We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville

££ - £££, British,
School Lane, Denmead PO7 6NA, England
+44 23 9226 5984
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (11 reviews)
“calves liver” (3 reviews)
“tartare” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
School Lane, Denmead PO7 6NA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2018

Saying farewell to my sister, her husband and daughter as they went back to NZ after visiting us. I asked my other sister to recommend a place to eat as I was a bit out of date with the local pub/restaurants as we tend to...More

Thank Norman B
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We are four past our sale dates, who have lunch together every week somewhere in Dorset, Hampshire, Wiltshire and West Sussex. Today’s visit to F&H was one of our very best experiences for some time. A great welcome from Jackie but not full in the...More

1  Thank oldboydurston
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We have enjoyed two Sunday roasts at this pub and both have been excellent. Fresh vegetables, delicious meat and hearty gravy. The waitresses are helpful and friendly too which makes dining a pleasure.

Thank Lesley C
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Been here a few times now and every time the food and service are excellent, great choice of beer as well.

Thank craiglane2018
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

I wrote a review a while ago saying that the food was a bit dry. Went again with mum and dad and chose the cottage pie this time. It was delicious! My dad and husband had pie of the day which was also amazing and...More

Thank RamblingReviewer
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Decided to give the Fox and Hound a try after a recommendation from friends.i must say we were very impressed we received great food and great service and we will most definitely be returning.The roast beef dinners were spot on,loads of melt in your mouth...More

Thank Megan Hewett J
Reviewed 3 May 2018

This pub still serves very good food, and lots of it. There is a fairly extensive menu, backed up by daily specials. We had a very warm welcome and friendly service.

Thank pforr306
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We visited The Fox and Hounds for the first time this week, and enjoyed an excellent meal. All our meals were cooked beautifully and presented well, and arrived promptly after ordering. Service from the serving staff was very good and friendly, as was the welcome...More

Thank RetiredBritz
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Only popped in for a late lunch sandwich as we were going to have an evening dinner. Selection of real ales was great and the snacky sandwich choices served in baps, focaccia or baguettes was fabulous. We ordered different sandwiches and when they arrived were...More

Thank oldnick2018
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

It’s a nice pub but I was very disappointed with the food. My starter was served after everyone else in my party had finished. The main problem was the burger and fries both of which were as dry as you can imagine so much so...More

Thank RamblingReviewer
angier329, Owner at The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you thought your burger and fries were dry and that your friend thought her chicken tikka was dry. I recall you did complain during your visit, but only after you had eaten it all leaving...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Denmead Hotels
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
292 reviews
3.97 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth
29 reviews
4.26 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
600 reviews
4.28 miles away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,357 reviews
4.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Harvest Home
147 reviews
.72 miles away
Shalimar
288 reviews
.54 miles away
The White Hart
259 reviews
.87 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Furzeley Golf Club
17 reviews
1.40 miles away
Hambledon Vineyard
50 reviews
2.05 miles away
The Southwick Brewhouse
27 reviews
2.62 miles away
The White Horse Droxford
31 reviews
4.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nick W
29 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from angier329 | Property representative |
Hi there We treat dogs as good as customers.
1
Vote
XH558-lover
6 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WelshySwindon | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don't know but phone them.
-1
Votes
Anton1939
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Martin L | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure if there are any concessions for OAPs on a Sunday as we have never eaten there on this day of the week. The cost of meals varies depending on your choice but are average for a pub and, in my opinion, of a... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: School Lane, Denmead PO7 6NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Denmead
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9226 5984
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled on the edged of the village overlooking farmland to the Forest of bere, our decor is warm and fresh with antique country furnishings & cosy log burner to snuggle around during the cold winter Months! Predominantly local & seasonal produce always delivered fresh daily to include produce from our own allotement kitchen garden. Our Menu offers an eclectic mix of modern and traditional country Pub food with a daily specials board to tempt you with more interesting dishes. We keep a great selection of well kept local ales (cask marque awarded,) fine wines, premium spirits and malt whiskies. We serve vintage afternoon cream teas and cater for high tea parties of 10 or more(bookinga only),all served in vintage bone of course! We're a different kind of country pub with genuinley friendly service! We like our Pub & very much welcome all good happy people and try us, you may like us too! Wellies, dogs and foxes welcome!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing