We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morgenhof restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 889 5510
Website
Today
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

We came in for lunch after an incredible day of horseback riding through wine country with Capetown Horse Riding. We dined on the patio among the peacocks and loved the dramatic backdrop: a view of this gorgeous wine estate. It does not get any better than this! We both had the filet and we shared a big ol' bottle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Heidelberg South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

My son and I had a superb Sunday lunch at Morgenhof. It was a typical winter's day in Stellenbosch...rainy and cold, but we had a crackling fire and very good service, not to mention the generous portions (drinks and food), to cheer us up. The best port (fortified wine) that I have ever had... Portions are so generous, therefore we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annelie G
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and yes our fortified wine is the best! More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Morgenhof is a very pretty wine farm with an amazing underground barrel cellar. The wines are generally very good with the Cabernet Franc being particularly good. The wine tasting server was very knowledgeable on his subject. The lunch service was quite slow and the food was decent without being anything special. Overall a pleasant place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank atomic_mass
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it! More 

Kuils River, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

We had a great experience while also buying wine, the service is great and the food is excellent, will go back there anytime!!!

Helpful?
Thank 629johant
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo there! We would like to thank you for your review of our Estate recently! We hope to welcome you back soon again! ;-) More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2016

lovely, nice people, nice views and nice food. We have been before and would certainly go again next time we are in Africa

Helpful?
Thank Deborah_L123
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! ;-) More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2016

Mothersday lunch Good antipasta starter pity about store bought bread. Disappointing not having all Morgenhof white wines available. Lamb cuttlets more fat then meat. Kudu Fillet dry with bland du. with springbok wontons dry and after being deepfried too long, Very average for high price meal with warm wine with ice added to chill

Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueso
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jacques, Sorry that you had a bad experience at Morgenhof yesterday. Very much to our disbelief we were faced with an unexpected power failure which lasted for several hours and resulted in many problems on the day, i.e not being able to bake fresh breads and serving warm wine. I assure you that this is not the norm and... More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Spoiled ourselves to a delightfully, romantic breakfast for our wedding anniversary. We were the only guests and received a beautiful glass of bubbly to celebrate our 24 years together. They set a table for us outside in the little courtyard with peacocks watching over us. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was divine! Perfectly poached eggs and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LizelDV
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Lizel, Thanks for the kind words! We are very pleased that you had a great experience celebrating your wedding anniversary! Please call again soon for your "wintry lunch" - our winter menu is about to be launched in the next few weeks! ;-) Regards, Anita More 

Patna, India
Level Contributor
355 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2016

what a beautiful place with beautiful weather for an outdoor Sunday lunch. I went with the lamb chops (generous portion of very tasty food). I went with the suggested wine pairing (in this case a Merlot). Things went incredibly well together. Service was great!

Helpful?
Thank fozjon
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo there! We would like to thank you for your lovely review! We are known for our excellent food and wine service at Morgenhof and would like to build on this reputation. We hope to welcome you back soon! ;-) Kind Regards, Anita Streicher Nel (Marketing Manager) More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

I told my wife, this was one of the tastiest meals I have ever had. She agreed. I said this must be a 5star experience. She said “hang on...” and pointed out that we were sitting on green PVC poolside chars, under an old rickety awning in a dusty gravel pit. The service was, in my opinion, world class. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charl F
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Charl, We thank you for your honest review, with constructive feedback! ;-) Kind Regards, Anita Streicher Nel (Marketing Manager) More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
215 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place with a lovely garden and a stunning view of the mountains. Wine tasting is R50 pp for five wines. Take a stroll to the dam in the garden to see a range of colorful birds.

Helpful?
Thank ChristianFrantz
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review Christian, we really appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Morgenhof restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Morgenhof restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
African
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 889 5510
Description
http://www.morgenhof.com/

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Morgenhof restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Morgenhof restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?