We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Pommier wine estate & leisure

) #175 of 201 Restaurants in Stellenbosch ££ - £££ , Vegetarian Friendly
Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 885 1269
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good30%
  • Average23%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“oxtail” (5 reviews)
“ribs” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

A trip for Sunday lunch was rewarded with a really good experience. Can not wait to get back there. A cold rainy day was welcomed by the cosy inside seating. Service was a bit on the slow side, but we were there to relax and...More

Thank BenK2x1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well i can't comment on the food because after an hour of waiting it was still not served. Dealing with the staff was like dealing with home affairs. I would not recommend le pommier to anyone. Go somewhere else- seriously.More

Thank Carla R
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really sorry if you had a bad experience when visiting us for lunch. You should have complaint to the manager on duty as this is unacceptable. Please let me know when you visit us again and I will make sure that we make it up...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over at the cottages,wich was great , but was a bit disappointed with the restaurant. Friendly staff, a few things on the menue had not been served, as at dinner , it was not ready as yet, whic does not really make sense, other...More

Thank Estelle D
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am really sorry that you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the bad experience at the restaurant. You should have spoken to the manager on duty, and I am sure they would have made an exception for you to order dinner from the lunch...More

Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We invited family for lunch at Le Pommier after not being there for many years. The venue is at such a beautiful spot but the service was shocking and the quality of food was not up to standard. The food took forever to come out...More

1  Thank Andriette B
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Andriette I am really sorry if you had a bad experience at our restaurant. We strive in giving our guests a special experience when visiting us and your experience is unacceptable. When you visit us again, please let me know and I will make...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Le Pommier is always good to go to when one is unsure of what one wants to eat. Their chicken supreme is outstanding, their burgers great and their fish and chips delicious. Steak is not their forte, but good service makes up for it.

1  Thank Karin K
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Karin Thank you very much for your review. I am not sure if you tasted our steak yet ? I suggest you order the bone marrow fillet when you visit us again. Regards ELMIEN

Reviewed 16 March 2017

The Scenery is beautiful in this area and we went for Sunday Lunch. Their prices are average and I decided to try the pork belly but was very disappointed - we didn't bother with dessert. Don't think we'll bother with a return visit.More

1  Thank MiloDexter
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So sorry to hear that you were not happy with your meal. we have a large menu and I am really sorry if you made the wrong choice. If you decide to return, please let me know and we will try and make up for...More

Reviewed 5 March 2017

Dropped by there on way to Graff (only to look & hobnob with the affluent!) Had table in the shade - temp c. 32 degrees - and sampled local dishes of Bobotie and Potjie ..delicious. Also had some local starters to whet the appetite. Like...More

Thank Deltablade
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your feedback and are very glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Thank you also for the good recommendation. Regards ELMIEN

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the lodges (which are more than amazing) and therefore we had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Every time we had to wait for an hour for Some food. The food itself is ok, but nothing special.

Thank Lvhart
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

We thank you for your feedback and apologise if you had a bad experience at our restaurant. Your comment about the slow service have been noted. Regards ELMIEN

Reviewed 22 January 2017

The service was so bad that I had to get up and find a waiter to bring us some more drinks while we waited for our meal which took way too long to arrive. When it did arrive it was awful. The prawns were soggy...More

1  Thank Derek L
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Dear Derek I am really sorry that you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. To enable me to take the necessary action, would you mind to please contact me on 021 885 1269. I will discuss the matter with you further on the...More

Reviewed 16 January 2017

A great place to try some South African specials. In our party we tried the bobotie and the potjie. Both were very tasty and the portions were huge. A few of us had the malva pudding for desert, which was a bit disappointing (my custard...More

Thank Martin D
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I must apologise for the tasteless custard. I will discuss with the relative kitchen staff as this is unacceptable. Regards ELMIEN

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fat Butcher
324 reviews
1.63 miles away
De Warenmarkt
77 reviews
1.68 miles away
The Vine, Glenelly Bistro
25 reviews
.70 miles away
Decameron Restaurant
228 reviews
1.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lanzerac Wine Estate
136 reviews
.81 miles away
Glenelly
40 reviews
.86 miles away
Stellenbosch Toy & Miniature Museum
17 reviews
.57 miles away
Lanzerac Spa
23 reviews
.78 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Pommier wine estate & leisure staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$2 - US$14
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 885 1269
  • E-mail
Description
Country Style Cape Vineyard Lodge and Restaurant. Child friendly with petting zoo. Ideal venue for intimate weddings and small conferences.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing