We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gaston's White River Resort

1777 River Rd, Gaston's White River Resort, Lakeview, AR 72642-9039
+1 870-431-5202
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good21%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (17 reviews)
“trout” (28 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (8 reviews)
Open Now
06:30 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1777 River Rd, Gaston's White River Resort, Lakeview, AR 72642-9039
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an absence of over two years, my wife and I ate at Gaston's again as members of a large birthday gathering. We were pleasantly surprised. I heard no complaints from any of the fourteen people in our party. Service was prompt, and the dinners...More

Thank Alan T
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Alan, thank for you for the wonderful review. We brought in a new chef and restaurant manager just over a year and a half ago. Chef Rick has done a wonderful job with the quality of food, and training the servers. We appreciate your feedback,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First visit. View of the White River is very impressive and virtually every table has line of sight to the lovely scenery. Everything about our lunch was just average. Hostess was distracted and seemed to go through a lot of steps just to seat us....More

Thank PaigeDagg
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mrs. Dagg, we appreciate your feedback. We just saw your husbands review on our facebook page too. We have addressed the issue you had with the salad boat to ensure it does not happen again. Do you recall who the over friendly server was? We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following a long avoidance, my Wife and I decided to give Gaston's another try, and we are very pleased to report we had a great experience. Our meal (grilled salmon and 'stuffed baked potato') was great and our server (Eva) was exceptional as well!More

Thank Connie N
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Connie, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We hate that you were avoiding us, but glad to hear you came back! A little more than a year and half ago, we brought in a new chef and restaurant manager. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

They cooked our trout we had caught that afternoon and it was perfect. The fried and the pan seared were both delicious. I preferred the fried but my brother-in-law preferred the pan seared. The Jon boat salad bar was very good and fresh as well....More

Thank jwbdcb
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We are glad we were able to prepare your fresh catch in a fashion that you both enjoyed. It sure is nice to have someone else cook your catch, and do the dishes afterwards! We appreciate your feedback!

Reviewed 26 September 2017

I had heard and visited the "location" before and toured it by car and had heard about it for years, well on Sept 17th on the 1st day of our trip to Bull Shoals State Park, we decided to dine there for lunch. It is...More

1  Thank 481kristij
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with you sandwich. Our executive chef and restaurant manager have addressed the issue, so that we can get it corrected. We appreciate your feedback! We hope you...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch while out on a motorcycle ride with another couple. None of us had been there before but had heard of it by reputation. It has a great reputation because it's a great place. Excellent service, food and view. We will...More

Thank Paula S
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Paula, thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad that you were able to dine with us. We hope that you enjoyed your motorcycle ride in the Ozarks. The weather has been perfect lately!

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We went to dinner on the evening that chef had taken off. We were anxious to try Rick's creations but will be back, and of course will call ahead to make sure he is there. Our dinner was average and the service was very slow,...More

Thank Michelle P
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Michelle, thank you for the review. We hate that you missed Chef Rick, but he will be back this week. What night did you dine with us? Do you remember who your waiter/waitress was? Any information you can provide will help us correct the issues...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed 4 nights in the Mountain Oak cabin. The cabin was all the way at the end of the resort and very private. The view was awesome and you are right on the river. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable....More

Thank Tableofseven
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for the great review and kind words! We are delighted to hear that your family/group had such a wonderful time with us. Our staff takes pride in making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 27 July 2017

I wish I could give a better review but I can't in good conscience. We have been going there for years to eat in the restaurant and each time the food and service gets a little worse. I used to love the food but now...More

1  Thank Tom C
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Tom, we apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We can assure you that our chef uses the best quality of food for the dishes. If you don't mind, could you tell us when you visited and what dish you had? We appreciate your...More

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I wrote a review on this fine place but I believe it was published under "Hotels" rather than "restaurants" Anyway - we both strongly recommended it for dates - and well, you can take your family there too. Pan seared trout is really the best....More

Thank Johnny D
ClintGaston, Owner at Gaston's White River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thanks again Johnny!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
178 Club
172 reviews
2.95 miles away
Bush's Pizza
49 reviews
2.79 miles away
Beacon Point
18 reviews
3.84 miles away
Nearby Attractions
James A. Gaston Visitor Center
73 reviews
1.83 miles away
Bull Shoals Dam
94 reviews
1.85 miles away
Bull Shoals Caverns
42 reviews
2.64 miles away
Bull Shoals Theater of the Arts
11 reviews
2.87 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tshindel
12 June 2017|
Answer
Response from ClintGaston | Property representative |
Unfortunately, all of our cottages are booked for that weekend as of today. If you have any other dates in mind, please let us know. Call us at (870) 431-5202, if you have further questions. Thank you!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 21:00
Monday
06:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 21:00
Thursday
06:30 - 21:00
Friday
06:30 - 21:00
Saturday
06:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1777 River Rd, Gaston's White River Resort, Lakeview, AR 72642-9039
  • Location: United States  >  Arkansas (AR)  >  Lakeview
  • Phone Number: +1 870-431-5202
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing