We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden Kitchen

Holden, Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 4PF, England
+44 1200 447447
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (102 reviews)
“soup” (65 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Deli, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Holden, Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 4PF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took some first timers with us for the autum picnic. They and us were not disappointed. Nice friendly staff, who knew how to share a joke. Quick service and an excellent picnic feast. Our friends loved it too.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Wazzak69
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you kind review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit & hopefully we shall see you all again soon. Kind regards, Deborah O'Reilly

Reviewed 1 week ago

Been before in the summer, but unfortunately although the weather was terriable we made the 11/2 hour journey for our Xmas afternoon tea picnic bench. What a disappointed. We was sat by the kitchen door, very cold and drafty. We were served the proicco and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank yorkshirelass07
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we take all comments on board good or bad to help improve our standards & service. I'm very sad to hear you left disappointed. We would have happily have moved your table for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovley visit has always and will be back Sunday for another visit staff can’t do enough for you lovley and warm welcome

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jackiw554
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to you next visit, see you on Sunday! Kind regards, Deborah O'Reilly

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took my friend for a birthday treat, staff were fabulous and the picnic was great, so nice to have more savoury than sweet, it’s such a great place to eat at anytime but the picnic was areal treat.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jennifer B
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm glad you & your friend enjoyed your birthday treat! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Deborah O'Reilly

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked into the garden kitchen for the autumn afternoon tea picnic bench. When we arrived we were shown straight to our table by a very friendly staff member. The menu was explained and we ordered our drinks which arrived quickly. The decor of...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Williamson92
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your visit & are planning to return soon. I shall definitely look into your complaint as this is not the high standard of service we strive to achieve (& usually meet). Thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As my wife is gluten intolerant wr have to be very careful where we eat. As soon as we asked for the gf menu we received just as comprehensive a menu as a non gf person would. For the first time in a long time...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bpsportservices
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. The business owner has family who are gluten free so it has always been very important to us to make sure we offer plenty of suitable gluten free options. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Deborah...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked for lunch and on arrival were warmly greeted and shown to our table.We had plenty of time to browse the menu and make our choices. The staff were friendly and polite.and when our food came it was well presented, hot and delicious. I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jack242015
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback it is much appreciated. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit & meals from our specials board. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Deborah O'Reilly

Reviewed 10 November 2018

Just returned from the Garden Kitchen after having the Autumn Picnic and it was exceptional. Was more filling than usual and everything was of excellent standard. Service is always friendly and efficient. This is why we keep returning as it is unique and original as...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank traceyribblevalley
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Thank you for you wonderful review! I'm so glad to hear the high standards we strive for have been met & hope to see you again soon - may be for our Christmas deluxe picnic? Kind regards, Deborah O'Reilly

Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We had booked a dog friendly table for Sunday afternoon and was not disappointed. The staff were welcoming, helpful & friendly. The service was excellent and the setting is relaxed and cosy. We both ordered the Sunday roast which was cooked to perfection and after...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank AliLouise11
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear our dog friendly area is a hit & that your meals were well and truly enjoyed! Hopefully we shall see you again soon. Kind regards, Deborah O'Reilly

Reviewed 8 November 2018

Well how can you improve perfection, it was a rare evening visit, rare because after the meal was a lecture on plants and normally the restaurant doesn't open in the evening. We had Lamb done 3 ways, in a bake, sausage and mini hot-pot. Perfectly...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Russell D
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit for our garden course & shall ensure your review is passed on to both John & the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Stirk House Hotel
892 reviews
2.52 miles away
Eaves Hall
302 reviews
3.66 miles away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
234 reviews
5.09 miles away
Swan & Royal
91 reviews
5.14 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Spread Eagle
409 reviews
1.85 miles away
The Assheton Arms
912 reviews
3.33 miles away
Brown Cow
117 reviews
3.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sawley Abbey
33 reviews
1.95 miles away
Driscolls Antiques Ltd
11 reviews
4.29 miles away
Gazegill Organics
16 reviews
3.70 miles away
Hark To Bounty, Slaidburn
21 reviews
4.24 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sanni691
23 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from elaineseville | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for delay! Yes there is. I'm vegetarian so that's what I had. The menu changes regularly the staff told me.
0
Votes
Kay19641704
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from The_Garden_Kitchen | Property representative |
We take bookings but we always save lots of tables for walk ins
0
Votes
elizabethwX9847OZ
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from The_Garden_Kitchen | Property representative |
Hello Unfortunately we do not allow dogs inside however if it a good weather day we allow dogs on our outside patio dining area. Kind Regards Kate Lawson
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:30
Monday
09:00 - 16:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 16:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 16:30
Thursday
09:00 - 16:30
Friday
09:00 - 16:30
Saturday
09:00 - 17:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Holden, Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe BB7 4PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe  >  Bolton by Bowland
  • Phone Number: +44 1200 447447
  • E-mail
Description
The newly opened Garden Kitchen is a 270sq m stone built tea room, farm shop and lecture facility. The building has been designed sympathetically to blend in with the nursery, with old tools and gardening memorabilia hanging off the walls and a grand stone fireplace as the centerpiece. All the food is sourced locally, so whether you are looking to start your day with a hearty breakfast, maybe a tasty lunch or try out our take on the traditional afternoon tea, The Garden Kitchen will have something for everyone including the young gardeners among us too. Holden Clough Nursery with its new tea room and farm shop is an enchanting destination not just for those who love gardening but for those who simply want a great day out!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing