We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
95
43
18
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
95
43
18
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carrot cake sandwiches rarebit jacket potato tuna chilli salad potatoes tea room hot chocolate egg timer cheese on toast afternoon tea cecil beaton high street light lunch loose leaf tea
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

What a lovely little tea room. Never had tea in what looked like self-filled tea bags. It came with an egg timer to ensure it brewed for the correct time. Lovely toilets with individual flannels to dry hands on. Home made scones took a little...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Roblow8093
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a delightful few hours having morning coffee and lunch at Beatons. There was an amazing choice of teas, coffees, cakes. My friends had lunch, too, and it looked very tasty! Very friendly helpful staff and beautiful decor - stunning Christmas tree. We’ll be back,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Happyroamer2015
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

Chef was not happy serving a lot of things so I think they were liking to us about not having what we asked, them 20 mins later it turned up. All in all the syrup is amazing though.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Henry B
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

Pleasant tea room, clean and bright with lovely wood burner, that is where the plaudits end. Ordered sandwiches, 15 mins later told one of them had butter on, advised would have to wait another 15 minutes for correct order to be served, acceptable. 25 minutes...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 301maxm
Patrick D, Owner at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate all feedback, especially when we have not got it completely right. We have reviewed this incident and it seems that, in error, one sandwich was made with butter, after us having advised we...More

Reviewed 26 October 2018

Our experience would have been pleasant enough if we had been given fair portions of what we ordered. Instead, £13.90 for 2 drinks and 2 slices of exceptionally mean slices of cake. For £3.75, the slice of coffee cake should have been reasonably generous but...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank aurelia80
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thanks for taking time to write this review, we do treat all feedback very seriously as an opportunity for us to improve. I am sorry you had a less than perfect visit to Beatons. Providing customers with generous value is something we pride ourselves on...More

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit today. The service was fantastic and the food was absolutely delicious. We had the Windsor afternoon tea and it was fabulous. We will be back to try the Ascot afternoon tea next! We were made to feel very welcome so...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sophie B
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Hi Sophie, Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write this review! It's great to see that you got to enjoy the true Beatons experience. Our Afternoon High Teas are something that we are immensely proud of, so its wonderful...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018

very nice staff, simple food, good service charming place what more can i say, good value for money tisbury lovely to visit anyway

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank janelliot5
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Jane, Thank you so much for writing this review. We're so pleased you had a great experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks Emily, Engagement Quartermaster

Reviewed 24 August 2018

We were visiting Tisbury while on holiday, looking for some lunch, and the first place we spotted on walking up from the car park was this lovely little café-cum-bookshop. The menu offered a wide choice of delicious-sounding items - we were quite spoiled for choice,...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank statslady
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Good Morning, Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience with us and got to experience Beatons at its best. We look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks Emily, Engagement Quartermaster

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I tried to have lunch here with my 9 year old son, who is typically fussy for his age. He wanted a bacon sandwich and they had both sandwiches and bacon on the menu. However, when I asked for a bacon sandwich I was told...More

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank O8381VTpaul
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Good Morning Paul, Thank you for taking time to write your review. I'd like to apologise that you had such negative experience with us. On our menu we do offer bacon bagels as opposed to bacon sandwiches, however we are aware that this is not...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018

Not the first time I've been in and they are just so unwelcoming and the guy that is working today just looks plain miserable. I do hope nothing terrible has happened to him this weekend but if not a smile is just essential working somewhere...More

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank emma397
Beatons T, Guest Relations Manager at Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Good Morning Emma, Thank you for taking time to write your review. I'm very sorry that you had a negative experience with us, especially considering you are a returning customer. At Beatons we pride ourselves on a gracious hospitality and it seems we did not...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Howard's House Hotel
172 reviews
3.13 miles away
The Grove Arms
258 reviews
4.77 miles away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
484 reviews
6.13 miles away
The Grosvenor Arms
635 reviews
6.44 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
Beckford Arms
414 reviews
1.47 miles away
The Royal Oak
206 reviews
1.83 miles away
The River Barn
115 reviews
2.36 miles away
The Black Dog Inn
218 reviews
2.75 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Old Wardour Castle
313 reviews
1.85 miles away
Fovant Badges
52 reviews
4.06 miles away
Messums Wiltshire
45 reviews
.57 miles away
Tisbury Swimming Pool
7 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Beatons Tearooms - Tisbury staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing