We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kyoto Garden Sushi

11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 422 2001
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tempura” (23 reviews)
“rice” (22 reviews)
“sushi” (80 reviews)
Open Now
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 30 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We were soaked to our skin and my grand daughter said to us "We can't go in there, it is too fancy". We opened the door and were warmly welcomed and had a wonderful delicate meal.

Thank Proseccovaldo
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We booked for the three course winter special at R200 pp. What a disappointment! The tuna tartare starter was tasteless. The tempura was good. The two main courses: ramen noodkrs with duck - the duck was poor quality. The other main - fish with spicy...More

Thank Reddy6
Eamon M, Guest relations. at Kyoto Garden Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Reddy, Thank you for the feedback. But we're bemused. Have you got the right restaurant? Maybe you ate somewhere else, and got us confused with that place? I ask because you write that you had a 3 course winter special for R200, and fish...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We went to try the winter special, I having never experienced Japanese cuisine before wasn't too sure what to expect. The dishes were perfectly sized and paired. Loved the Edamame - delicious and perfect for between courses! The vegetable tempura is a must-try and the...More

Thank Tatum A
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Me and my wife visited Kyoto on Friday evening, and were absolutely delighted with what we would call the complete dining experience. Upon arrival, we were instantly made to feel welcome by the polite group of staff - a theme that continued throughout the evening....More

Thank tomhead91
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The food was excellent. Delicate flavors, delicious meal. Sushi and sashimi was extremely fresh. Will definitely be back

Thank masumay
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have heard a lot of good things about Kyoto Gardens and have been wanting to visit for aaaaages! What had put us off in the past were the prices and fear of not finding anything suitable and substantial to eat for my vegetarian boyfriend....More

1  Thank Jasmin N
Reviewed 7 August 2017

For a sushi place that is rated the top in Cape Town, I find this very hard to believe. The prices were extremely overpriced for what you get, we left there feeling very unsatisfied, empty and having spent far to much for what we received....More

Thank Lorenzo P
Eamon M, Manager at Kyoto Garden Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Lorenzo with two reviews? And the other is another sushi restaurant, to whom he gives 5 stars. We can see right through you.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We have eaten here several times and the food is always exquisite. I particularly enjoy the tempura and the sushi. But the service is appalling. I had a waiter almost slam the door in my face after my husband entered the restaurant (I was right...More

Thank interio
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Had I had a normal experience here, meaning avg to good service (although at restaurants like these, I expect great service), I wouldn't have bothered to review and instead would find myself revisiting. Long story short, I liked everything about this place but the one...More

Thank janekimjiyeon
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

While the quality of the sushi is undeniably exceptional, it is not three times better than other sushi restaurants in Cape Town and shouldn't cost three times more. Throw in the wait staff's frosty attitude and...not worth it.

Thank Matthew H
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
391 reviews
.00 miles away
Cape Cadogan
757 reviews
.13 miles away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
426 reviews
.16 miles away
More Quarters Hotel
609 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Miller's Thumb
1,910 reviews
.00 miles away
187 reviews
.16 miles away
Arnold's Restaurant
740 reviews
.10 miles away
466 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Labia
88 reviews
.24 miles away
Great Synagogue
23 reviews
.38 miles away
Amber Tours
144 reviews
.34 miles away
Cape Discovery Day Tours
50 reviews
.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Craig N
11 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Eamon M | Property representative |
Hello Craig, no problem. Please just ask when you are seated. Regards.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 422 2001
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing