We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Boston Tea Party Honiton

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
53 High Street, Honiton EX14 1PW, England
+44 1404 548739
Website
Today
07:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 07:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 379: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been visiting the Boston tea party in Honiton since it first opened, and our visit has always been enjoyable. But today was a different experience. The cakes on open display do not offer a hygienic situation as staff lean over the display to serve customers. If you are suffering from a nut allergy and fancy a slice of... More 

Helpful?
Thank kayse5
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great atmosphere. Super food. Lots of choice. Welcoming staff. A real treat as a stop over on a journey. My husband and I both chose the scones. I had the savoury which was cheese and herb and he had the fruit scone with jam and cream. Scones are a lunchtime favourite for us and it would hard to find... More 

Helpful?
Thank DevonBobby
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice selection of beverages and eats. Child friendly, comfortable relaxed atmosphere. Pleasant staff

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant is not the run of the mill eating house, it has some unusual menu's which make eating out during the day a pleasant surprise. During the summer it has a nice garden for families to eat in.

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This could have been a 5 star review in light of the menu but I was really disappointed on my visit to see that many yummy looking cakes, scones and pastries were displayed on the counter at chest/face height, directly in front of customers queuing and placing orders. There was a large covered display cabinet but only half full containing... More 

Helpful?
Thank JXH565
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We breakfasted there probably at least every week Staff great -- lots of good breakfast options Gets very popular but deserves to be , Good atmospheres and service, Very annoying they keep changing the wi-fi , So conflicts with the loyalty card and cell phone recognition? Also disappointed that they have withdrawn the Kedigeree -- my regular breakfast treat ?... More 

Helpful?
Thank BellandBatman
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although a smallish franchise (which may put some people off), the Boston serves excellent coffee and good food. Not only does it have sandwiches and cakes, it has a good range of hot food too. The staff are pleasant and attentive and when the weather is suitable, there is a great garden out the back. If you're looking for somewhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith m
TellBTP, FOH Supervisor at Boston Tea Party Honiton, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you very much for your lovely review. At BTP Honiton, we always aim to deliver the best customer service we can and serve the highest quality food. And yes, we cannot wait for the spring so you, and all our lovely customers, can sit and relax in our garden. How about a lovely house tea and a... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My croque madame was meant to be a toasted sandwich with sauce and poached egg on top. The bread wasn't toasted, the ham inside was gristle and fatty, the garden preached egg on top hadn't been drained enough making my bread soggy. Vile food My friend ordered toast which came like warm and the butter was so hard straight from... More 

Helpful?
Thank welshwendy61
TellBTP, FOH Supervisor at Boston Tea Party Honiton, responded to this review

Dear Welshwendy61, First of all, I would like to apologise for the very bad dining experience you had with us. I am very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations and that you received poor quality food. Part of our customer service standard is the check back and I am also sorry that no one came to your table to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

We were visiting friends and walked to the high street to look around, stopped here for coffee, it is a friendly café with attentive staff, does get busy and service can be slow so it pays to have plenty of time.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Honiton, responded to this review

Hi Pauline. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate the feedback. I am working closely with the team to tighten up the service received on the busier days. Warm regards, Becky More 

Bath
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Dropped in by chance. Tempted by lots of things on the unusual menu. The coffee was good and the cakes and biscuits we tried were exceptional. Queuing system a bit drawn out but it's a big old place so lots of covers. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank CloudBath
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Honiton, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the amazing cakes and coffee. We are always looking for ways to ensure the ordering system is a little smoother and will continue to work on this. I hope to see you again soon. Thanks Becky More 

Travellers who viewed Boston Tea Party Honiton also viewed

Honiton, Devon
Honiton, Devon
 

Been to Boston Tea Party Honiton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$13
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 18:00
Monday
07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 18:00
Thursday
07:00 - 18:00
Friday
07:00 - 18:00
Saturday
07:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 53 High Street, Honiton EX14 1PW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Honiton
  • Phone Number: +44 1404 548739
Description
Boston Tea Party is a small family owned independent café group serving simple well-prepared food & drinks made with great ingredients, skill and love. Ethically sourced, affordable, feel-good & excellent quality - made from scratch onsite everyday by people who care about what they do. We like to think of BTP Honiton as our elegant English tearoom with the added buzz of an urban café – very much in keeping with the town itself & the lovely locals.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Boston Tea Party Honiton and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Yeovil, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Boston Tea Party Honiton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?