We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Canteen

Market Street | Day's Mill, Nailsworth GL6 0DA, England
+44 1453 836172
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (17 reviews)
“cake” (30 reviews)
“flat breads” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Cafe, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Street | Day's Mill, Nailsworth GL6 0DA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 90 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We happened across The Canteen by total chance and are so happy we did. Really flavoursome food, with fabulous hosts, Greg and Caroline. Awesome value too! Quirky and quintessentially wonderful, head straight to The Canteen!

1  Thank Loneranger
Caroline S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear Loneranger, Thank you for your review! We're so glad you love The Canteen and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Really fun place with fun, friendly staff. The pastry chef is really talented (she worked for Hobbs Bakery for 16 years), there are loads of freebies to sample, everything I tried was delicious. We had bacon sandwiches, generous fillings of high quality bacon in a...More

1  Thank Jon N
Caroline S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear JonN, Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We also love our fab chef, we are lucky to have her on our team. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Just visited the Canteen with my family for a late breakfast early lunch. The food and service was excellent. I can thoroughly recommend the Turkish breakfast, the flavours reminded me of passed holidays in the Mediterranean. Great to see an establishment that is family owned...More

1  Thank David R
Caroline S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear DavidR, Thank you for leaving a lovely review, it means a great deal to us and I agree that the Turkish breakfast is very special! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 10 June 2016

We drive along the A46 several times a year; favourable weather, and with time to burn on this occasion, persuaded us to make an effort to get better acquainted with Nailsworth. Parking facilities are very pretty good, two hours free parking in a central location...More

1  Thank MikeandFlo
Emma S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thanks for your feed back, we will pass it on the chef who was cooking that day. We used to use the more traditional white bread, however customers requested sourdough so often so we started to use that instead. Apart from the bacon sandwich it...More

Reviewed 7 June 2016

Very poor service this afternoon. All unoccupied tables with dirty crockery and very casual service from the staff. No checking of tables. The only time a table was cleared was when a new customers order was delivered. Quirky isn't an excuse for casual poor service.More

3  Thank Oniongravy
Emma S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hi Oniongravy Thanks for the feedback, I have spoken to the manager who was working that day and she reminded me that on that day we had major maintenance happening in our washing up area. It was meant to happen the night before during the...More

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

I went with my friend and my daughter for lunch and we have the most yummy sandwiches they cater for gluten free peeps too. The staff are lovely and friendly and helpful too. And the food is hot and the service is great.

1  Thank Lisa N
Caroline S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear LisaN, Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you like what we do! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We had been here once before so booked a table for a family brunch, some of whom had travelled hours to come. When we arrived we were told "we don't take bookings on a Saturday" despite having come in and booked a table during the...More

2  Thank Scully1982
Emma S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Hi Scully1982 Thanks for the feed back, we take all the reviews very seriously and always use them as guidance on how to improve our service. I am so sorry to hear of your experience last Saturday and I have spoken to the manager and...More

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

The Canteen was the venue for my wife's 40th birthday party. What a great place and a great night: delicious food, warm and friendly staff and a special atmosphere. The daytime cafe configuration was transformed into the perfect venue for an intimate evening supper with...More

1  Thank pwport
Caroline S, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear pwport, Thank you for reviewing us So glad you had a great evening and hope to see you again soon! We really enjoyed seeing you all having a good time and glad to have been a part of her special day.

Reviewed 16 May 2016

The food in here is delicious, we visited on Friday , I had a lovely chicken ,Brie and bacon flatbread followed by salted caramel brownie. Very very tasty. Great food ( sasha), great service ( Alex ) great coffee . Enjoyed it so much that...More

1  Thank Anne H
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Came for a celebratory lunch with friends. This is a true jewel, hidden away down an alleyway.. Quirky decor and furniture. Had delicious poached egg + spinach on sourdough topped off with chili flakes, followed by a scrummy rhubarb streusel, warmed with ice cream. Unfortunately...More

1  Thank sam j
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amalfi
186 reviews
.08 miles away
The Olive Tree
549 reviews
.07 miles away
Britannia Inn
355 reviews
.17 miles away
Wild Garlic Bistro & Rooms
466 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Torbay Express Limited
78 reviews
.98 miles away
Woodchester Mansion
308 reviews
2.75 miles away
Thistledown Farm
158 reviews
3.03 miles away
Woodchester Park
152 reviews
1.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Canteen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 16:00
Monday
09:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:30 - 17:00
Thursday
09:30 - 17:00
Friday
09:30 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Street | Day's Mill, Nailsworth GL6 0DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Nailsworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1453 836172
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing