We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meloncino

| Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 419 5558
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (108 reviews)
“focaccia” (9 reviews)
“osso bucco” (11 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 320 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016

Worst meal by far,after two weeks in Cape Town. The caprese starter ,hard tasteless tomatoes covered in a white goo,it was awful.two had Pasta with bolognaise sauce,which was tasteless,and could not eaten.l had the signature pasta dish which just ok. The first two picks off...More

2  Thank Derek T
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Derek T We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience while visiting us during your two week stay in Cape Town. In our caprese salad we use a specialised cheese called Burrata which is specifically made for us as well as...More

Reviewed 4 January 2016

The place is in a grate location in the V&A Waterfront. VIP view to the Table mountain, The Wheel and the harbour. We had a table outside even that was cold and windy,but the warm fluffy blankets supplied by the restaurant did it all. Pizza...More

Thank 262Blondy
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear 262Blondy We are thrilled to receive a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor as well as being "the best steak". All our meat is 6 weeks matured and grain fed. This allows our meat to be extremely tender and taste amazing. I will be...More

Reviewed 4 January 2016

Nice italian resturant on the waterfrount. The views are good if you sit outside but you would need to reserve before hand. The starters are good and they have a selection of meat and pizza for main. The desserts are were so appealing so we...More

Thank kit1978
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear kit1978 Thank you for rewarding us with a 4 star on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see you had a positive experience with us and we hope to see you in the future. Kind regards Paolo Carrara Co-owner

Reviewed 4 January 2016

This restaurant is in a great location in the V&A Waterfront. We had a table inside, but if the outdoor tables are available then you will have a great view. We went to the restaurant for pizza. The pizza is a nice thin crust. There...More

Thank pop43435
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Molly O Thank you for taking the time and expressing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that the service you experienced was below standard. As you are aware you joined us during peak season. We were serving a...More

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

The Scene: after a busy day sightseeing we decided to have a night in with a takeaway. We found Meloncino on TripAdvisor as a good takeaway restaurant. Positives: the friendly waiter sat us at the bar and kept us updated on our order. Pizza arrived...More

Thank lostinLondon522
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear lostinLondon522 Thank you for visiting our establishment during your stay in Cape Town. I will be sure to pass on the kind words to both the waiter and pizza section regarding your positive feedback. We have won awards for our pizzas and all our...More

Reviewed 3 January 2016

Visited Melonchino in morning of NYE asking them to cater for dairy allergy and onion/garlic intolerance. Hostess was very accommodating and offered to cater for our needs using an ingredient we provided. She oversaw the whole process and ensured no problem ingredients were used. Nothing...More

Thank cjfb7
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear cjfb7 Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass the message onto Erin who assisted you during the entire process while visiting our establishment. We are an extremely hands on establishment and we...More

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

****GOOD THINGS**** : * Great tasteful food * Amazing view of the waterfront * Great wines * Great hospitality * Nice and relaxing experience * Tripadvisor award for exellency recipient ****NOT SO GOOD**** * The beer was warm * The waiter forgot spesific cooking instructions...More

Thank Eduan L
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Eduan L Thank you for dining with us at Meloncino during our festive season. We are thankful for all the "good things" you have stated and appreciate all the constructive criticism you have given in the "not so good" section of your review. We...More

Reviewed 2 January 2016

Here on New Years Day, the service was quick, the food was lovely, and the atmosphere was special. Excellent wine selection. A bit pricey for South Africans.More

Thank Marelize_Schoeman
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Dear Marelize_Schoeman Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure hosting you on New Years day and that you felt the service was quick and the food lovely. We understand some of our prices are pricey due to the Rand...More

Reviewed 31 December 2015

have been in at Meloncino a few times during my last visit to Cape town. Really enjoyed the food a lot.. good Wine selection.

Thank AMS-BKK
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear AMS-BKK Thank you for your support during your last visit in Cape Town. We appreciate every customer as well as the great feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Paolo Carrara Co-owner

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Meloncino is in a great location on VA waterfront with open doors to show the amazing view. The food was gorgeous, my partner described the chicken I had from the grill, as the best he'd ever had, I enjoyed it too! The service was excellent,...More

Thank MStanleyLondon
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear MStanleyLondon Thank you for the 5 star rating on Trip Advisor as well as the kind remarks. It was only a pleasure hosting you. I will pass on the compliments to the chef. We hope to see you soon and all the best for...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2,393 reviews
.11 miles away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,599 reviews
.17 miles away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
209 reviews
.17 miles away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
740 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
3,247 reviews
.10 miles away
Baia
2,427 reviews
.03 miles away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
846 reviews
.01 miles away
Karibu
1,659 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
9,373 reviews
.09 miles away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
460 reviews
.16 miles away
The Cape Wheel
758 reviews
.13 miles away
Nobel Square
289 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Meloncino staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 419 5558
  • E-mail
Description
Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria Italiano. Experience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape Town. Meloncino Restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish decor creates an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapes, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing