We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beatons Tearooms - Blandford

Greyhound House 2 Market Place | Greyhound House, Blandford Forum DT11 7EB, England
+44 1258 269515
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (20 reviews)
“scones” (10 reviews)
“croque madame” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:45 - 17:00 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Greyhound House 2 Market Place | Greyhound House, Blandford Forum DT11 7EB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just what a tea room should be; comfortable and relaxed. Great selection of leaf tea, do try the Lapsang Souchon, a must with a toasted teacake. Nice service and some interesting books to browse.

Thank GibBob
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good Morning, Thank you for taking time to write your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your time this us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many Thanks Emily, Engagement Quartermaster

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very young and inexperienced staff. A bit slow and disorganised but the meal was acceptable in the end.More

Thank ccws50
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking time to review, all feedback is much appreciated. It seems the day you visited we did in fact have new staff in training, which I'm sure you can appreciate means service doesn't always run as smoothly as normal. We...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018

Called into this tea room for tea and a slice of pear and almond cake. Beatons offers lovely surroundings and is a very pleasant experience but the prices are high, £9.50 for a pot of breakfast tea, pot of Earl Grey tea and one piece...More

Thank AngieP49
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Popped in out of the rain. Took 10 minutes to take our order and another 20 until we ate. £8 for some cheap cheese on sliced supermarket bread with a few salad leaves and a quarter tomato is not good value for me. Wife's quiche...More

1  Thank Brent S
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Great selection of tea and cake (I had chocolate orange; huge slice) and interesting decor with coffee table type books for sale.

Thank Sceptre1902
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Visited Beatons in blandford today and had the best breakfast I’ve had in a long while ! Not expensive and staff were very attentive!

Thank Johnleesa
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Found this place by chance today and called in for lunch. Lovely Mushroom Rarebit. Amazing selection of teas, beautifully presented with matching teapots,cups etc & even a timer for our tea! Prompt friendly service and good value. Recommend this place! Cakes looked lovely too..

Thank Claire D
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We popped in for tea while at the Georgian Fayre. We had 2 teas, 1 slice of cake and toast and jam. £3 for standard tea seemed a lot. The strawberry cake was £3.75 and was so stodgy and over sweet l could not eat...More

1  Thank Mary R
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Good Morning Mary, First off thank you for taking the time to write this review, all feedback is appreciated. I'd like to apologise for your experience in the tearoom as it seems we did not present ourselves and our food at our usual standard. We...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018

Clean and warm, friendly service, good coffee but the food was really terrible and expensive. We ordered breakfast rarebit each for 5.75 a serve. The plates arrived. What you get is one piece of bread with a few tiny scraps of bacon, melted cheese and...More

Thank lindahD8599WI
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, all feedback is much appreciated. At Beatons we're very proud of our staff and how hard they work to ensure a lovely environment - we're pleased that this does not go unnoticed. I'm very sorry...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Went to visit this tea room on Saturday for lunch. The cafe was full with two spare tables. One man asked to have one of the tables and was told it was reserved but he could use it until 15:00pm. The two staff members told...More

Thank Samantha R
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Samantha, Thank you very much for taking time to review Beatons Blandford. I'm very sorry you had a negative experience here and I am very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations. As you stated, the Tearoom was full and the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Crown Hotel
611 reviews
.06 miles away
The Langton Arms
340 reviews
4.03 miles away
The Saxon Inn
182 reviews
5.57 miles away
The Fiddleford Inn
74 reviews
6.53 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Yellow Bicycle Cafe
254 reviews
.08 miles away
Forum Cafe
86 reviews
.10 miles away
The Georgian Tea Rooms
92 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hall & Woodhouse Brewery Visitor Centre
120 reviews
.29 miles away
Blandford Forum Town Museum
43 reviews
.08 miles away
The Blandford Fashion Museum
37 reviews
.13 miles away
St. Peter and St. Paul's Church
16 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane H
26 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from b0rderterrier | Reviewed this property |
Nope
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
08:45 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Greyhound House 2 Market Place | Greyhound House, Blandford Forum DT11 7EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Blandford Forum
  • Phone Number: +44 1258 269515
  • E-mail
Description
Every Beatons Tearoom and Bookshop exists to give you a peaceful and relaxed experience in stylish yet cosy surroundings. We’re inspired by society photographer Cecil Beaton and bring gracious hospitality, home made cakes and light meals to your table seven days a week. Whether you’re looking to relax and unwind over a pot of your favourite loose leaf tea, browse our specially curated selection of books to discover something new to delight, or treat yourself or your friends to a luxurious English Afternoon High Tea, Beatons is the perfect choice.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing