We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms

Market Square | Roscommon Town, Roscommon F42 WA22, Ireland
+353 90 662 6954
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“soup” (3 reviews)
“lamb” (2 reviews)
“scones” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Irish, European, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Market Square | Roscommon Town, Roscommon F42 WA22, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was going through so decided to give second chance Had the famous lasagne drie over cooked not great the chips where bland not great teasting felt that wasn’t great for the price at the end of day lasagne is one of cheeps things to make...More

Thank Teamore31
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Ate here twice both visits were fab. Lots of choice on menu. I hadn't made a reservation. Great location, lovely staff

Thank gwaygirlie745
Reviewed 15 April 2018

It is very difficult to get a cup of coffee anywhere in Ireland before 9:00 am. So we were happy to see that Gleeson's is open early, likely because they also have rooms so people stay there overnight. The place is very nice, simple elegance,...More

Thank Imelda49
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We visited your restaurant on Saturday evening ( x4 ) at 8pm. We inquired if we could be served Tea & Sandwiches. I have to sat the staff were more than friendly and only too happy to serve up our requirements. your establishment leave little...More

Thank Gerry H
Reviewed 17 March 2018

When for some food the Caesar saled wasn’t great the goujons had taste of like curry sauce mix which would enyone put that with Caesar dressing and think it would work spiced doesn’t mean curry friend had burger was bland no flavour dried out the...More

Thank Teamore31
Gripen56, Owner at Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Teamore 31 ..We were disappointed to note that you didn't enjoy your meal. .However I would like to point out the description of our Caesar salad as on the menu A CHICKEN GOUJONS CAESAR SALAD -Homemade Lightly Spiced Chicken Goujons, Cos Lettuce, Parmesan Shavings,...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

I had business lunch there today. I ordered a Chicken Caesar salad. It was terrible. the chicken was battered and deep fried. It also tasted of curry. How any chef could serve it is unbelievable.More

1  Thank bren D
Gripen56, Owner at Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Bred D ..We were disappointed to note that you didn't enjoy your meal. .However , this complaint may be due to the fact that you didn't read the description of our Goujon Caesar salad as stated on our menu A CHICKEN GOUJONS CAESAR SALAD...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Went here for a Christmas party and the food was fantastic the steak and potato gratin were amazing. Staff very friendly and lovely atmosphere

Thank Teresa H
Gripen56, Owner at Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Teresa.. Thank you very much for your lovely review We were delighted to host your party ...I will pass your compliments to our hard working team & Thank you for the business

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

This review is just for the quality of the lamb served for Sunday lunch, it was terrible, so much so that I was unable to cut parts of the portion with the utensils provided. It was so tough due to the multiple sinews throughout the...More

1  Thank 76NoelK76
Gripen56, Owner at Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Noel. I don't know what to say ..I had the lamb on that Sunday with an extended family and friends group and it was perfect .We are renowned for the quality of the our Roscommon Lamb . I am disappointed that you had a poor...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I had an impromptu lunch in Gleesons today as we passed through Roscommon enroute an appointment in Athlone. We had visited before for work and liked the vibe so were hoping to enjoy a return visit. Actually, we were really, really impressed...More

1  Thank Mary C
Gripen56, Owner at Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Mary C .Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant experience with us and thank you for your high praise on the food. We pride ourselves on being a " Home away from...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Will definitely be returning for breakfast. The menu is extensive and yet very moderately priced. I got the breakfast bap and it was very tasty and very obviously freshly cooked to order. The ketchup was not in a bottle but a separate serving. The staff...More

Thank sunnyd8865
Gripen56, Owner at Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review & that you enjoyed your breakfast with us . We use local free range eggs , Kelly's of Newport puddings, & of course all our breads are baked in house.. It is very relaxing to read the...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Roscommon Hotels
Abbey Hotel
738 reviews
8.86 miles away
Hannon's Hotel
256 reviews
9.53 miles away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
157 reviews
13.98 miles away
Shearwater Hotel
868 reviews
14.27 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tierney's Bar
12 reviews
.18 miles away
Les Petites Tartres
125 reviews
4.25 miles away
Mother India
20 reviews
4.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Town and Country Interiors Athleague
22 reviews
4.24 miles away
Derryglad Folk & Heritage Museum
272 reviews
10.87 miles away
Battle of Aughrim Interpretative Centre
10 reviews
15.22 miles away
Roscommon Castle
146 reviews
9.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
07:00 - 21:00
07:00 - 21:00
07:00 - 21:00
07:00 - 21:00
07:00 - 21:00
07:00 - 21:00
07:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Square | Roscommon Town, Roscommon F42 WA22, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Roscommon  >  Roscommon
  • Phone Number: +353 90 662 6954
  • E-mail
Enjoy a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere in Gleesons Restaurant & Rooms fully licensed Manse Restaurant in Roscommon Town while sampling the best food and drink that Roscommon has to offer. With a variety of steak, fish and chicken dishes, fresh vegetables and a selection of delicious daily specials, our restaurant lets you discover the best of local Irish foods brought to life. We also use organic produce and provide gluten-free, heart healthy and vegetarian alternatives. At Gleesons Restaurant in Roscommon we use food from local butchers and farmer's markets and are proud to be able to support our local food producers. If that’s not enough, Gleesons also offer an extensive wine list with a number of organic and exclusive wines available to us from smaller artisan vineyards.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing