We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gatehouse

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kellard Place, King's Lynn PE30 5DG, England
+44 1553 766671
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Used to go here lots when it first opened but it just started getting bad. We last went here July 2015 and the meals were so bad we got refunded for one of them that was totally inedible and the other 3 of us were very ill that night. Telling staff we wanted a steak cooked so there was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank drucilla100
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great family place to eat good value for money and staff very friendly and helpful. We use to eat there three tomes a week .But went this friday to have our big fish night and me to finish with mint madness and they had changed the menu and when I went home with no fish for my cat she wasn't... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank johnmT6019HV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst meal I have ever had! Used to enjoy this place, but now staff don't handle complaints make up excuses! Food is either over cooked and under cooked! 40 minutes to wait for a ice cream! Dirty tables only wiped over not cleaned properly! Will not be visiting for a very long time!

Helpful?
Thank Astra95
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

Astra95, I'm sorry to hear your recent visit was a disappointing one. I was under the impression that the issues you incurred were addressed at the time of your visit by providing a refund and an explanation behind the shortfalls. I do hope you understand we were trying to provide you with an explanation behind the issues you encountered to... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Be prepared for large plates of food...we have eaten here once before and It did not disappoint, all the family had different food choices, and each one looked great...and all agreed delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

Susan S, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. I'm happy to see everyone enjoyed themselves and the food was well received. We do take bookings, both online and over the phone should you wish to book in for another visit again soon. Regards Donna Crawford General Manager 01553 766671 1728@greeneking.co.uk More 

San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

regular lunch with wife and grand daughter every two weeks at very friendly premises !!!!! Will be returning there again

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank 333websites
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

333websites, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. The team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your regular visits. I do hope you enjoy some of our new tasty dishes we've added to our menu. Regards Donna Crawford General Manager 01553 766671 1728@greeneking.co.uk More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I visited the Gatehouse this evening, 25th February and we were quite disappointed, disappointed being an understatement. So much so I don't even know where to begin. When we first arrived we were not greeted or even acknowledged. We waited a good 10 minutes before we were spoken to. They then told us that there was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank tiffanyjane98
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

Tiffanyjane98, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such an insightful review. Your comments will certainly be used to provide the necessary training which will address the shortfalls you mention. I would like the opportunity to further discuss your visit and would welcome a call or email if you could spare the time? It is our intention... More 

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wish I had taken more notice of the reviews on Tripadvisor but wanted to get close to the hotel to eat. I had a mixed grill, plate cold, chips not cooked only thing that was warm was the steak, no cutlery so asked to get some for us, it arrived in only what I could describe as a slop bucket... More 

Helpful?
Thank TPandJP
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

TP and JP, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. There's detail within your review that allow me the opportunity to address the issues with the team and ensure a greater level of knowledge that ultimately provides a better experience. Hot food on hot plates is a basic requirement and I will take... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for nice cheap cheerful meal as often eat at hungry horse. My wife had macaroni cheese with garlic bread and I had basically hunters chicken. My wife's came out burnt on top and garlic bread was rock solid. The waitresses were good and understanding and had a wait but got replacement meal, but arrived after I had finished mine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin J
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

Martin J, I'm sorry your recent visit was tainted by some very basic errors on our part. I do hope your previous enjoyable visits display our usual great service and food and we will get the chance to welcome you again soon! Regards Donna Crawford General Manager 01553 766671 1728@greeneking.co.uk More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

We had are main meal come before are starters. And the then the main was cold when we got it. The steak was not cooked. And then my husband got his food before I got mine back so we didn't eat together.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank tracywZ2000BL
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

tracywZ2000BL, I'm sorry to hear of your recent disappointing visit. I would love the opportunity to further discuss the details surrounding your visit to enable me to take relevant action to improve future visits for all of our guests. I look forward to hearing from you, Regards Donna Crawford General Manager 01553 766671 1728@greeneking.co.uk More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I popped in for a lunch time meal both had fish and chips with mushy peas the fish was good the chips were fair but the mushy peas were cold I could not eat them, I complained to the waitress and all I got was I will let them know in the kitchen no manager or supervisor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this review

Colin C, I'm sorry to hear cold peas spoilt your visit. Ultimately the issue should have been addressed by the waitress at the time of your visit by highlighting your complaint to a manager or offering you a fresh meal. I'm sorry this didn't happen. Your comments will go some way to provide training to our waiting team in order... More 

Travellers who viewed The Gatehouse also viewed

 
Dersingham, King's Lynn
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Gatehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kellard Place, King's Lynn PE30 5DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  King's Lynn
  • Phone Number: +44 1553 766671

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Gatehouse and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
kings lynn
over a year ago
5 months ago
Downham Market, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Gatehouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?