We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Vita Nova - University of Delaware

££ - £££
American, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 W Main St, Closed For the Summer, re-opens after Labor Day, Newark, DE 19716-6197 (South College)
+1 302-831-0500
Website
Saturday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Tue 11:30 - 12:30
Wed - Fri 11:30 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Went for the lunch buffet after friends told us about the restaurant. Very nice, comfortable atmosphere. All the food was very good and everyone was very attentive and helpful. This is a great program for the kids and well run. Will return!

Helpful?
Thank Rod V
Vita N, Manager at Vita Nova - University of Delaware, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and share nice comments about your Vita Nova experience. We're so glad your friends recommended us and decided to join us for lunch. It is great that you were able to enjoy the food and service. We hope to see you again. Best regards, The Vita Nova Team More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2016

I was looking forward to eating lunch here as our friends raved about the restaurant. The atmosphere was beautiful. Food was entirely too salty! I was surprised to see all buffet items, except the soup, out in the open. No cover what so ever. The waitress was sweet but dropped the dirty dishes she was collecting, on my plate I... More 

Helpful?
Thank ghpkap
Vita N, Manager at Vita Nova - University of Delaware, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our restaurant. We are truly sorry you had a bad experience and did not care for the food on our lunch buffet. We apologize for getting dressing on your blouse and hope you will allow us to pay for your dry cleaning bill. The Vita Nova team takes pride in a clean and... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2016

I'm happy to add to my previous rave review with an update as Vita Nova is one of my very favorites. I love going there for brunch as you get to try everything. The potato salad and apple salad were the best I've ever had anywhere by far. Lovely popovers with whipped butter topped with sprinkles of sea salt. Excellent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cranberries0928
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2016

This is a restaurant and learning lab. Students and faculty create a dining experience that is equal to five star restaurants you find in cities like New York or LA. They have a wonderful lunch buffet and the dinner is amazing. This is a class in the Hospitality Business Management major so the restaurant is open during certain days in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank HotelPhd
VN_UD, Manager at Vita Nova - University of Delaware, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words and compliments about Vita Nova. Our students work hard to provide excellence in hospitality and we are glad you have enjoyed your experiences at our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vita Nova soon! Sincerely, Venka Pyle Manager, Vita Nova More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2015

Have visited 4 or 5 times, always for lunch, and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. Lunch buffet has a large number of choices, well prepared. And lunch is very reasonably priced. I look forward to my next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Delaware_Yankee
Fripp Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2015

5 STAR DINING EXPERIENCE ON CAMPUS? Perfection is the name of this game on the University of Delaware's Newark Campus. These people are being trained in "Attention to Detail," and "Excellence in Dining". I went for lunch and "LOVED IT!", can't wait to go back for dinner! Had the BEST lobster salad ever. Their lunch buffet is not to be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ChefGaryCurry
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2015

We have been dining with Vita Nova for over 10 years, and we have never had a disappointing experience. The students are always very professional and polite. All of the components of the meal arrived in a timely manner. The food is always outstanding and well presented. On our last visit, we discovered that the table-side Caesar salad was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank jance
VN_UD, Manager at Vita Nova - University of Delaware, responded to this review

Hello Jance, Thank you for your review. We appreciate longtime customers like you, because you have kept our restaurant thriving for almost 20 years! We thank you for your continued support. We're glad to hear you were pleased with both the food and the service provided, and we have shared your feedback with our students. This semester we decided to... More 

Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2015

The food was delicious but it took four hours to be served and receive our bill! No explanation from the staff who, otherwise, did a great job. Also, there was an extra charge on our bills. At first we thought it was a tip but we were told that it wasn't. Have to pay tip in cash. Would go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
VN_UD, Manager at Vita Nova - University of Delaware, responded to this review

Hello Valerie, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback we receive, both positive and negative, as it lets us evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of our program. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food! We take great pride in the food we serve. As for the length of time you spent on your dining experience, we place... More 

Newark Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2015

Not open at all times, However, it is run by Univ of Delaware students studying resturants and the service required. We have been here several times, and always enjoyed the food, the great service by the students, and the envirnment.

Helpful?
Thank DaveRudy
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2015

It's a shame every city does not have their own version of Vita Nova. Any discerning diner knows the paucity of good service, product, and presentation in today's restaurant landscape. Even supposed high-end establishments fall short in one of the above categories, and the prime culprit tends to be lack of training and poor management. Vita Nova is dusting off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony R

Travellers who viewed Vita Nova - University of Delaware also viewed

 

Been to Vita Nova - University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$45
Cuisine
American, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 - 12:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 12:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 20:30
Thursday
11:30 - 20:30
Friday
11:30 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 W Main St, Closed For the Summer, re-opens after Labor Day, Newark, DE 19716-6197
    (South College)
  • Location: United States  >  Delaware (DE)  >  Newark
  • Phone Number: +1 302-831-0500
Description
Vita Nova offers fine dining at the University of Delaware campus. The newly renovated restaurant is run by Hospitality Management students and offers three different dining experiences. During Lunch, Vita Nova serves a gourmet buffet lunch Mon-Fri from 11:30am. Come back for dinner to enjoy a delicious four-course fine dining experience in our main dining room or a more casual meal in the Bistro where we offer an innovative small plate menu and a 3-course Theater Menu Wed-Fri from 5:30pm. Vita Nova offers an extensive beverage selection and a 100 bottle wine list.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Vita Nova - University of Delaware and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
West Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Wilmington, Delaware
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vita Nova - University of Delaware staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?