We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 313 1685
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

961 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 800: English reviews
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at Pentola after we were booked in to buy our B&B. Watch out for one of the steps on the staircase that leads up to the restaurant. The inside could do with some investment, it could be fantastic but is dated. This didn't take away from the quality of the food, it was fresh, great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henry's D
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .The tiramisu is one of my favorite desserts . More 

Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

There were flashes of brilliant cooking - the bread roll was wonderful, warm and tasty and the seafood linguine was well-cooked with a tasty garlicky sauce. However, the tables were too close together and it was far too noisy. Someone commented that there was hardly anyone with food in front of them and it was nearly full! I asked the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky225
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.I am glad you enjoyed the food & i am also very grateful we are so busy .I suggest if you visit us for lunch if you like a quieter dinning experience. More 

Funchal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We have just had an excellent evening at La Pentola with delicious food and great atmosphere. My husband and I had a light lunch there yesterday and returned this evening with five friends. I loved the springbok carpaccio followed by a Cob fish and the Lindt Chocolate Mint Terrine was the perfect end to the meal. Our evening was made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackofansh
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .You made Henry super proud! More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This is our second viait to this restaurant and we enjoyed again even more. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Great service. The food was well prepared and presented at reasonable prices .Good wine, soft music. what more can one ask? We highly recommend it amd we will return.

Helpful?
Thank stanmar567
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The service we received from young Stephen was excellent. We never had to look for him and he had a positive and energetic presence. The food was delicious! We tried the beetroot carpaccio and decided that it is a winner. Both of us had meaty main dishes which was wonderfully prepared. When our meals were served the alcohol around the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jody K
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & celebrating your partners birthday with us.My favorite part of my restaurant is also the FOOD that is after all why I became a chef.I look forward to your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Ate here on our first night in Hermanus. I chose this restaurant after looking at the top restaurants in Hermanus on trip advisor and liking the menu and photos of La Pentola the best. We were not dissapointed! The service and food was excellent! For starters we tried avo ice cream for the first time and it was delicious! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monique R
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review you make our whole team very proud! More 

Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Busy Sunday, town teeming with tourists. Suddenly we see narrow stairs and the name La Pentola. Got a window table with spectacular views over the see. Very efficient and knowlegable service. Very good food. Got to meet the well known chef Sauvage. Signed his book. One of our best impromptu experiences during our 3 weeks in South Africa.

Helpful?
Thank Brekkan
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for you review & I hope you love cooking my recipes now that you are back home .See you next visit to South Africa perhaps my new book will be ready :-) More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017

we had a table booked at la pentola for 7-30 and were looking forward to going , we arrived around 7-35 and were told that our table was still not available and would not be for approx. 30 mins or so , this was obviously disappointing but the waiters comment which followed was a jaw dropper ! we were asked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davidnQ1809AI
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

I think you misunderstood my floor manager .We do not have a bar or waiting area so when you asked if you could wait & have a drink he suggested that you have a drink at the pub across the parking lot & come back in 15 - 20 minutes when your table is ready as the other guests were... More 

Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

15 of us ate after golf. Staff super helpful and evening view superb. My sole was superb although wife though her salmon a little salty Great atmosphere although did get noisy!

Helpful?
Thank John H
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

I am afraid some people get excited when they visit us so my apologies for it being a little noisy.Thank you for your review. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Had the most divine seafood at this restaurant. The setting is perfect. Neat and clean and very accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank bronwynn193
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Travellers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$16
Cuisine
International, Seafood, Mediterranean, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:30
Thursday
10:00 - 22:30
Friday
10:00 - 22:30
Saturday
10:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 313 1685
Description
La Pentola established in 1995 has a breath taking panoramic view of Walker Bay, the birthing ground of Southern Right Whales. The perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood & Abalone, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, Tender T-Bone, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Pentola and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Windhoek
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from La Pentola staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?