We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quayside Cabin

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lower Slipway New Harbour, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 313 0752
Today
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a hidden gem, delicious fish, delicious wine and a great ambiance beside the sea.Good menu with a nice choice , cooked well. One of our favourite spots!

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We, at first visit, tried a platter for 4 and.......If you wish to try this, go hungry. There was nothing on the platter that was not great and also, there was mor than enough for everyone. We tried to go aging twice but one understands the limitation in size of venue and the attention to quality. Not the One and... More 

Helpful?
Thank FriendofGrand
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the outside, it looks dull and plain. No aircon, but fresh sea breeze. Food and service much better than anticipated. Be warned - mostly fully booked during peak season, booking is essential. Food is excellent and portions generous. Calamari is their speciality and is highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank mandi744
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here Christmas Eve. We were the first ones through the door at half 6. We had just been on the vineyard tour so we were both ready for some serious food. Boy, we weren't disappointed. My partner had the warm Prawn cocktail for a starter and I can't for the life of me remember what I had. We both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very rusty. More than rusty. Like eating on the beach. You are going for seafood and simple drinks. Big portions. Reasonable service for simple place. Very busy in this time and you need to book. But parking is easy. Enjoy simple tasty ocean catch.

Helpful?
Thank krzysztofm57
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is where you expect a seafood restaurant to be. Right on the harbour. The fish is fresh, catch of the day really is catch of the day. Next time I would stick to rice for a starch, the fries were very bland. A very rustic experience.The atmosphere is also very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marda P
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Small and intimate setting. Decor and position make it very authentic. We had the scampi and fish cakes as a starter, both were fresh and extremely tasty. We ate the seafood pot and the line fish, prawn and calamari combo. The portions were well above average and the food was fresh, well prepared and delicious. Definitely share a main portion... More 

Helpful?
Thank Quinton R
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us went for lunch and I could not believe the food was better than 2 weeks ago when we last visited.My piece of Cob was out of this world.All 4 of us were extremely happy with the dishes we ordered.The view is great, the service fantastic, the price very reasonable and a man size portion which I love.Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank A213BCjohnr
Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was recommended to us - we would never have gone on our own initiative It was truly terrible -one did not know what one was eating calamari or chips as it all tasted the same like old batter cooked in very old reused oil - I specifically asked the waitress if this dish was crumbed and she said no... More 

Helpful?
Thank 173alexandra
hermanusharbour, Owner at Quayside Cabin, responded to this review

We are so disappointed of your experience. We can assure you that we don't use cherry tomatoes nor do we use very old used oil. We do not crumb our calamari. We are truly sorry of your experience. Regards Quayside team More 

Brits, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service, food and staff are to complimented. Service and attitude of the waitress were exellent. The food were fresh well prepared and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Gerriedj007

Travellers who viewed Quayside Cabin also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Quayside Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
19:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Slipway New Harbour, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 313 0752

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Quayside Cabin and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Quayside Cabin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?