We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (231)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
114
70
21
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
114
70
21
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast chicken curry egg chips jacket potato the pub pub favourites draught beer served hot quality and quantity lovely garden great food and service walkers blackboard ploughmans pubs ales specials
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Early evening meal. Friendly and welcoming staff. All comfortably renovated. Good pub menu choice. We had jacket potato with tuna and sweetcorn and side salad and the sausage and mash. Both tasty and hot. Ginger toffee pudding was also good. Good addition to the area...and will be back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

The pub has recently been refurbished and it was full which is great to see. It still very much felt like a pub and not a restaurant which we like and all of the food was fantastic. We all had Sunday roast which is as...good as a home cooked one. One of our friends is vegetarian and she said the nut roast was brilliant too! All of the puddings again were great! Sadly I forgot to take pictures of the roast but it’s a must try! We will be returning again very soon!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and iwe hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub , simple menu with reasonable prices for around here. Staff very friendly. Didn’t get the best table , tucked in a corner with a view of the wall but we should probably have insisted on a different table.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited the seven stars for Mother’s Day! The food was excellent and very reasonably priced, although we had fed our baby before we came out, they offered to put together whatever we needed for her, each member of staff cared for our table and...made us feel important.The staff were polite, and created a lovely atmosphere, especially on a stressful day like Mother’s Day every single member of staff looked like they enjoyed working here, they were polite, helpful and each one of them had a smile on there face and nothing was an issue! This is rare to see! Thank you to all your staff for making my first Mother’s Day a lovely experience and for a delicious lunch :) Please pass on my thanks to your team!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 9 March 2024

Perfect post dog walk lunch. Food was amazing (fish pie and linguine), service was great and atmosphere just what we wanted.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

From the friendly welcome and beautiful interior on arrival, what was not to like? A busy Saturday lunchtime of bookings and passing trade, excellently and smoothly looked after by two staff; both professional and attentive, taking it all in their stride. Thanks guys! I ordered...a steak baguette and it was superb! Was cooked to perfection and needless to say disappeared easily. Gorgeous refurb and can see work in the garden had already begun ahead of the warmer weather. Will revisit soon!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Well done The Seven Stars team. This pub has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere . Food was excellent. Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 29 January 2024

This pub has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The staff are very attentive & the atmosphere warm & friendly. Excellent quality food & superb Sunday roasts!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and iwe hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 14 January 2024

Although went a few times pre renovation after being reopened under new owners linked to running mare and it was really nice. But this was my first visit for a quick lunch with my mum after it re opened. First issue, coffee was on colder...side that hot, 2nd cup after complaining was too hot to drink initially Only wanted a snack. So had following..Bacon and Brie baguette .. see photos. Dry bread, and a tiny slither of brie. It was French bread , not a baguette and awful with an obligatory salad which included 1 half of a cherry tomato.. And my meal .. baked potato with beans bacon and cheese. The potato was over cooked ( we were one of 1st on there for lunch). The bean and bacon topping engulfed the plate. But a small salad was on , well on baked beans. It was disgusting. There was far too much topping for size if plate.. and absolutely wrong decision to add a token side salad into a plate of baked beans where no space... Table next door had food delivered. Fish and chips. Again fish was sitting on a plate full of chips, and they also had ribs.. again Prestatyn was awful. Engulfed the plate with obligatory salad. It was very disappointing. I emailed the pub a few hrs later and 2 days later , absolutely no response. Wouldn't recommend and won't be returningMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

I have been going to the Seven Stars for many years and was concerned, when I heard the place was being changed and refurbished in late 2023. However any concern was misplaced, as it has been given a facelift, but maintained much of its traditional...feel and dogs are now allowed inside too (within a designated area). We visited for Sunday lunch. The Roast Beef and a pint of Hogs Back TEA hit the spot, with just enough room left for the Sticky Ginger Pudding! The service was friendly and attentive and I think at under £19 this excellent roast was good value. Thank you, we will be returning very shortly!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and iwe hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

Evening out with friends at Seven Stars, arrived then was told there were no scallops or pork belly available. We placed our order and then ordered our drinks. We ordered a bottle of Italian savignon blanc and the waiter brought us the New Zealand bottle-luckily...we spotted it before it was opened! The starters were ok, salt and pepper squid and french onion soup. Then on to the mains-the scampi and chips were ok, we thought they might have been home made but they were frozen. The fish pie-3 or 4 prawns and that was it, no other fish to be seen! Veg was cold! The ribs were spectacular! We didn’t get a meal check and we had to ask for more drinks. We waited 40 mins before our table was cleared then we expected the waitress to come back and take our dessert order but she didn’t!! We had to ask the waiter that was serving another table if we’re could order dessert! Overall not a great experience and I’m sorry to say we won’t returnMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank yopu for taking the time to leave feedback, i am sorry you had a below average time with your visit. We have taken and bit of feeback on board since and belive we are in abetter position and customer satisfaction much higher since your...More

Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Disappointed with the beer choice. We have enjoyed the variety of beer at the Running Mare in Cobham and were gleefully looking forward to more of the same at the Seven Stars- but the choice today ( Friday 29th Dec) was very pedestrian and what...you can get in any pub nearby. Will you be upping your game on the real ale and craft beer front?More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we now are trialing different cask ales so maybe something more your fancy will be on option in the coming weeks if you wish to come back and taste. The Running mare although our other pub...More

Reviewed 29 December 2023

Turned up just after 3pm Friday 29th Dec, after a long walk along the Wey Navigation, so the kitchen was only serving pizzas at that point BUT totally delicious and clearly home cooked. Pub was warm, inviting & convivial - toilets spotless. Staff happy relaxed...and engaging. Great job. I will definitely be back ASAP. THANK YOU!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you very much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the time with us and iwe hope to see you again soon. Regards The Seven Stars

Reviewed 20 December 2023

Babs Ferris 1 review 15 hours ago NEW What a horrendous experience!! We prebooked our Christmas meals for 1.00pm for 2 courses at the price of £34.95 per person. Our friend had problems in getting it booked due to what he assumed was that the...restaurant had changed hands. …More leanne p 8 reviews·1 photo a day ago NEW £20–30 This has new owners and gone through a big renovation, And its only for the better, Walking through the door we were greeted by a waitress who was very happy, smiley and welcoming, We had a few drinks seated at the bar whilst we waited for …More Jennifer Davies 98 reviews 2 days ago NEW Lovely homemade food. Attentive staff, great Guinness …More 1 Colin Richardson Local Guide·141 reviews 2 days ago NEW THI REVIEW WAS LISTED BEFORE THE CHANGE OF MANAGEMENT IN JULY 2023. What a pleasure to dine at a Pub that serves Quality food. We have at last found a place that presents good honest pub grub. The portions are generous and so so tasty …More 3 The Seven Stars (owner) a year ago Thank you for the lovely review . Louise Smith 10 reviews·17 photos a week ago NEW £30–40 Lovely roast dinner on Sunday. Good service, good food and drink …More John Edgcumbe 70 reviews a week ago NEW £10–20 Vegetarian options: Limited but OK …More Sarah Lane 4 reviews 2 weeks ago NEW My partner and I had The Shepards Pie and Macoroni Cheese. Both were outstanding and yummy. (Thankyou Chef!) Puddings were also tasty. Staff were very attentive. Atmosphere cosy (we were by the fire!) Just a clean, relaxing well run pub! …More James Harper Local Guide·372 reviews·48 photos 2 months ago Every morcel we ate was delicious and the service was excellent... We were even gifted a beautiful carved wooden camel that now lives on my brother's barge nearby... I can't promise every customer will be so lucky but I'm fairly sure you will get the excellent food... …More Steph Roche 4 reviews·1 photo 2 months ago £10–20 Have lived in the area.for many years but had never popped into The Seven Stars. Today we did. Such a warm and polite welcome - lovely staff, good food, good price nice garden. We will be back. …More Helen Bridger 1 review 2 months ago £100+ More Rob Motha Local Guide·137 reviews·442 photos 2 months ago Great staff, it's a new team running this pub so will return after their refurb finishes towards the end of November. Having said that if today's Sunday Roast was anything to go by it will be a well deserved success. Generous portions with a wide variety of vegetables. Nicely done roasts. 2 David Harper Local Guide·83 reviews·75 photos 2 months ago £30–40 Great food reasonably priced and a good selection. Good atmosphere and really friendly service …More Theresa Thomson Local Guide·348 reviews·510 photos 2 months ago £20–30 Had mixed roast dinner. Had one slice of pork and one slice of beef very nice. Lots of veg. But Had to ask for apple sauce . Horseradish and extra gravy . Expensive for what it was £19.50 per head . Staff very attentive and friendly …More Valerie Donald 15 reviews 3 months ago £70–80 Sunday lunch couldn't fault it absolutely delicious Vegetarian options: We're on the menu …More Jayne Roy Local Guide·104 reviews·141 photos 3 months ago £10–20 Good size side/rear garden. Just had several drinks. Can not comment on the inside or the food. Service good. …More Mert Artun Local Guide·556 reviews·247 photos 3 months ago £20–30 A very nice pub with great food, friendly staff and nice prices 👌 …More Angela Underdown Local Guide·21 reviews·1 photo 3 months ago £10–20 Thought stop by , to check out new owners- very friendly, accommodating with our food requirements, and great service …More Alfred Davenport 3 months ago £10–20 Dietary restrictions: Be good if they served the Sunday Roast hot and not nearly cold, whole meal was rubbish. …More Jenny Marshall 3 reviews·1 photo 4 months ago We arrived at lunchtime to find the front door of the pub closed and when we did find someone we were told the pub is closed until November for refurbishment!!!!! No signs on door to tell you that?????? Daren Aris 39 reviews 4 months ago £10–20 Only turner up for a drink with a friend, didn't have food but it looked good what I saw other people eating. Was very busy but service was goog …More Babs Ferris 1 review 15 hours ago NEW What a horrendous experience!! We prebooked our Christmas meals for 1.00pm for 2 courses at the price of £34.95 per person. Our friend had problems in getting it booked due to what he assumed was that the restaurant had changed hands. We arrived on time and were served drinks immediately. After a 40 minute wait during which we asked a couple of times when could we expect our meals as walkins were being served their burgers and chips & fish and chips first. Obviously they had our deposit and knew we were captive and didn't need to worry about our wait. We finally got our main meals. The roast potatoes were so over cooked you couldn't put a knife through them and the brussels were so under cooked they were hard to eat and half of the plate was taken up by parsnips. Not one of the 2 serving staff and manager asked us how we found our food whilst we were eating. It was not until we finished trying to eat this joke of a Christmas dinner that we were asked for our opinions about the main course. Our only positive response was that the turkey was nice but the roast potatoes were over cooked and hard and the brussel sprouts were under cooked and hard, the waitress said she would talk to the chef about our concerns. We received our desserts after about another 15 minute wait. Whilst we were expecting a slice of Christmas pudding we received a very small pudding the size of a small Mince pie with one scoop of ice cream and a raspberry on top. The pudding had been microwaved for so long that its base was hard and chewy and unedible, after a couple of bites we all left it. We gave our feedback on our desserts to who I assume was the manager who said he will give us 15% discount and remove the service charge. This meal still cost the 4 of us £140.00 in all, massively over priced. I think the chef should look at changing his profession and the new proprietor should definitely up his game or shut shop and call it a day as there's no way they will get a good reputation for this venue all the time they are serving food as substandard as this. All in all,without doubt the worst Christmas meal I have ever eaten in my 67 years of my life,avoid this pub and it's sub standard food at all costs.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Firstly I take full responsibility for the poor meals on Tuesday lunchtime. It was a bad service, you have given a bad review and isn't much more I can defend against that and I just wish to try make it better.. I will be honest...More

Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

We were looking forward to trying out the new pub for a family birthday for hoping it’d become a family favourite as it’s just down the road. Sadly we were disappointed. We waited over an hour for our food so we were starving. We had...3 rounds of drinks while we were waiting which was annoying as that cost us over £76… yes we didn’t have to, but it was awkward sitting there with empty glasses for so long. We were told Oliver was in the kitchen which perhaps was why the front of house service was so slow? We didn’t see much other food come out so they didnt seem that busy. When it arrived, the food was very good. However we were missing one meal! We ordered 2x sausage and mash and we only got one. We had to start eating as we were so starving so my daughter had to wait while they sorted it out. When it came it looked very thrown together and didn’t look the same as the other beautifully presented meal. After that all the staff disappeared at the bar. We were given pudding menus but no one came to take our order for desserts or coffees. This was disappointing as I had said on the booking it was for a birthday. After a while we decided to cut our losses and get coffees and Brandies at home. We found someone to ask for the bill but no one came back with it so had to ask a young girl cleaning tables. We paid £22.79 for service which was added to the bill - we didn’t think the service was worth it but we paid it anyway as we had guests so didn’t want to make a fuss. Anyway it was such a shame as we’ve been to Running Mare and enjoyed it. I’ll keep an eye on the reviews to see if it improves before we book again. I regret booking it as it cost us over £200.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Bailey, Owner at The Seven Stars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Good evening Thank you for the feedback. all be it mixed I appreciate how your service went. I will be honest we had 2 days where things didn't quite go our way. we will and do pride ourselves on brilliant food and service. Please contact...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Woking Central
1,070 reviews
2.13 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1,207 reviews
2.41 miles away
Hilton Cobham
144 reviews
3.76 miles away
Gorse Hill
257 reviews
3.80 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Toby Cottage
639 reviews
.66 miles away
The Jovial Sailor
545 reviews
.95 miles away
The Clock House
767 reviews
.74 miles away
Pinnock's Coffee House
583 reviews
.72 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Papercourt Lake
19 reviews
.40 miles away
Ripley Green
18 reviews
.89 miles away
Walsham Lock and Weir
17 reviews
.84 miles away
Newark Priory
24 reviews
.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Krazy_Kayaker
25 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WoodhamDellBoy | Reviewed this property |
I do not believe that there is a website or pub e-mail address. It’s open 12:00 to 15:00 and 18:00 to 23:00, Tuesday to Saturday. last kitchen orders is 21:00. Sunday opening is 12:00 to 16:00 - not open Mondays. The Seven... More
0
Votes
Lewis H
5 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Molz C |
There is a TV tucked away at the back.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SEVEN STARS, Ripley - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Seven Stars

The Seven Stars is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4