We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Small family run business with fresh home cooked food. Along with the usual we have Vegetarian & Vegan options & a separate Gluten Free Menu Dog friendly Available for private parties just speak to Cindy to discuss your requirements.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, European, British, Scottish
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Free Wifi
Reviews (214)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
162
31
4
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
162
31
4
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cheesecake veggie curry pate cullen skink looking forward to our next visit last night great choice of food relaxed atmosphere sea view lovely evening service was a little slow took ages vegetarian choices tea and coffee piping hot sunday lunch
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

This lovely little restaurant on the seafront was lovely. The staff were very good and our food was fantastic. Very well done,

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were both really happy with the experience we had at the round island. We were on the island for our anniversary. We received a lovely welcome in the restaurant. The service was great and the food superb. Unfortunately I did not...get the ladies name who served us. I think she was the owner. She was very attentive to us and had a good bit of banter with us. I would highly recommend the restaurantMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, wow, wow. What can you say, this was superb, The Service was great, the food was beautiful and in perfect sized portions, my wife had a special Sauvignon Blanc and said it was the best she had ever tasted, it was Blended, shame you...can only give 5 stars. If in Millport it is worth a visit, please ensure you book in advance so as not to be disappointed.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous little place. Service is very good .Food is varied and beautiful presented..The fishcakes are excellent. I thoroughly recommend this lovely cafe.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Always fresh and interesting food plus good bar for a small place Can be busy but that'd usually a good sign Best food in Millport

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Absolutely blown away by this wee Gem, we have been coming here for years and they have certainly upped their game. The food is delicious.. beautiful attention to detail. And they do their own wine..gobsmacked how good it actually is. The owners are a pleasure...to talk to. Come here and treat yourself you will not be disappointed 👌🏼More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Staff friendly, lovely setting, great views. Food was below average, we had the Sunday roast and for £17 and over a 40 min wait it was a big let down. We were happy to wait as we were informed the Yorkshires go in fresh to...order so we thought we would be in for a treat!!. But sadly not. Bits of string still on beef, the beef had so many herbs around it it was overpowering. The baby boiled potatoes were lathered in herbs, again overpowering, the roast potatoes were not in my opinion roast potatoes, baby boilers 'roasted' could hardly get my fork into them no crisp to them and soggy. Far too many vegetables, I counted 9 varieties, cut it back a bit and get the quality up in my opinion as the 2 straws of parsnips were the tastiest thing on the plate. Cauliflower puree that is green and served in a wee ramekin on the plate why? Completely pointless. We were given £10 off food, the other food that was going out looked great, overall we were very disappointed.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cindy groves, Owner at Round Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you for your review and we’re sorry you were disappointed. We give everyone a booking time for the Sunday roast and as you arrived 30 mins early we were preparing for the table before you! Otherwise the wait would have been around eighteen minutes....More

Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

I want to rate my experience I will Start with the cafe it’s self when I got seated looked around it was clean tidy bit tight with some tables but not a issue as wasn’t to busy the staff were very welcoming and polite Cut...a long story short Placed food order and drinks of the food menu offered to me BUT no drink menu with prices When the food arrived at the table it was well presented looked great and very nice indeed The food I received I had no complaints loved it £17 for the Sunday roast bit pricey for one coarse but I enjoyed it I will now have a moan but not with the Sunday lunch and all the trimmings £17 notes a plate in a cafe not sure about price but in this day in age what can you do But to be hit with the final bill was shocking looking at the price of a glass of wine £8.40 a glass Yes £8.40 for a glass of wine If I was presented from the start a drinks menu with prices I would have thought it was a miss print End of the day it’s not a high class establishment in the middle of a capital city with numerous Michelin stars and high ratings it’s a cafe So to end my rant as I know everyone works so hard now to keep up with the cost of living and shouldn’t except to pay that price for a drink My advise to anybody that goes Ask the prices of the drinks before ordering £8.40 for a glass of wineMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cindy groves, Owner at Round Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thank you for your review we’re so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Roast. When the menus are handed out on the clipboard the first page shows food the second page shows the drinks available. When your order was taken you were asked which size glass...More

Reviewed 20 January 2024

Had a fantastic night at the Round Island Cafe. Hosts Cindy and Tom make you so welcome. Food was delicious, fresh and very flavoursome. It’s a great way to unwind and relax after a busy week.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

An unexpected surprise. As because this gem of a place is on island with not a great deal of eateries. Basically had a phenomenal steak from where the food is always good. Though never expected to see steak on the menu ! Great atmosphere last...night and the couple who run it and serve you give their all . It’s not fast food folks it’s a paced service so you do get your moneys worth.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

We were visiting the Island for the day(my birthday).as a family we decided to cycle the island and stopped in here to meet with family that where already dining to be greeted by the most unwelcoming staff member.A women in 50's at a guess,long frizzy...hair.She was so crabbit,and took so long to serve us after she told us to sit to be served ,we left.she never smiled,she never acknowledged our wait nothing.my daughter asked for a prosecco to take outside and she humfed n n hawed that she couldn't find a plastic glass she gave it to her in the glass but acted like it was our fault the plastic glass couldn't be found,my son in law was able to take a beer bottle from there but you weren't supposed to have a real glass for the prosecco.We al have bad days but this server was to the extreme.The young girl served my grandkids who got hot chocolate and was nice n polite and smiled.she actually infuriated me hence why we never bought anything.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cindy groves, Owner at Round Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2023

You have the correct establishment? There are a number of discrepancies here, first we don’t have anyone with frizzy hair, all our staff wear their hair tied up. We have an outside seating area but not during the winter months as you’d get blown away,...More

Reviewed 17 December 2023

Once again, delicious food, great service, brilliant atmosphere. We love this place. Massive thank you Tom and Cindy. Keep up the good work. Love this place!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

We have eaten here many time and have never been disappointed. The owner of this little gem are fabulous hosts. The atmosphere the service the food are all excellent, would recommend. Book if you can as its very popular. I can't say enough about the...hosts they are heads and shoulders above everyone else. We will be back very soon.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

What a lovely atmosphere and welcome and then the food wow we had calamari starters and fish cake main the sharing platter looked a revaluation and our eyes were drawn to the desserts served looked fab flying visit for us this time thanks to the...staff kitchen and front of house you have a fabulous foodie experience THANKSMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023

A well placed cafe for parking and views with some outside seating. Good opening hours and reasonable prices. The coffee was good and the food came in good portions and was somewhat artistically presented. Friendly, popular and although small it has a fair amount of...seating.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brisbane House Hotel
11 reviews
3.95 miles away
Willowbank Hotel
285 reviews
4.27 miles away
The Kingarth Hotel
271 reviews
4.33 miles away
Seamill House Hotel
377 reviews
5.29 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Dancing Midge Cafe
285 reviews
.28 miles away
Frasers Bar
221 reviews
.14 miles away
The Newton Bar
171 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Isle Of Cumbrae Distillers
125 reviews
.08 miles away
Burnham Overy Staithe Beach
9 reviews
.10 miles away
Cathedral of the Isles
116 reviews
.28 miles away
Crocodile Rock
32 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karenm06
25 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CindyM2119 | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay in responding I have just received this!! Yes we’ll behaved dogs are very welcome if it’s ok with you I’ll even give them a treat in the form of a dental stick!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ROUND ISLAND CAFE, Millport - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Round Island Cafe

Yes, Round Island Cafe offers takeaway services.

Round Island Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5