We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Truffle Coffee Shop and Boutique

Barclay House Bath Terrace | North Road, Seaham SR7 7EZ, England
+44 7947 876571
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (49 reviews)
“quiche” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Barclay House Bath Terrace | North Road, Seaham SR7 7EZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Myself and friend visited the truffle cafe.it was very clean,staff were very friendly and helpful.We found it very relaxing and the cakes were gorgeous.There is also a clothes room at the back of the cafe.They sell some very smart trendy items at reasonably prices.

Thank Audrey P
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

If you want to try the best scones in Seaham, look no further than the Black Truffle, cakes are delicious too and very friendly staff with the addition of a lovely shop, my two favourite things in one place, home baking and retail therapy, what...More

Thank mrsbarwocle
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I've visited black truffle on many occasions since it opened for coffee and ice creams with my children. The ice cream sundaes used to be lovely...Cornish creamy ice cream...not the same variety as lickety splits but the taste and quality was better. Coffees have also...More

3  Thank duffers5215
karensunderland, Owner at Black Truffle Coffee Shop and Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hi I find your comments to be very surprising . Everyone has a different palate for coffee and we do get a lot if excellent feedback . If you did get a coffee which you said wasn't a flat white you should have reported this...More

Reviewed 26 February 2016

Missed my favourite coffee shop first visit for quite a while but again not disappointed. Had broccoli and Stilton soup just the job for a cold day like today really tasty and warming, left a little gap for pudding dime bar cheesecake to be precise...More

Thank Happy H
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

After a long walk we popped in the black truffle for a warm drink,after entering the truffle there was no warm welcome.after sitting for 10mins we got up and went to counter to order as no one came over,we made our order only to be...More

1  Thank dh247jfh
karensunderland, Owner at Black Truffle Coffee Shop and Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hi sorry you felt there was no atmosphere . That's not the general comments from majority of our customers . That's one thing we pride ourselves in being very friendly and welcoming . As for the service we have signs up and find this system...More

Reviewed 20 January 2016

Dined here at lunch time trying the soup and scone combination costing £4.95. Average size bowl of soup, we tried the cheese and broccoli and carrot and coriander. Both were okay but the accompanying cheese scone was very good. Also do sandwiches and panninis costing...More

Thank durhamd
Reviewed 12 November 2015

After being a regular customer at this cafe & boutique I am left appaulled at the customer service , I bought items from the boutique several times which suited but after buying items that I had to return it is a different story very unhelpful...More

2  Thank PaulaGabby
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Enjoying coffee and eats isn't all this cafe has to offer as there is a little shopping area which has tempted me a number of times, 4 handbags later plus jewellery and candle stand. Relaxing atmosphere and decent menu, it's all you need

3  Thank smartlady49
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

after visiting the black truffle cafe recently with my friend and our babies we overheard the boss saying 'do they think its a creche' and as a regular customer this really annoyed me and left me feeling very angry. I assume they give everyone with...More

5  Thank lucymaefairx
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Visited my favourite coffee shop today treated by the usual friendly staff lovely warm atmosphere and home made scones. Had to go for cherry and coconut which I've never had before they were absolutely amazing, who needs chocolate??? Perfect cappuccino what more can you ask...More

1  Thank Happy H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Humbles
340 reviews
.10 miles away
The Lamp Room
674 reviews
.06 miles away
Downeys of Seaham
337 reviews
.13 miles away
Ashoka Indian Restaurant
355 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
World War One Soldier Sculpture
628 reviews
.05 miles away
The Serenity Spa
236 reviews
.79 miles away
East Durham Heritage & Lifeboat Centre
80 reviews
.26 miles away
War Memorial Cross
15 reviews
.24 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
angelaB2583VK
7 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from karensunderland | Property representative |
Hi sorry unfortunately we don't allow dogs in
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$8
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Barclay House Bath Terrace | North Road, Seaham SR7 7EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Seaham
  • Phone Number: +44 7947 876571
  • E-mail
Description
Black Truffle Coffee Shop offers a warm and friendly atmosphere and serves a range of hot and cold food including sandwiches, soups, paninis, jacket potatoes, salads, quiches, pies and a selection of homemade cakes and scones. Why not come with friends or family for a coffee and browse in our Boutique?
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing