We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

££ - £££, British,
Ellesmere Road, Welshampton, England
+44 1948 710847
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (20 reviews)
“mussels” (11 reviews)
“faggots” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 21:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ellesmere Road, Welshampton, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
75
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I stayed here whilst visiting family in Ellesmere. The rooms cater for your every need. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is so awesome it has won so many awards...highly recommend...(2nd visit and will be back) 🐝

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I met two friends for lunch at The Sun, for a "Well Overdue Lunch" mainly down to a failure to reply to emails!!! We were not disappointed! The Sun is a smashing country pub, offering fine ales, a varied menu and great...More

Thank richardlL1129WP
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Richard - its lovely to hear that you had a great catch up with your chums and that we were able to look after you while you were with us. We hope to see you again soon, maybe on Sunday if England get through??!...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Call in for a Saturday lunch. Beer is good, well kept and good selection. Food was excellent although a mix up in the order but this can not distract from the food quality, all presented nicely in good quantities. Recommend if in the Ellesmere area.

Thank Stockrom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We haven't been to this pub for at least 17 years so we had quite a surprise when we went there tonight.I could not believe the difference.The food was excellent,the ambiance was bright and airy,we really enjoyed the occasion. We shared a chili beef starter,blimey,if...More

Thank Attic-Mole57
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit - please don't leave it 17 years before you come again!! Cheers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up here starving after a day on the canal. It was father's day and the place was busy. We were warned by other customers that food would take at least an hour and sure enough it did. We were disappointed with our roast...More

Thank LucyCarvalho
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous lunch, it was really pleasant, very clean and a very nice Manager. It is dog friendly and a good feel to it.

Thank Judith L
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Judith - hope to see you and your four legged friend again soon! Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped by chance one evening for Dinner and we will be back....Great Food and a lovely atmosphere . Great Surprise

Thank Winckers
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Winckers! Hope to see yo again soon! Cheers!

Reviewed 2 June 2018

Had a meal here with my Grandson to celebrate my birthday and we had a great time. My starter of Welsh mussels was really good.I had the duck breast for mains and my Grandson had the pie of the day and it would have fed...More

Thank djmedia2016
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thanks very much for your positive review, we're very grateful. Hope to see you and/or your grandson again soon! Cheers

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We came on a quiet Friday afternoon, dog friendly with a lovely open fire. Great drinks selection, lots of gins and real ales. Friendly lady behind the bar, made us feel welcome Food was gorgeous, beer batteries chicken gougons and chips and loaded home made...More

Thank Myberrycold
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review!! We look forward to seeing you and your four legged friend again soon. Cheers

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Food always pretty good, menu ok but not amazing but two things really let the place down: the wait for food and the disinterested bar staff. Several times in the last 12 months we have had to wait for over an hour for mains after...More

Thank lwshrops
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear lwshrops, I'm sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. You're right that over an hour is too long to wait for your meals and if the staff seemed disinterested I can only apologise on their behalf. I will be dealing with this and rectifying...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Welshampton Hotels
Ellesmere Hotel
29 reviews
2.24 miles away
Poplars Farm Bed & Breakfast
1 review
3.59 miles away
Old Rectory Hotel
226 reviews
5.73 miles away
Aston Lodge
46 reviews
6.28 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Boat House
465 reviews
1.92 miles away
The Hanmer Arms
113 reviews
3.19 miles away
Dickin Arms
171 reviews
4.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shropshire Falconry Ltd
68 reviews
5.97 miles away
Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse
73 reviews
6.69 miles away
Whittington Castle
102 reviews
7.24 miles away
British Ironwork Centre
1,588 reviews
8.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
arcus131
14 June 2016|
Answer
Response from peterdowen | Reviewed this property |
Have you got a question for me Arcus?
0
Votes
SunWelshampton
Firstly I am really sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience last Saturday night. I was the manager that served you and to whom you have been unnecessarily (and inaccurately) rude about, however, I will not respond in kind. I apologise if my approach appeared sarcastic, it may have been a bit flippant and jovial, which you have unfortunately taken the wrong way – it was certainly not meant the way you took it! As for the fishcakes I agree they were not to our usual standards, however, when asked whether I could see any fish I could not lie when there appeared to be quite a lot of flaked salmon running through the mix. I would like to clarify that we checked the batch of fishcakes immediately and reported back to you in agreement that the fishcakes were not as tasty as they should be (in fact as you pointed out they were rather tasteless), with an abject lack of seasoning and additional flavourings. The samphire we agreed had wilted to nothing and was not a beneficial addition and possibly there needed to be a higher fish content. I accepted at the time that it was not one of our better efforts or one to be proud of and agreed to take the meal off your bill – which is why I wrote ‘Free’ by your meal, not your husband’s. The batch of fishcakes were discarded afterwards and a new batch made –with more seasoning, additional flavourings and without the pointless samphire. I feel disappointed that you left unhappy on Saturday night, but I do feel that you have been a little harsh and uncompromising. We don’t always get things right, I for one certainly don’t, however on this occasion I feel that nothing would have been satisfactory and there would have fault found somewhere no matter what. I will say no more…. I do hope this experience has not tarnished your view of us forever and that maybe you will visit us again in the future so we can try and make up for our mistakes. We have built an excellent reputation through good food and service so hopefully you will see this as just a blip. Many Thanks
9 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mark F | Reviewed this property |
Hi you are asking the wrong person the question for the wrong . It was not myself that gave the review it was somebody called Majorbertie. I did give a review for your pub but that was well over a year ago.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ellesmere Road, Welshampton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Welshampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1948 710847
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing