Proost

Proost

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 161 312 6716+ Add website
Hours
Sun
13:00 - 21:00
Thu
12:00 - 14:3017:00 - 20:30
Fri
12:00 - 14:3017:00 - 20:45
Sat
12:00 - 14:3017:00 - 20:45
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
features
Is this restaurant good for special occasions?
CUISINES
European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles331 reviews
Excellent
308
Very good
9
Average
6
Poor
7
Terrible
1
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

diob01
Manchester1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Great local restaurant, a small cosy place with stylish interior and relaxed atmosphere - very inviting. I like the fact that the menu is small as this allows them to serve fresh food. They have a good selection of wine and the prices for both food and wine are very reasonable. The staff are friendly and attentive. We had a lovely evening and will definitely be visiting again.
Written 19 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

FRANK R
Manchester128 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
As we missed out on the 50% off in August but were on the waiting list for a cancellation, we were kindly invited to accept this offer again in September. We've visited Proost a couple of times before and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. This evening was no different. Even though the menu is a little limited, we've never been disappointed with our choice. The food is cooked to perfection and the taste is amazing. Even though I chose the steak this time and my partner had the only vegetarian option of the Mushroom Wellington, I must say that my favourite has just got to be the Carbonnade Pie, and I'll look forward to having this again on our next visit. The staff are very friendly and service is always with a smile. There's even a little buzzer on each table for when you require service, which we thought was a great idea and suggest more restaurants can learn from this. The tables and chairs were always cleaned between customers, which was good to see, and the tables were evenly spaced. Thank you to John, Carolyn and all the staff. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon. PROOST!!!!
Written 3 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

nataliesmw
Manchester1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
The customer service is fantastic and started the moment I rang to book. Nothing was too much trouble and when we arrived it was clear how much they cared. Two high chairs as requested and a lovely touch of a birthday balloon for my husband. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the meal. As a new business, they are slowly growing their menu which is understandable. When I enquired about some bread/olives for the little ones while we waited, they brought some little savoury nibbles despite them not being on the menu. The food was delicious (the type you don't want to end). All four adults chose the steak, with different sauces, and were not disappointed! Cooked perfectly and served in great time. For dessert, the Creme Brule certainly hit the spot and as the birthday boy, my husband also recieved a complimentary glass of bubbly. All round, a fabulous evening and great facilities for little ones (high chairs, changing facilities, storing the pram). We are local and have been looking forward to visiting for a while - we will certainly be returning.
Written 27 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

holidaytrout
Manchester63 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 friends
Despite booking a few weeks prior to my visit with friends, we were given an overspill table crammed into the bar area at the back. My friend, in her late sixties, had to sit on a stool for the duration of our meal, even though we complained. Service was slow, the waiter repeatedly kicked my friend’s stool each time he squeezed past, and the food was mediocre - small portions, very limited accompaniments and too pricey. To compensate for the awful table and experience, we were offered......nothing! To cap it all, we had the lady manager/owner sitting on a bar stool right in front of us, enjoying a drink. Why didn’t she get up, sort us out another table in the main restaurant (which had emptied by now), and attempt to placate us? These people have no concept of customer service and we will not be returning, we love our home town and there are other excellent places in which to spend our money. We have also notified our network of friends and I suspect this place won’t last very long.
Written 10 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carrie098
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Proost. It must be a little while since you dined with us as we have replaced the stools. We always do our best to accommodate requests concerning table choice but sadly we cannot always accommodate every request. We are always happy to receive constructive feedback and regularly share it with the team as we believe that this is important to any business as it's strives for continuous improvement. John Owner
Written 11 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pete_L
Manchester672 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
We've been to Proost twice now. It's a tiny restaurant in the centre of Urmston and it is more of a fine dining experience compared to some of the others close by. Booking is recommended especially if you plan to go on a Friday or over the weekend. The menu is small and changes regularly. The staff are friendly and helpful, and service is efficient. On both visits I had the chicken and it was delicious both times, although the feel of the dish was different each time (tender to the degree that it fell apart on the first visit, but tougher on the second). Both dishes were delicious, as were our starters and desserts. The only glitch was that on both visits we didn't get the wine we'd requested but got a cheaper bottle with no apology or explanation - still nice to drink, but not what we'd ordered. For the quality of food the bill was surprisingly small. We'll definitely go back as a regular treat.
Written 21 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

liz c
Manchester139 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Visited last weekend with a friend and had a nice meal, food and service was good, very small menu so not a lot to choose from but we each found a meal to try. I had the lamb which was lovely although disappointed that spring greens was peas, would have liked a better selection to accompany the lamb and not being a lover of peas and also dinning out. Service was good and attentive but was made to feel rushed at the end even though booking stated we had 6.30 to 8.30 for the table. Place is small and they had people sitting waiting in front of us for the table and it was not yet 8pm which was unsettling. would not recommend the early slot but might be better for after 8 booking.
Written 22 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travel39087296764
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Proost is an absolutely gem of a find in Manchester. The passion that has gone into creating the food is only replicated by the amazing service. The drinks selection was amazing, especially for beers that aren’t readily available elsewhere (the Pinot Grigio is also delicious!). I still can’t quite believe how much value we got for a meal worthy of town prices. No detail from the decor to the music was untouched. A contender for the best roast and STP in Manchester!
Written 17 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Christie B
Manchester54 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
Wow. I'm shocked at how disappointed I am. Seeing all the exceptional reviews prior to visiting and pictures I was looking forward to trying this place for months. What a disappointment. Olives swimming in oil, chicken croquette (nothing to write home about) and Toulouse sausage roll (very bland). Mains didn't improve. Steak and 'frites' and mussels 'frites'.....I'm not sure where to start. Everything was luke warm (luke warm is being generous). There was no empty bowl for the shells. However my biggest gripe...no I'm actually offended! Was that the 'frites' were actually oven chips! Not even oven frites! The bernaise sauce was very tasty but stone cold. Such a shame. This place has lots of potential, the decor is tastefull. Cutlery, wine glasses wouldn't look out of place in a high class bistro. Lots of thought has been put into the bill holders but nowhere near enough effort has been put into the lunch menu. I did give this feedback to the waitress who was lovely and run off her feet. Personally I don't like the service button that alerts the waitress to a customer's needs via her watch. There were 3 members of staff front of house but only the waitress serving us was rushing around inside and out and serving all other customers with her watch going off constantly. The waitress did feed back our concerns to the head chef. However these were not acknowledged further. I would have appreciated a response to my feedback by someone more senior. Service is as important as the food. Sadly the young girl didn't stand a chance. Is there a dessert menu? Who knows. We won't be returning. Frites or chips? You decide!
Written 29 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carrie098
I am really sorry that you didn't have a positive experience on your first visit to us. We value feedback and will always strive to take learnings from it. The serving team always pass feedback on at the time it is given and we reflect on it as a team at the end of each service. We have made some adjustments based on your feedback; thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope that you will visit again. If you would like further details of how we have taken your feedback on board you can email hello@eatproost.com Best wishes, John
Written 31 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

glyno123
81 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Last visited in Dec 2019, thought it was time to see whether initial thoughts and standard matched our first visit. Food and service was impeccable, and the proprietors are very engaging, with a genuine interest in their guests. The menu choice remains small but there really is something there for every taste. You must wash it down with the House Portuguese wine, a pleasant and welcome change from the usual Italian or Spanish options found elsewhere. Long may they continue!
Written 28 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

fordsj
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Have visited Proost a couple of times and continue to be blown away by the top notch customer service and and the mouth-watering quality of the food. Most recent visit was last week, following the reopening after the easing of the Covid-19 measures. Totally safe environment, tables well spaced, hand sanitiser on entry and exit and a table buzzer to reduce contact with the lovely people that work there. Urmston has been crying out for a place like this for a while now and I am thrilled that is here. If you like really top quality, well-cooked food, fabulous beers and drinks selection and top class service then this is the place for you. No photos of the food as I couldn't wait to eat. Superb.
Written 4 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

karen b
Manchester27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
This has got to be the best restaurant in Urmston. Caroline is such a lovely host and the quality of the food and the cooking is superb.The menu is small, limited to about 5 choices of starters and mains but this shows that everything is fresh and each and every dish is cooked with thought and expertise, rather than trying to do too many things mediocre. We've dined at roost several times now and have never been disappointed with anything.
Written 21 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

skiathos44
Manchester30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
What a treat! Have been intending to visit this restaurant for some time but COVID has got in the way until now. How glad I am that I persisted and my wife and I visited for a midweek treat. The welcome was so friendly and the ambience excellent. The service throughout was outstanding. Now, on to the food. The menu was quite small and select (not sure if this is the usual) but more than adequate and, actually, quite helpful instead of some huge menus that I’ve encountered. The quality was superb. The king prawn starter was mouthwatering and the beef carbonade rich, tasty and filling! Managed to fit in a dessert - just! A chocolate mousse on a biscuit crumb base with cherry compote. Just delicious. Wine certainly not overpriced and I’m struggling to find any criticism as I like to write accurate reviews - good or bad. There’s even a small buzzer on the table to attract the waiters attention (via their wrist strap device) which is a very useful extra. Well done Proost. Can’t see anything but continued success if these standards prevail.
Written 13 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

truboy
Paris10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
We visited Proost last night to celebrate a 21st birthday. I used the website to book, which was easy to use & in the special requests box I told them we had a birthday to celebrate. When we arrived there was a birthday balloon on the table which was a lovely touch. The restaurant had a great atmosphere and very relaxed. We were settled in quickly and the service was relaxed and efficient. The menu is great, and suitable for everyone. The “Prawn Star” starter was fabulous & the croquettes are simply amazing! We also had the asparagus starter and it was great too. For main we had the steak and cod. They were absolutely fantastic! The wine selection is great and the choice of Prosecco is just yummy! Our whole evening was enjoyable, very relaxed & the staff were great. George in particular really looked after us. The owners of the business clearly know how to look after guests and it shows. I highly recommend Proost to anyone who enjoys great food in a fantastic restaurant that has an excellent team running it. We will be back!
Written 29 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

364danny
Manchester768 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
A friend for a catch up and some decent food. The service from start to finish was very friendly and efficient. Proost have put an electronic bell on the table that alerts the server to come to the table. My friend had at the prawn star, While I had the hot smoked salmon and brie tartlets with horseradish mascarpone. They were both excellent. We followed this with a mean of cod loin with mussels and samphire and bisque sauce, which we mopped up with some fresh bread. The Eton mess posset really helped to lift the palate. The suggested gin and tonics were really good. The menu may not be huge but what Proost do, they do very well.
Written 22 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Neil Sigsworth
Urmston92 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
Had the Sunday lunch, 2 courses for £19.00 or 3 for £22.00 which we thought was great value, choice of beef, lamb, pork or chicken. We had the beef which was cooked to perfection. Plenty of veg, large Yorkshire pudding and a separate jug of gravy which I always like. Caroline and George were great.
Written 12 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 331
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Leo's Bar & Grill Monton
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
Adrak Urmston
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
The Bus Stop Cafe
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Spice Mafia
££ - £££ · Indian, Bar, Asian, Grill
Maturo Meathouse
££ - £££ · Steakhouse
Owen's Kitchen and Bar
££ - £££ · British
Ortica Italian Plant Based
££ - £££ · Italian, Healthy
San Giovanni
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
Roti Food + Liquor
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Scottish
Scrumptious Tea Rooms
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PROOST, Urmston - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire