We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa
+27 28 313 1000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (39 reviews)
“sole” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Contemporary, Fusion, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 80 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2015

The Marine hotel in Hermanus is something of a legend. And was a favorite spot for Sunday lunch for many years when I lived in Cape Town. Of course it has undergone many changes since then but the quality of the service and food and...More

Thank Harage
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

My sincerest apologies for what was clearly a poor experience. We have rectified the issues with the booking process and you will be delighted to hear that we have totally refurbished our public restrooms. They now look magnificent. I do hope you will return in...More

Reviewed 8 May 2015

Beautiful venue , superb service.Food was delicious. Recommend Cob.Choice of wine very good and dessert excellent.Surprisingly well priced would go again.

Thank wylliecat
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for another delicious meal. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 19 April 2015

We visited the Seafood Restaurant at the Marine a few years ago and had such a wonderful experience, we returned for another meal the following day. We decided to pay it a visit on our recent trip to Hermanus - what an utter disappointment !!...More

Thank Moira M
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015

I need to apologise for what was clearly a very disappointing evening for you however if I may answer in our defence. Red tide is a very real occurrence and the fact that we for a short period cannot offer oysters and mussels I feel...More

Reviewed 15 April 2015

The food is very good and well priced but the wine prices are outrageous. We live in a wine producing country and the restaurant is situated in a wine region. It is greedy and unnecessary to charge such exorbitant prices. The service was delightful.More

Thank 891gail
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015

Thank you for your constructive comments about our food and service. We work hard at ensuring you have a memorable experience. I am however sorry that you feel our wine charges are exorbitant. I assure you that they are in line with any establishment of...More

Reviewed 30 March 2015

Too noisy and pretentious. Food well presented but not especially tasty. Also, expensive for S Africa prices.More

Thank Shawlang
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We aim to to suite everyone`s taste with our menu and ambiance. I have of course spoken to our chefs about ensuring the food offering is of the finest quality. Kind regards Hamish...More

Reviewed 22 March 2015

What a great place. The restaurant is in a spacious a bright room. We were shown to a really good table in the corner of the restaurant with a window view. The service throughout was attentive without being overbearing. We each ordered half a dozen...More

2  Thank JJN29
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you for your exceptional comments. We are indeed one of Hermanus`s top restaurants yet affordable for all. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 10 March 2015

Spent avert pleasant evening here with friends. Food good but not exceptional as there are so many good restaurants in this area.

1  Thank Paul M
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank for your positive feedback. Indeed there are many fine restaurants in Hermanus and we honoured to be amongst the best. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional meal. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

The food was excellent including the mussels, the rich man's fish and chips and their version of Eton Mess. The service in the restaurant was slick but the same can't be said of the service when we arrived - the worst being the unfriendly barman...More

Thank Louis H
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us but distressed to hear about the poor service you received in our bar. This has been addressed and rectified and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 26 February 2015

The Marine has two restaurants and Seafood lives up to its name. Fish and shell fish, well prepared . Modern decor and friendly atmosphere with open views to kitchen from certain tables. Staff are efficient and service speedy. We dined here on three occasions ....More

1  Thank mangerbien
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you for your positive comments. Indeed our Tandoori Linefish is a popular favourite. We do however take orders up to 21h30 every evening. Looking forward to welcoming you back Kind Regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 15 February 2015

I was so looking forward to my crayfish thermidor, it was so expensive with about 3 teaspoons of meat, there was a sour taste in the sauce, the waiter was nowhere to be seen , eventually the chef came and the acknowledged that he had...More

Thank InezzPatel
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your Thermidor although I am sure that there was substantially more than 3 teaspoons of meat. I will ensure that our chefs re-look this recipe to ascertain that all is in order. I do hope that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Betty Blue Bistro
305 reviews
.09 miles away
Pear Tree
828 reviews
.14 miles away
Fusion Restaurant
705 reviews
.15 miles away
The Cuckoo tree
175 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hoy's Koppie
97 reviews
.39 miles away
Lembu Gallery & Studio
56 reviews
.27 miles away
Cape Whale Coast
20 reviews
.37 miles away
The Whale House Museum
114 reviews
.21 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$20 - US$30
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa (Formerly Seafood at The Marine)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 313 1000
  • E-mail
Description
True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing