean Blue family.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ocean Blue and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Blue staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?