We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haiku - V&A Waterfront

Victoria Wharf | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 418 5700
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good35%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“peking duck” (4 reviews)
“curries” (5 reviews)
“pot stickers” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Victoria Wharf | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is probably one of the best in the very busy Waterfront area. They always make a plan to get you a table. There are two options- Indian or Chinese. The tapas style Chinese menu is excellent. Try the orange glaze duck or peking...More

Thank elsiemariam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch - 2 adults, 2 kids. The waiter was inattentive and indifferent, and not very knowledgeable about the food offering. You have to order sides such as rice or noodles at additional charge. Individual dishes are expensive as is. Food was warm...More

Thank Trackur
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere to it and view of the waterfront. The food was OK, not bad at all but nothing extraordinary. What was disappointing was the service- our waitress was extremely friendly, yet unfortunately we had to ask for napkins, get our...More

Thank Anna N
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Disappointed with this restaurant. Glasses were dirty. Drinks took very long despite restaurant not being busy at mid week lunch. Dimsum was tasty. Mains had to be reheated as was cold. Has lots of potential but clearly poorly managed. Definitely a miss at the V&A...More

Thank Mayaven
Haiku_Management, Manager at Haiku - V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Mayaven, Thank you for your feedback, it is thanks to customers like you that we can improve our service. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your meal and we hope we can make it up to you if you decide...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Visited what was an amazing restaurant last year three times it was amazing ! Returning this year there was no management the food was bad the wine tasted acidic the manager was not bothered ! It's extremely sad how run down the place has become...More

Thank Janine A
Haiku_Management, Manager at Haiku - V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Janine A, Thank you for your feedback, it is thanks to customers like you that we can improve our client's experience. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your meal as this is definitely not the standard we want to...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We went for a few drinks before our dinner reservation - we were dining with people who did not enoy sushi so we went there before they joined us. After telling everyone we were there just for drinks we were told (after our drinks arrived)...More

Thank Kresta H
Haiku_Management, Manager at Haiku - V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Kresta H, Thank you for your feeback, we love to hear our client's opinions so we can improve our service. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your experience as this is not the usual standard of service we like to...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

An interesting blend of food that can resonate with varied tastes. It's important to know one's preferences or the menu properly explained before ordering. This way one will not be disappointed when taste buds have not left the taste of particular cultures. Not the cheapest...More

Thank abkarolia
Haiku_Management, Manager at Haiku - V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Abkarolia, Thank you for visiting Haiku and writing such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We were looking for something oriental to eat tonight and found this restaurant on the first floor of the Waterfront area. We were greeted by lady in uniform taking us to one of outside tables we asked for. After a while she took our order...More

Thank Richedwin
Haiku_Management, Manager at Haiku - V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Richedwin, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your meal as this is not the usual standard we want to provide our consumers. We hope we can make it up to you if you ever...More

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Great location and talking from an ex-pat point of view have always found good Chinese food in SA very hard to find, this place is the exception, good dim sum and crispy duck. Service good and I've always found the manager there to be very...More

1  Thank davidfisher9799
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The squid dish was a stand out. All dim sum were good and prompt service. I felt for the waiters a bit who seemed to be being constantly checked up on by an over zealous floor manager. The waiters were doing a great job and...More

Thank Tonto&Tabitha
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brownies and Downies
124 reviews
.22 miles away
Simply India
7 reviews
.14 miles away
Col'Cacchio Pizzeria Foreshore
368 reviews
.22 miles away
ON19
136 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Town International Convention Centre
344 reviews
.26 miles away
Hoerikwaggo Table Mountain Trail
22 reviews
.17 miles away
Out There Tours
36 reviews
.21 miles away
Auriols Tours
58 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haiku - V&A Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Wharf | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 5700
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing