We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Wells Crab House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
38 Freeman Street, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1BA, England
+44 1328 710456
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 15:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 681: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had the most delightful meal here recently. Ate lobster and brill, amazing. We are delighted that Kelly and her team have managed to retain the excellent service, presentation, food quality and portion size despite an apparently ripping summer when they were full every night. I am not going into detail, you just need to get in there ( if... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesJackson24
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delighted to have found this seafood restaurant in Wells-next-the-Sea during a week in Norfolk. Friendly professional service, fantastic fresh seafood. Had a selection of delicious fresh oysters, crayfish and smoked eels followed by haddock and local ice cream. Would really recommend it. A real treat and reasonably priced too.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us about your experience and we are very pleased that you found us and enjoyed your visit and best of all found us great value. See you again soon. More 

Beeston Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for dinner with my family and we all ordered different dishes. The food was great quality (we had seafood dishes), the wine selection complimented the dishes and the service was excellent. The ambience was lovely too. A great experience and my only regret is that we should have taken some photographs - maybe an excuse to come again!

Helpful?
Thank Bal T
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

We love excuses to come again and am very pleased you had a great time with us and enjoyed a wide selection from our varied menu..... We look forward to seeing you again soon with your camera ready. More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived in Well with two hungry kids - just needed food - the crab house was opposite the town car park - so tried our luck for a table - there were surprisingly many (though when we left it was full). The staff were very welcoming in an English way and bent over backwards (being excellent with the kids) -... More 

Helpful?
Thank powell_jonny
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear we made you all welcome as customer care is very important to us and we love knowing that you enjoyed our chefs offering too. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Simply fantastic for both food and friendliness. Decided whilst staying in Dersingham to visit Wells. Saw the sign for the restaurant 200m from the harbour. Really glad we did. Will be coming again when next we visit this amazing village. Thumbs up guys- keep up the fab work.

Helpful?
Thank Gary P
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

Simply thank you.... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came across this place from a friend who had said they'd been here on Facebook. So with both myself and hubby being fish lovers we thought we'd give it a go as we only had to travel from King's Lynn and we was wanting to go somewhere different for my birthday treat. Certainly didn't disappoint. We started with an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah1964_11
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

So lovely to hear you came on a recommendation and that we lived up to your expectations. Always lovely to know a birthday was made good and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited before when on holiday in Wells when gave it a top rating. However since Kelly and Scott have taken over everything is even better and would rate it higher if I could. The service is excellent and staff very knowledgeable about all the dishes. We shared the fish platter one night which was brilliant and beautifully presented,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bambi212
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear you loved what we have created and I glad you found us knowledgeable as this is a very important aspect I continue to strive with our team to aid customer satisfaction. See you next time your this way... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Staff were great, the Food mediocre, the wine OK, the no children after 7pm rule not enforced. Trouble is that eating places in Wells are limited. (Avoid the Pheasant)

Helpful?
1 Thank mordern21
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed by your experience with us and I will be getting the kitchen to investigate the Pheasant as I want all our diners to be happy. I am sorry you dislike children whilst you are eating but we do allow children at all times, our policy is simply no toddlers under... More 

Malvern
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All the omens were good - good welcome, friendly ambiance, attentive service. The prices were high - but eating in Wells is very expensive - so we accepted them. The problem was the food - not nearly up to the standard expected. For example, the smoked haddock starter turned out to be two croquettes with a very sparse amount of... More 

Helpful?
Thank smithslawn
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am very sorry to hear all your party of nine did not enjoy all the food as we would have quickly responded on the night as you mention our service as attentive. Our kitchen team take all feedback and review dishes and this will be the case especially with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I came here in march for my birthday meal and we couldn't fault it. Lovely 'fishy' decor and we were made to feel welcome. So on another weekend trip to Wells, I decided to make a reservation two weeks beforehand. We arrived at 7pm as booked and were surprised to see a very sparse room with a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank timetoexploreagain
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this review

We are very sorry we could not make you happy after you enjoyed the Café style so much previously but I am surprised the changes came as a shock to you as you made your reservation online which shows our menu and pictures. We always want to make our guests happy and we did offer you three other tables with... More 

Travellers who viewed Wells Crab House also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Wells Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$44
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Gluten Free Options
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38 Freeman Street, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Wells-next-the-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1328 710456
Description
A Seafood Restaurant open for lunch 12pm-2.30pm and evening meals 6-9pm with Sundays open 12-3pm. Newly refurbished.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wells Crab House and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Wells Crab House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?