We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Inn Dungeness

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dungeness Road, Dungeness TN29 9ND, England (Formerly The Britannia Inn)
+44 1797 321959
Website
Thursday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:00
Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 350: English reviews
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had lunch at the Britannia Inn today as a birthday treat. I had the plaice, chips and mushy peas with a side salad which was delicious. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. My dog had a bonus of dog biscuits from a jar on the bar.

Helpful?
Thank Janet J
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went into the pub after my trip on the RHDR and had a nice meal, with good service and nice drinks to boot. WEll worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank mikefogg
ashford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The first time I came here was with a car club and it was lovely everyone was very accommodating to us all turning up at once there was at least 20 of us! The 2nd time we tried to come here was a bit of a let down to the point we didn't even order any food! Firstly the only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AshfordCarebear4
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
524 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good traditional pub with no thrills and near the end of the railway line. Good fish and chips. Only one small niggle- not all our meals were served together, one fish and chips came a good 5-10 mins after the rest. I suppose it proves it was freshly cooked. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Plattypuss52
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we have been here a few times over the years and standards appear to be slipping markedly. the place has a limited menu catering for mostly visiting tourists after fish and chips. there is a small selection of draft beers and the place looks tired and in need of a good refurbishment. staff are friendly and service is amazingly quick... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cora421
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently visited Dungeness with my wife, we had a pleasant stroll round the bird sanctuary, didn't see many birds, but nonetheless, a very pleasant stroll. Following that, we decided to go into Dungeness for lunch, not a good idea, we went to the Britannia, there was no welcome, when my wife asked where we should sit, I suggested that... More 

Helpful?
Thank henbreeder
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We hadn't eaten here for several years, so a couple of weeks ago, thought we'd give it a try. Very disappointed - poor welcome - barmaid snapped at us that all the tables in the window were reserved, although whilst we there, no-one took them! Food arrived in reasonable time but on stone-cold plates! My chicken was clearly quite old,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lindyl004
Management response:

Thank you for review, however i feel that your review is unfair tables would only have a reserve sign on if they are reserved, the plates are under a hot lamp to keep them hot so unfortunately i don't understand how your plates could be cold unless you had a chicken salad then the plate would be cold. We are... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there by Romney Marsh Railway. It was the only restaurant in sight so we thought we try our luck. That was for lunch. I ordered battered Cod and chips and the sticky toffee pudding. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank GNiLi3P
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Britannia a couple of months ago and the manager had made big promises for improvement so we went back with high hopes. But nothing much had changed. The manager spent all of the time at the bar with some friends. The staff were pretty much left to themselves, I even had to ask where the chips were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
Management response:

Thank you for your comments, i feel that your review is unfair things have started to change like we have repainted all the woodwork its now blue not brown, We have a ice cream counter with coffee machine. The Key rings are slowly coming down but they do take time, we havent yet changed the menu due to it being... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We came for lunch admittedly it was very busy, but after we had paid for our order we were told it would be a 40 minute wait, we hoped it would be worth it! We opted for take away, and sat on the beach. I had a small handful of chips and my fish had bones in it!! My husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not enjoy your meal unfortunately the fish may contain bones as stated in the menu. More 

Travellers who viewed Britannia Inn Dungeness also viewed

 

Been to Britannia Inn Dungeness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dungeness Road, Dungeness TN29 9ND, England (Formerly The Britannia Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dungeness
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 321959
Description
Britannia Inn is "The Only Pub in Dungeness"! We are located in between two lighthouses in Dungeness and at the heart of Dungeness estates. It's a few minutes walk from "Dungeness Train station" of Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch Railway. If you drive, please follow the Dungeness Road, you will see a "Dungeness Borough" sign on the left before the white gate which is the entrance of Dungeness. Keep driving for a mile and pass the new light house on your left and we are just beyond.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Britannia Inn Dungeness and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Fleet, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Maidstone, Kent

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Inn Dungeness staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?