We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meloncino

| Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 419 5558
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (352)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (120 reviews)
“tiramisu” (14 reviews)
“osso bucco” (13 reviews)
Opens in 15 min
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Meloncino
1. Amazing service & food
"The pasta and pannacotta were amazing!"
nettiepretorius
See reviews that mention Top restaurant
2. Best view at Waterfront
"Fantastic Italian fare in the heart of the V&A."
Claudette d
See reviews that mention Excellent Italian Food
3. Authentic Italian food
"In our view, this was the best Italian food we have ever had"
T D
See reviews that mention Itsa so good
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 853 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We were craving a nice pasta dinner after having been traveling for a couple of weeks already. We actually came across it on trip advisor. I had ravioli and the lady had spaghettoni. I thought it was very very poor and struggled to finish it....More

Thank Inspiration733381
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We found this restaurant on recommendation from a family we are traveling with. Excellent choice if you visit the waterfront in Capetown. Beautiful views of the water and Table Mountain from all seats. Staff were very attentive, made us feel comfortable. The pasta dishes we...More

Thank Lisa H
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Lisa H Thank you for the amazing 5 star review. The Team is thrilled to hear you had a lovely time from the food to the service. All our pastas are made fresh on a daily basis and are authentically Italian. Please thank the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Our first time at Meloncino and pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. The Sicilian fish and Salmon pasta were great choices. Wayne and his team are good hosts.More

Thank Marilet B
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Marilet B Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and that Wayne looked after you. We hope you are a converted Meloncino fan and we see you soon. Kind regards Paolo Carrara...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Each visit was a very pleasant experience. Great views and delicious food(better than in Italy). Will definitely visit them again and again!More

Thank DVenterCPT
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear danielventer84 Just wow! Thank you for the 5 star review and all the kind words. We strive to be as authentic and modern as possible. It was a pleasure hosting you and we cannot wait to see you on your next visit. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband is not a Pasta fan, but i am, so i had to trick him into Meloncino for supper before a movie. I naturally ordered the Mince bolognaise on el dente pasta which was just like home-made. My husband ordered a meaty pizza, thin...More

Thank Debbie M
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Debbie M Thank you for the lovely review on Trip Advisor. It is so refreshing to hear such kind words on both the food and service. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to all who made your experience memorable. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. Hosted by Wayne and assisted by Josh. Service and food very good. Only complaint was Sea food pizza was very sparse on Sea food. Great value for money.More

Thank Laurence B
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Laurence B Thank you for review and the lovely feedback. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Josh and Wayne. Thank you for the feedback on the seafood pizza, we will investigate the matter immediately. Thank you once again and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This venue has a good view of the rear area of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with a nominal view of Table Mountain in the backdrop. During non-rush hours, one may be able to secure a seat close to the windows to get an even...More

Thank Shane G
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Shane G Thank you for joining us and the review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you found the food, view and service good. We appreciate the feedback on the host seating you and we will bring this up at our next...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a quick dinner for four, the pasta was good and tasty and the waiter was very friendly, the bread was a bit dry but the desert was nice and the restaurant atmosphere was great. The prices are good and there are lots of...More

Thank Aviv S
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Aviv S Thank you for the review and the lovely feedback on the pasta and the dessert. We apologise regarding the bread. We make all our bread daily but we will look into this. Thank you for the feedback as without it we cannot...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a heavy and late lunch, several of us were hoping for a light and tasty meal. This restaurant was recommended by the hotel concierge but failed to fully meet our expectations. While the waiter was friendly, the minestrone soup was quite bland. Fortunately, each...More

Thank 1Trippermonth
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 1Trippermonth Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are terribly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. This is clearly not the norm for us and we take this sort of feedback very seriously. Please can you be so kind...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second or third visit and Meloncino consistently delivers great Italian food. It is, however, the service from all the staff that blows me away every time. I always leave here feeling special. The staff seem to delight in looking after you from...More

Thank Jane W
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jane W Thank you for the support during these Winter months in Cape Town. We value each and every local that visits our venue. We will be sure to show the FOH team your review as they will really appreciate it. Thank you once...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2,653 reviews
.11 miles away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,730 reviews
.17 miles away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
225 reviews
.17 miles away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
810 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Baia
2,727 reviews
.03 miles away
Karibu
2,244 reviews
.01 miles away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,197 reviews
.04 miles away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
957 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11,250 reviews
.09 miles away
The Springbok Experience
500 reviews
.16 miles away
The Cape Wheel
875 reviews
.13 miles away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
97 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Meloncino staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 419 5558
  • E-mail
Description
Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria Italiano. Experience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape Town. Meloncino Restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish decor creates an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapes, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing