We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • The 12 Best Seafood Shacks in Scotland | VisitScotlandvisitscotland.com
  • The 12 Best Seafood Shacks in Scotland | VisitScotlandvisitscotland.com

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, British, Scottish
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
231
106
43
30
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
231
106
43
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half lobster seafood mussels chowder harbour wall garlic butter sunny day chips benches van wind takeaway
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Brilliant seafood and chips right by the sea. Obviously a well known/popular place and with good reason. May look like small portions for the cost but so good it is worth the money. Home-made Lemonade great too

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

Have been to the Lobster Shack for a few years now, this was my first time back since covid. I ordered a fish burger with double dipped chips, my partner had the tacos with chips and added bacon... The burger was pretty good - fresh...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited North Berwick and visited the Lobstwr shack. I ordered half a lobster and chips. I got about 10 chips and 3cm of lobster for £20. I really wasn't impressed. This place is a rip off. Other similar places in Scotland offer far better...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
NetherAbbey, General Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear lornadon65, We are sorry to read that you did not feel we provided value for money on this occasion. If you are ever in the area again and wish to give us another try, please do email me on yvonne.lobstershack@gmail.com. Very best wishes, Yvonne

Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

Went to lobster shack on 2nd may 2021 waited in a queue for over hour 20 mins for my meal and from the picture of my meal you can see one bite and it was gone tasted really nice but value for money terrible am...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
NetherAbbey, General Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Dear I9653EBjohns, Thank you for leaving this review. Sorry to read that you did not find us value for money on this occasion. Your comments are greatly appreciated as they will continue to help us to improve our offering to our valuable customers! If you...More

Reviewed 2 May 2021

Me and my partner went to visit the lobster shack and we ordered half a lobster and chips each. The portion sizes aren’t that great considering the price but we wanted to splash out and try Lobster. The queue wasn’t too bad and weren’t waiting...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
NetherAbbey, General Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Dear vanessacB9429VG, Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for writing up your experience. We are so saddened to read your review and to learn that you felt unwell after a visit to us. Please do send me an email to yvonne.lobstershack@gmail.com...More

Reviewed 1 May 2021

Took a wander down to North Berwick for the day and had heard great things about the lobster shack. However I was really disappointed. I ordered the half lobster and chips and think I got about 2/3 spoonfuls of lobster meat and a few chips....More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
NetherAbbey, General Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Dear 892joannag, Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for sharing your feedback with us in relation to your recent visit. We are deeply sorry that you did not feel that we provided value for money on this occasion and have most...More

Reviewed 5 April 2021

We just happened to be down by the harbour at noon on a blustery Saturday and spied the shack. A bit early really for lunch but we had to try the fish and chips. Absolutely the perfect position for a seafood van and a little...More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
NetherAbbey, General Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear Cal food, Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the fish and chips! I'm afraid we can't change the weather but our sheltered seating area does reopen again soon so you'll have to come back and try it...More

Reviewed 22 March 2021

Lovely location and really tasty food, Fish taco was amazing , the mussels were so tasty with a lovely sauce and there was a really good portion ( obviously reflected by the price) , didn’t get the chance to enjoy the view while eating it...More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
NetherAbbey, Owner at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Dear CaroleMHamilton, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this five star review! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the food and will certainly pass your lovely comments onto our Chef. It can get a little windy down by the Harbour...More

Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

Picture the scene, a cold autumnal gale blows over the picturesque seafront of North Berwick. Chilled to the bone and soaked through you think there is nothing that can turn this day around. But that’s when you spot it, the warm glow of The Lobster...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
NetherAbbey, Owner at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Dear mikeymanoatmeal, Apologies that it took us a while to respond and thank you for this review. We are wondering if you could write all of our reviews as this is certainly up there with the best! Thank you for taking the time to paint...More

Reviewed 15 September 2020

Typical Scottish weather (blowing a hoolie) meant eating outside at the harbour was not an option for us( although a few hardy souls were) but can’t praise the seafood chowder we took back to eat in car enough. One of the best have tasted with...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
lobstershack2, General Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Thank you for your recent review. Typical Scottish weather. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Yvonne

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
No12 Hotel
253 reviews
.19 miles away
The Folly
45 reviews
.42 miles away
Nether Abbey Hotel
411 reviews
.68 miles away
Marine & Spa North Berwick
2,910 reviews
.78 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Osteria
662 reviews
.22 miles away
Cucina Amore
602 reviews
.18 miles away
Buttercup Cafe
287 reviews
.24 miles away
The Puffin Bistro & Wine Bar
322 reviews
.25 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Scottish Seabird Centre
981 reviews
.05 miles away
North Berwick Harbour
62 reviews
.03 miles away
Coastal Communities Museum
34 reviews
.23 miles away
War Memorial Garden
17 reviews
.42 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lobster Shack staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lobster Shack

Yes, The Lobster Shack offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Lobster Shack offers delivery services.

The Lobster Shack is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5