We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterfront Restaurant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2131 Oleander St, Saint James City, FL 33956-2029
239-283-0592
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 256: English reviews
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked Waterfront Restaurant so much we ate lunch here two days in a row, both served by our wonderful waitress Robin. The second day Hubby got a huge seafood po'boy, you will not believe how big it is, And he ate it all :) Being gluten free (darn it) my options were more limited, but Robin was very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Laura! Makes me happy that Robin took great care of you guys at our restaurant! We are working on a gluten free/celiac menu. We hope to have a few more choices for you next time you visit! If you like fresh seafood, you have got to come on Tuesday for our peel & eat Gulf shrimp special... or... More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Set on a canal (and we were there just before sunset), The Waterfront is a nice, friendly, clean and reasonably priced restaurant. We had the buffalo chicken salad and grouper tacos. Service was prompt and our server was informative and very polite. What a great find!!

Helpful?
Thank MickeyNJFL
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Excellent Mickey! We all try very hard to make your meal a experience at The Waterfront! Did you see any Manatee or Dolphins? They swim in our canal sometimes More 

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant really lives up to its "old Florida" description. People were friendly and service was good. My clam strips were excellent, as was my husband's conch. You can get your fill of fried things here! Our friend ordered sweet potato fries with her meal and they were battered and fried - as was the cob of corn on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annjo2015
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words Ann! Yes, we fry a lot in the south, we have added a lot of non fried dishes to our menu. How did you enjoy our "fresh, cut to order " sweet potato fries? How did you like the fried corn (I saw it on a TV show)? More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

They offer great seafood dishes and have specials on shrimp on Tuesdays and oysters on Saturdays. Nice deck overlooking the water with entertainment during lunch time.

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Bill! The weather has been awesome to sit outside... I'm glad you enjoy our hospitality, our food and our wonderful servers! Let me know if I can do anything else for you! More 

Le Mars, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented a boat and we were given a $40 gift certificate to use at this place so we went there for lunch. Very very good food!! Not a cheap eats place but amazing food and large portions. I had what was called a C.R.O.W. Sandwich, which is fried grouper fillet with sauteed (spelling?) onions, cheese, on marble rye, then... More 

Helpful?
Thank LydaFunNSun
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Lyda! I'm glad we were a part of your great day on the water! The Boat House does a great job renting boats ( I bought my last 2 boats there!) the C.R.O.W. sandwich I kinda stole from an old restaurant..."Timmys Nook" , I worked there about 25 years ago when I lived on Sanibel. Hope to see you... More 

Il
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a find! Only serves beer and wine but does some creative things, like sake bloody mary. Appetizer flat bread/ pizza bread looked amazing. We had the fish of the day. Basket comes in fried nuggets. Sandwich is a large piece cooked to your choice of several different preparations. Both were delicious. Cole slaw is flavorful with out heavy amounts... More 

Helpful?
Thank nursenjm
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks! Glad you found us. We like to say "We are at the end of the world"! We have a couple other special drinks we make, using seasonal juices and fruits. Our servers are great! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us...see ya soon! More 

Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to the Waterfront on a motorcycle trip with friends. Although I had been there before, it had been a couple of years since my last visit. The location is very nice, on a canal with a view of the open water. The decor is decidedly non-fancy and claimed to be Old Florida, which actually means an old building... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank s s
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Something must have been wrong... we serve 1/2 pound portions of fresh Gulf Grouper... they hang over the sides of the bun. Did you mention it to your sever? We would have jumped on that fast and gave you a larger piece. I apologize for that, we should have caught it before it left the kitchen. Our grouper sandwich is... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our go to place during our stay. Great hsppy hour and dinner specials. Stopped a few times and was never disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Jack B
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Jack! That makes us happy to hear we make you happy! Have you come in on Saturdays for our Oyster special? $9.00 a dozen! Have an awesome day! More 

Monticello, IL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We boated over for lunch on the dock and watched the manatees. We were told the food was fabulous, so we were really excited to eat here. However, it was basically just average bar food and I was quite disappointed. Maybe I didn't order the right thing, but it sure seemed expensive too.

Helpful?
Thank Beachlover1989
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Well, we do serve local Fresh seafood, burgers (and a bunch of other great food) We keep it simple, trying to stay the "old florida" style. We like to be the one place that keeps with the tradition of local fresh seafood, great service and and old funky building. Our bar is the original one room schoolhouse in St James... More 

Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a neat place! Way at the end of the island in St James. Outside dining, great food and a fabulous view. I had the CREW sandwich which was fried grouper, Swiss cheese on rye bread. My husband had the special of the day, fresh red snapper sandwich and my sister had fried conch & alligator(something different and very tender).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darleneoh
JD H, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Darlene! We had those dolphins show up just for you! See ya soon! Tuesday is our "Shrimp Day" 60cents peel & eat Gulf Shrimp... More 

Travellers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Saint James City, FL
Saint James City, FL
 
Saint James City, FL
 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2131 Oleander St, Saint James City, FL 33956-2029
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Saint James City
  • Phone Number: 239-283-0592

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Waterfront Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Ramsey, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Waterfront Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?