We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Nestled on the edged of the village overlooking farmland to the Forest of bere, our decor is warm and fresh with antique country furnishings & cosy log burner to snuggle around during the cold winter Months! Predominantly local & seasonal produce always delivered fresh daily to include produce from our own allotement kitchen garden. Our Menu offers an eclectic mix of modern and traditional country Pub food with a daily specials board to tempt you with more interesting dishes. We keep a great selection of well kept local ales (cask marque awarded,) fine wines, premium spirits and malt whiskies. We serve vintage afternoon cream teas and cater for high tea parties of 10 or more(bookinga only),all
PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
147
43
19
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
147
43
19
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie sunday roast mash fish and chips steak calamari the pub lunch with friends specials board fantastic evening varied menu car park landlord pubs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

Shared three of the takeaway pizzas and they were all delicious. Great value , friendly service would definitely recommend

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

Great food and a very personal service The staff were very helpful and accommodated for our needs, adjusting the menu to reflect a fussy eater 😊 Great surroundings and will definitely return soon

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 September 2020

Four of us visited the pub for lunch. The Covid precautions were in place and we felt perfectly safe. We all chose different meals. When they turned up the presentation was beautiful. The meals were perfectly cooked and really tasty. We had good service from...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 September 2020

Visited for lunch yesterday. Good Covid precautions, and friendly staff but food very so - so. Starter was over cooked. One main course also overcooked and Thai Chicken curry was pretty tasteless. Needed more spices to qualify as a curry. Such a pity to write...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

Since pubs reopened we have visited this pub on numerous occasions and found it to be as friendly as it could be. Great service and an amazing range of beers. The owner is extremely accommodating and helpful. Despite being pushed to their limits during eat...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 August 2020

After quite a few meals at this nice pub, we where disappointed ,having taking 2 relatives with us for what we thought would be a good meal. A table was booked for 13.15, it took more than 20 minutes for a staff member to come...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
angier329, Owner at The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Hi there Nigel, We are sorry to each that your visit this time was not to our usual standards. There has been a lot of media coverage on the problems that Pubs and Restaurants are experiencing due to the government Eat Out To Help out...More

Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

Love this pub, nice and friendly for us and the dog and doing the best they can during covid. The pie is awesome as always and good value. We had the landlords new recipe of beef steak, mushroom, onion and gravy... good work Steve! If...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 July 2020

Our first visit since the reopening after lockdown and we thought that the covid precautions were very well thought out, easy to follow and very well explained. Outdoor seating well spaced, a good welcome and felt safe.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
angier329, Owner at The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2020

Thank you for coming back to visit to our Pub! We really appreciate your comments about our covid-19 precautions and that you felt welcome and safe. Our customers and our staffs safety is paramount.

Reviewed 5 May 2020

Scrumptious roast dinner, 10 meals delivered & still hot. Will definitely be ordering again. Many thanks to the staff.as we are in lockdown cannot fill in the questions

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?1  
angier329, Owner at The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2020

Thank you Suzannah we are really happy to hear that you all enjoyed your Sunday lunch delivery!

Reviewed 2 March 2020

Very friendly, nice staff, great atmosphere. The service was good and there's plenty of space in the car park. The coffee was quite expensive and stopped me from buying another, but otherwise, lovely pub.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
462 reviews
4.07 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth
30 reviews
4.26 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour hotel
806 reviews
4.28 miles away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,558 reviews
4.29 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Harvest Home
207 reviews
.72 miles away
Shalimar
362 reviews
.54 miles away
The White Hart
383 reviews
.87 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Furzeley Golf Club
21 reviews
1.45 miles away
Hambledon Vineyard
93 reviews
2.07 miles away
The Southwick Brewhouse
37 reviews
2.62 miles away
The Crafty Chocolatier
87 reviews
3.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nick W
29 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from angier329 | Property representative |
Hi there We treat dogs as good as customers.
1
Vote
XH558-lover
6 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WelshySwindon | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don't know but phone them.
-1
Votes
Anton1939
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Martin L | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure if there are any concessions for OAPs on a Sunday as we have never eaten there on this day of the week. The cost of meals varies depending on your choice but are average for a pub and, in my opinion, of a... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville
    How is The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville rated?
    The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4