We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beatons Tearooms - Blandford

Greyhound House 2 Market Place | Greyhound House, Blandford Forum DT11 7EB, England
+44 1258 269515
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (22 reviews)
“scones” (11 reviews)
“croque madame” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Greyhound House 2 Market Place | Greyhound House, Blandford Forum DT11 7EB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry, to say! Had really high expectations. Ordered two thai fish cakes and salad with great expectations. Ask to waitress to check ingredients of salad. She came back with ingredients of the fish cakes. OK we thought give her a chance. Cappuccino and water brought...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank happyholidayer30
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to write this review, we treat all feedback very seriously. I'm sorry that you had a less than perfect visit to Beatons. Upon looking into the situation it seems that you were served by a new member of the team...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

We have visited before and had a good experience. However, we called in for lunch today with our son and daughter-in-law and it was nothing short of embarrassing! We waited a while for our order to be taken and we’re told the milkshake machine was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank dorsetmillie2018
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Good Morning, Thanks for taking time to write this review, we do treat all feedback very seriously as an opportunity for us to improve. I am sorry you had a less than perfect visit to Beatons. Upon review it seems that you were served by...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

I keep trying your tea rooms in the hope that I will be able to write a positive review, however my daughter and I were again disappointed. When we were given menus the server did not tell us the milkshake machine was out if order,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank sarahbG8965YL
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

The Ethiopian coffee here is the best coffee I've ever had. Enjoyed a coffee and a cake with a friend. Nice surroundings, a bit chintzy with lots of flowers. (artificial, so OK if you're allergic). A bit more expensive than the high street coffee shops...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jackie A
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We visited Beatons as we were given a gift voucher for afternoon tea. The premises are most attractive, and we received a warm welcome. Our afternoon tea comprised of delicious dainty sandwiches, home made mini quiches, scones and cakes. All were of a very high...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jenny H
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hi Jenny, Thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful review! Our Afternoon High Tea is something that we're very proud of, and its wonderful to hear you had such a great experience with us. We hope to see you again soon. Many...More

Reviewed 7 September 2018

Just what a tea room should be; comfortable and relaxed. Great selection of leaf tea, do try the Lapsang Souchon, a must with a toasted teacake. Nice service and some interesting books to browse.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GibBob
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Good Morning, Thank you for taking time to write your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your time this us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many Thanks Emily, Engagement Quartermaster

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Very young and inexperienced staff. A bit slow and disorganised but the meal was acceptable in the end.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ccws50
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Blandford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking time to review, all feedback is much appreciated. It seems the day you visited we did in fact have new staff in training, which I'm sure you can appreciate means service doesn't always run as smoothly as normal. We...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018

Called into this tea room for tea and a slice of pear and almond cake. Beatons offers lovely surroundings and is a very pleasant experience but the prices are high, £9.50 for a pot of breakfast tea, pot of Earl Grey tea and one piece...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AngieP49
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Popped in out of the rain. Took 10 minutes to take our order and another 20 until we ate. £8 for some cheap cheese on sliced supermarket bread with a few salad leaves and a quarter tomato is not good value for me. Wife's quiche...More

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Brent S
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Great selection of tea and cake (I had chocolate orange; huge slice) and interesting decor with coffee table type books for sale.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sceptre1902
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Crown Hotel
638 reviews
.06 miles away
The Langton Arms
346 reviews
4.03 miles away
The Saxon Inn
191 reviews
5.57 miles away
The Fiddleford Inn
76 reviews
6.53 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Yellow Bicycle Cafe
257 reviews
.08 miles away
Forum Cafe
86 reviews
.10 miles away
The Georgian Tea Rooms
94 reviews
.09 miles away
Vecchia Roma
144 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hall & Woodhouse Brewery Visitor Centre
133 reviews
.29 miles away
Blandford Forum Town Museum
43 reviews
.08 miles away
The Blandford Fashion Museum
37 reviews
.13 miles away
St. Peter and St. Paul's Church
16 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane H
26 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from b0rderterrier | Reviewed this property |
Nope
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
08:45 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Greyhound House 2 Market Place | Greyhound House, Blandford Forum DT11 7EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Blandford Forum
  • Phone Number: +44 1258 269515
  • E-mail
Description
Every Beatons Tearoom and Bookshop exists to give you a peaceful and relaxed experience in stylish yet cosy surroundings. We’re inspired by society photographer Cecil Beaton and bring gracious hospitality, home made cakes and light meals to your table seven days a week. Whether you’re looking to relax and unwind over a pot of your favourite loose leaf tea, browse our specially curated selection of books to discover something new to delight, or treat yourself or your friends to a luxurious English Afternoon High Tea, Beatons is the perfect choice.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing